We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with very nice and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel
Ranked #153 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with very nice and helpful staff”
Reviewed June 26, 2010

We were a party of three females late 40's early 50's. We stayed at the Old Quarter Hotel for 6 nights. We booked and paid for 7 nights but stayed on Halong Bay for one night - this was convenient as we left most of our luggage at the hotel for the night. We stayed in the family room - 1 queen bed and 2 singles (there was also a cot which we obviously didn't need). The room was very quiet, spacious and comfortable. The air conditioning was very important as it was 40 degrees most days and nights. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was sufficient - coffee, cereals, fresh fruit and a selection of cooked food. I would definately stay there again - good value.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie_Brady_Bunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    66
    25
    14
    15
See reviews for
41
90
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Midginbil
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

We've stayed in lots of hotels in lots of places but the hospitality here stands out. The gorgeous Yen (receptionist and tour advisor) makes it her mission to ensure that all her guests feel completely and genuinely looked after. Trainee Nhung and the young men at the front desk are all wonderfully warm and helpful too.

The location is terrific - right on the edge of the Old Quarter and a couple of minutes away from the wonderful mayhem that makes Hanoi such an exciting destination. We loved the buzz and business, and also really appreciated coming back to the calm of the Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel for respite.

Our room was enormous and extremely comfortable, and we really appreciated all Yen's help with luggage minding, phone calls re transport, great sightseeing advice, and best of all her wonderful smile.

We'll definitely be back and have no hesitation in highly recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandraPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Just came back of our 4 days trip in Hanoi. Booked for the "king executive" but didn't get it when we arrived. We stayed in the small room first, and the staff promised us to change to our room the next day plus free taxi to go back to the airport. I didn't want to be a big fuss since my 6 yrs old is with me. The next day, we were move to a VERY BIG room (461) - One King (very comfortable) + one more sigle, living room with TV, wifi internet service, double layer of windows, free water, fruit basket, large shower bathroom with clean towels, hair drier, frige, safty. It's around 15mins walk to the lake, right behind the hotel is the old quarter area. I am here for photography, happy to see so many lifes on the street. You can also trust the hotel to get you a meter taxi, around 2usd in the distance of the old quarter area. The day tour to the HOA LU - TAM COC (book through the hotel) is highly recommended to go if you don't have time to Halong bay like us. The staff did their best to please my kid. The small double room they put me in the 1st day wasn't that nice. The small hotel like this could have the very nice room or very standard room, that's why we saw the reviews are quite different sometimes. This is my opinion to the hotel according to the "king executive" or "family room" I got. Not sure, but I will add some photos also.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mothof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Very friendly staff, greeted you like you were a close friend each day, wanting to know how your day had been and your opinions on various sites and activities, so they could recommend to other tourists. Keen to help with anything we needed - organised airport transfer with nice car & driver. Rooms were luxuriously decorated and fitted out - western showers etc. Just beautiful - we were very impressed !

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aliceN29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Friendly, knowledgeable and helpful which made our trip to Veitnam very enjoyable. The rooms were affordable, spacious and clean. The hotel has an amazing location. The staff assisted with taxi pickups, train tickets, Sapa adventure, early checkin, late checkout and restaurant recommendation.Thanks for making our trip to Veitnam amazing.Barbara from Canada(in hotel industry for over 20 years)A

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bkosterski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Hotel is surprising (as is Ha Noi). Like most it looks nothing special and is located right by a flyover. The staff are great though and the rooms large and quiet (even if you overlook the flyover). For less than $50 per night it is amazing value and as mentioned well situated for the Old Quarter and most of the sites which are walkable

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pyecombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

When you step out of the foyer, you are instantly thrown into Hanoi's sights, sounds and smells and immersed in Hanoi's Old Quarter life. Inside the hotel is an oasis of calm, with clean, quiet and well-resourced rooms, great service and helpful reception staff - we had useful information about Hanoi on hand at all times, as well as assistance booking tours. A great start to our Vietnam holiday.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simonpiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.2 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#13 of 578 in Hanoi
2,931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#19 of 578 in Hanoi
878 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel

Property: Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel
Address: No 2 Nguyen Huu Huan | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 8404, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old Quarter, the Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel is placed in the area of 36 old streets at the centre of Hanoi Capital. This property is in propinquity to The Museum of Vietnamese Art, Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, shops, restaurants and coffee bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing