We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem don't miss it....”

Banh Cuon Gia Truyen
Ranked #128 of 2,225 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“A gem don't miss it....”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

There's two restaurants with similar name, we has pork and chicken both great. Tour guide was outside explaining it all..that's a good sign!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paulkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    63
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely delicious. ”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

I first was in Hanoi in November 2011 and had to try this gem because of the reviews I read. Needless to say I went back 3 or 4 times for the magical banh cuon for breakfast then again when I travelled to Hanoi in November 2012. Unassuming little restaurant with few tables and all the cooking setup on the street. Great to watch as you wait for your little rice parcels of pork and mushroom heaven. Please try this place again and again!!!

Helpful?
Thank Steveaussie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for banh cuon”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Between my bf and I, we ordered 2 plates of the banh cuon (pork filling) which came in very generous portions at 35,000dong per plate and a bowl of chicken vermicillli soup each at 45,000dong. All together our meal including drinks came to 190,000dong - amazing!!

You can see the ladies steaming the banh cuon outside which adds to the whole eating experience and the food was delicious. Think we may go back next week and try the shrimp banh cuon!!

Definitely worth a visit if you're staying around this area - about 5 min walk from Hoan Kiem Lake!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosiee_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Awesome! ”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

My favourite place to visit in Hanoi :) absolutely love the food! Try everything! The staff are very accommodating and made me feel welcome :)

Helpful?
Thank Jacob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
china
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Banh Cuon”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I had the pork and the chicken banh cuon, and they were both very very good. i have also ordered a drop of the water bug oil (expensive), but well worth the additional flavour! i have never had anything so light and tasty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tissu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banh Cuon Gia Truyen also viewed

 
Hanoi, Vietnam
Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to Banh Cuon Gia Truyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing