We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Camellia Hotel 6
Nearby Hotels
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$71
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$311
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$43
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$177
$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanoi La Selva Hotel(Hanoi)
$39
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$132
$92
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$65
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$67
$55
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
100
53
17
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
53
17
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble room with balconyflight bookingsmall alleywayold quarternice balconybasic hotelwater heatergreat central locationhotel is locatedside streetcomfy bedtop floorfridgetoursvietnamtaxibathtub
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 184 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have spent three nights there, always in a different room as there was at least a day between our stay there.
The taxi driver was waiting for us at the airport, took us to the hotel (well, it is old town so our worries about those narrow streets were baseless ;-) )
The owners were really nice they helped us to find places what we were looking for, told us about taxi drivers and "their" vs. common prices etc....
Breakfast was also nice, not so rich but still nice.
Rooms were clear, with the fridge and AC, toilet and bathroom on each room (toilet and bathroom are the same room and you can literally have a shower and use the toilet at the same time.... but this is unfortunately same in the whole Asia).
Only complication was at the end when we agreed with the owner to arrange the taxi for us the evening before our leave, but the young boy who was at the reception in the mooring didn't know about anything and also wanted booking fee which was already paid. This was just a small misunderstanding and was clarified in a few minutes. But due to these discussions he wasn't able to give us the breakfast which was included in the price.
Overall we would suggest using this hotel/hostel as it has a good location, nice owners and is affordable.
JUST DO NOT BOOK VIA AGODA.COM AS DURING OUR STAY IN ASIA THEY CHARGED US 7-10 USD PER NIGHT IN AVERAGE. CRAZY!!! AS THEN YOU COULD BE SURPRISED WHY THE ACCOMMODATION IS "SO EXPENSIVE" ALTHOUGH IT IS NOT...

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benda007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Perfect location, wonderful staff, clean rooms, really brilliant hotel! Great value for money. Make sure you research the reliable taxis before you get a taxi in Hanoi. Many will try to charge you up to 10 times what the fare really should be.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The room we got was not that great and everything from the rest of the hotel could be heard. The toilet was positioned very badly and it was almost impossible to have a sit on it.
The location is great, as it is in the old quarter (but many mnay others can be found here). The managers are friendly and eventhough we had to leave very early when checkout, them were ready to serve us the breakfast.
Overall a fine place to stay. Not the best in Vietnam, but definitely not the worst either.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed with Mrs Phuong and her (growing) family for one week in August 2012 and can highly recommend a stay at Camillia 6. I've stayed in quite a few hotels across Hanoi and this one ranks very highly as it's clean, functional and well run and at a good room rates. ($15-$20/night) For me what makes the biggest difference to a stay is when staff and owners take a genuine interest in your visit and well-being. In short they really want you to enjoy your stay. They offer not only all the services you might need like tours, taxis or bike rentals but
they are also honest in all dealings and recommendations and will even help you plan your side-trips so everything goes smoothly. Choosing the right hotel can make all the difference not just to your Hanoi visit, but also to your whole visit to Northern Vietnam, a very beautiful region of the world. Well recommended.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
Thank rwl1422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I booked the hotel on a friend's advice, stayed for three weeks, and highly recommend it to anyone for a short or longer stay. If you are a budget traveler, your first choice will probably be one of the backpackers' hostels, but Camellia 6 is absolutely worth the money. The hotel is family-owned, in one of the calmer lanes of the otherwise very busy Old Quarter - close to the fruit and veggie market, soup stalls and coffee places; it is very clean, has a hot shower (yes, the shower is sort of strangely arranged, as other reviews mention, but my experience in other parts of Vietnam is no different from this one), wi-fi (there was one day when it was on and off, but otherwise without problems in three weeks), and has a menu to chose from for breakfast. Also the staff is very friendly. But really what makes the hotel a invaluable choice are the owners - they are incredibly flexible with tourists like me who do not have entirely fixed plans, give great advice, help book tours and open-ticket buses, keep backpacks while customers are traveling to Halong Bay or Sapa, etc. In addition to that, I needed to call a professor and some interviewees to meet, and they very kindly did the first call for me. Really a great place to stay!

(The one fewer star for sleep quality is for those of frail sleep: the noise of the Old Quarter - which you cannot avoid in Hanoi no matter where you are, however - plus some of the ACs noise. Those with good sleep can ignore this.)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myshik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews