We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Boutique Hotel in the centre of the Old Quarter of Hanoi”
Review of Cinnamon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cinnamon Hotel
Ranked #178 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This delightful, small (6 rooms) centuries old Boutique Hotel is right in the centre of the Old Quarter of town - everything is in walking distance. The staff are incredibly friendly, helpful and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are very spacious. If you want to experience old-world Hanoi, stay at the Cinnamon Hotel.

Room Tip: The Cathedral Bells ring all night. Select a room on the other side of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kmcpdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 264 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

This place was amazing the staff were so welcoming and friendly even when you first walk through the door they give you tea! The cinnamon was in a fantastic spot you could get any where from it. The cathedral is right next door some times the bells will annoy you but the staff supply ear plugs! This place is AWESOME I highly recommend it so next time your in hanoi or Ho Chi Minh (Saigon)
Stay at the cinnamon
William 11 years old

Room Tip: Try and get a room further away from the church
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Therese O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The staff at Cinnamon were so incredibly smiley and helpful in trying to facilitate every part of our trip and just an absolute pleasure to chat to. I was travelling in vietnam with my parents so they made our stay very easy and comfortable. Our room was spacious and quiet enough and the church bells were luckily not an issue for us. The hotel is in an excellent location, the rooms are clean an tidy but a little poorly lit, but somewhat atmospheric. The breakfast Pho was delicious and definitely one of the better ones id eaten during my travels.
We came back to Cinnamon at the end of our travels and it was so welcoming to come back and see the smiling faces and was a brilliant way to wrap up our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nada t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The staff at the Cinnamon hotel were very friendly and helpful. On returning to the hotel each day the girls at reception were keen to know what we’d seen and done. In common with one of the other reviewers on this page we were treated to 10 minute introduction to Vietnamese on arrival - a nice touch and very useful in the long term, but a bit surreal at 12:30am after 10 hours of travel!

Unfortunately, we made the mistake of not checking tripadvisor prior to booking our 2 stays at the hotel (at either end of our 2 week stay in Vietnam) so when the (very!) nearby Cathedral bells fired into action at 3am on our first night it came as something of a shock - I genuinely thought the staff were joking when they pointed out the complimentary earplugs! On subsequent nights, with earplugs in place, we slept much better. However, I think that unless you’re a very heavy sleeper or are already accustomed to lots of noise at night then expect interrupted sleep at the Cinnamon.

In terms of value for money, I’m not sure that the Cinnamon quite lived up to the USD69/night charge. Our friend was stayed at another hotel a few doors down for USD20/night less, got a buffet breakfast and double glazing - we were jealous!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room at the rear of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Very friendly staff, if a little bit unusual, we got a Vietnamese lesson after a 10 hour flight! Which actually came in very useful especially "Kong" the word for NO, very useful for tourists. The only bad point is the church bells which chime every hour and at 5am they chime for over 20 minutes. Earplugs are provided but even this is not enough to drown out the claggy old bells they are not even nice sounding bells. Breakfast is very good, room is reasonably clean but attention to detail is required as there were a few cobwebs.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whynot808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Cinnamon hotel on arrival to Vietnam and on our last day. The rooms were clean and beautiful, location is great and the staff are the warmest, friendly, lovely people! They even provide ear plugs in the room to drown out the sound if the cathedral bells. Coming back to cinnamon at the end if our stay was like coming back to see old friends. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Thank you Cinnamon for a great time in Hanoi!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Mixed thoughts,

Pros - friendly cheerful staff, good location, good price, comfy hard beds.

Negatives - a lot of noise from the cathedral next door, bells tolling throughout the night
and being woken at 5am daily due to church services & outside traffic, double glazing extremely needed.

Rooms very dark & gloomy, more light needed, having to need lights on during the day, is a shame,

A lot of noise from reception and staircase floats up and into the room, all those timber floors do nothing to stifle noise & footsteps & conversations, esp when your bedroom door is on the staircase,

Do not take room A

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harem32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0 mi away
Cinnamon Cathedral Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Brilliant Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Golden Lotus Luxury Hotel
Golden Lotus Luxury Hotel
#141 of 607 in Hanoi
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maison d'Orient
Maison d'Orient
#57 of 607 in Hanoi
385 reviews
0 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Hotel

Address: 26 Autrieu str | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $56 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cinnamon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Hotel offers comfortable hotel rooms in a prime location in the old quarter of Hanoi. The beautiful St Josephs church is nearby and Hoan Kiem lake is only a few steps away. Cinnamon hotel is nestled among quiet, tree-lined streets surrounded by good restaurants, boutique shops, and the city's favourite hangouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cinnamon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing