We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic colonial” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ly Club Hanoi

Ly Club Hanoi
Ranked #113 of 2,169 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Inspired by the legacy of this great dynasty, Ly Club invites our esteemed guests to enjoy a sensory feast by indulging in the tastes and textures of our innovative cuisine while opening their hearts and minds to the visual and acoustic pleasures of a variety of traditional Vietnamese performance art.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
405 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Authentic colonial”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Went there after reading the reviews. Food was very good. I did ask for a glass of champagne which was on the list but they only do half bottles now, I was a bit surprised that they offered glasses as demand can't be high! Had a gin and tonic instead then a glass of red both of which were excellent. Small restaurant and colonially simple worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    166
    67
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Choice Near Soffitel Legend Metropoli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I liked the salmon. The sauce was excellent and it was filleted. You have the choice of a menu from the west or from the east. I choose from the west which probably explains the filleted fish.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I saw this restaurant listed on Lonely Planet and decided to give it a go.

There isn't much choice for kids however they do have some Western dishes which worked for us.

The Vietnamese food is amazing - especially the clams in lemon grass, the eggplant and minced beef and the soft shell crab - definitely some of the best food we have had in Vietnam so far.

Our initial waitress didn't understand us that well but the restaurant team decided to change the waiting staff for our table and the service was excellent - could not fault it and they really made an effort with the kids.

Perfect for trying some authentic vietnamese food that is not on a street corner!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FRU79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Intimate setting with fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I had a business evening dinner and the setting was just perfect for a relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable evening. No reservation was required which is surprising given the quality of the restaurant. A full wine list is available and I went for the beef in the bamboo tubes that was superb. My colleagues had the snapper which they shared that was excellent but a bit on the sparse side. We finished it off with great coffee and desserts.
The villa where the restaurant is located is very tastefully restored and adds to the intimate experience. Whilst being expensive, it was worth it for the attention to detail and over all experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allabaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Splurge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great romantic meal. Pianist playing in the corner. Top service.All the food was interesting and tasty. Wine list good for Vietnam.
Didn't need reservation.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank spazinyarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ly Club Hanoi also viewed

 
 

Been to Ly Club Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing