We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get your money's worth with 'The Old Quarter Hotel'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel
Ranked #151 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Okinawa, Japan
1 review
“You get your money's worth with 'The Old Quarter Hotel'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

Just finished a stay at the 'Quarter ' and it was fine. The location is very good - almost in the middle of the 'Old Hanoi' section of town and while it was near an expressway the noise was not objectionable. The plus is when your walking thru the old section of town that same road makes a great landmark to help get you back to the Hotel. Breakfast is very good with a nice assortment of goodies - they even make you fresh eggs as you like them! Cereals and fruit are there as well so it's something for everyone. The atmosphere is extremely cordial - the staff is excellent. They're always there when you them and really go out there way to make you confortable. The star of the show is young Katie (Phong) who runs the travel and hospitality section of the hotel. She is extremely knowledgeable of all that's going on in & out of town. She even called me in Hoi Ann to be sure that my hotel and transportation arrangements there were satisfactory after I had left for places down south. When I decieded to fly back to Hanoi on short notice one call to Katie did it all. The next thing I know I had a fax at the hotel with everything needed - even the seat!
You'll also find an assortment of snacks and drinks in your room for late night hunger pains. By the way the food in Hanoi is excellent - you won't be dissapointed in the restaurants. Just tell Katie what you like & she'll give you all kinds of choices .
Check out the 'Old Quarter' - you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banjomobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincentee, Manager at Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2010
Dear Mr. Richard Pearl,

Thank you for spending your time writing a review for Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel.
We are delighted to receive your positive feedback!

I am especially happy to hear that our staff looked after you so well providing you an experience that you will "cherish". I will pass on your comments to all the staff of the hotel, especially Katie who as always have positively impacted our guests experience.

Look forwards to welcoming you back to the Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel in the future.

Best regards

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    66
    25
    14
    15
See reviews for
41
90
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

We stayed at the Hanoi Old Quarter during our 4 day visit to Hanoi earlier this month. The hotel is located at the northern end of the Old Quarter, about a 10-15 minute walk (assuming that you can navigate the windy roads) from the lake. After a few trips, navigation wasn't too difficult. We found the hotel to be clean and roomy, and everything in our room (402) worked very well. The Wi-Fi was a nice touch, too. The room had a small refrigerator, very spacious bathroom, comfortable bed and a safe. Appearance-wise, it's probably time for the Hanoi Old Quarter to receive a makeover, especially since there are many newer hotels within 2 blocks or so.
Breakfast was good every day.....as previous reviewers have posted. Cereal, toast, juice, coffee, eggs (cooked to order, too), yoghurt and fresh fruit were more than sufficient to get us on our way each day. Make sure you try the Vietnamese coffee too, if you haven't visited Vietnam before!!
Still, we had no complaints with the hotel. In fact, the great staff is a reason that you should consider staying here. Everyone was helpful and went out of their way to make us feel at home and help us find things around town. If you need to book a side trip, or just want to get to know about the city, you need to meet Katie, Ian and the team. They are all as nice as can be to everyone.
Are there better values in Hanoi.....probably. Would I stay at the Hanoi Old Quarter again....YES!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsipari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

Having now stayed at the Old quarter Hotel for the second time, I would definitely recommend this establishment to anyone contemplating staying at the Old quarter in Hanoi. Fot those travelling to other destinations, speak to Katie who is a very capable and competent operator, who I am sure will be able to assist you with all your travel arrangements. The room was very spacious and clean. However best of all was the service that we received from the staff who are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helmutSouthaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2010

WE STAYED HERE FOR OUR HONEYMOON and it was not a pleasant experience. I placed a necklace in my toiletry bag went out for the day-upon my return it had gone. I told the receptionist that spoke to the housekeepers and said they had not seen it. I know this was a lie she then went on to say i had lost or misplaced it. Although it wasnt of great value i had recieved it for an 18th birthday present from my grandmother and had treasured it for 20yrs. The room safe was of no use either it could easily be lifted as it wasnt attached to anything. The room door was unsecure it was key not a keycard & could easily be pushed opened. The location was good although on an extremely busy road had to wear earplugs. They do try to make you book trips through them that cost lots more than the travel shops around the corner,and can be quite nosey when you have bags wanting to know what you have bought. I am not a fussy person but for the money we paid and hassle do not stay here be warned. It was booked through expedia. Visit Loas if you can its a beautiful country with honest people.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincentee, Manager at Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2010
Dear valued guest,

Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel has reviewed your comment regarding your stay with us through out November 2009. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all your valuable feedback.

As you also remember, right after we receive your report about missing your necklace. We immediately having a meeting of all receptionists and housekeepers for seeking the truth. This issue has never been raised in our hotel since all staffs are very loyal to the hotel. On the day that the necklace gone missing we were told that you went to Ha Long Bay for your day trip organizing by our tour desk center. When you came back we received a very good complement from you and your husband about the quality and value of the tour. We kept our promised of upgrading your tour to our Deluxe boat as you only had to pay for Superior. Please be advised that there are many tour companies out there with hundreds of different prices and service quality. Talking back to your missing necklace, it was only reported to us in the next morning at your breakfast desk. Immediately after that, we sent 2 housekeepers ( Ms Hanh and Tran) and 1 bellman (Mr Nam) go to your room with you to find your necklace. It could not be found and you also said that maybe you lost it or got stolen when you were in Ha Long Bay and also said it was fine and thanked for our consideration.

Travelers all around the world know our hotel as one of the best hotel in Hanoi based on our personalized and professional service provided to every customer. We would never do such thing as thieving from our guests for some small changes to spoiled the whole reputation and trust from customer. It was not worth it at all cost.

I am Vincent Luong speaking on behalf of Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel would like to share your unpleasant stay on this accident, we did all we could to help. Could we just ask for one favor please be fair with hoteliers. Your faithful comments are encourages no matter it is positive or negative as we always strive and improve on all aspects of service delivery.

Warm regards,

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

Stayed in Old Quarter Hotel in December 2009. Staff was perfectly friendly and helpful, room was very large, perfectly clean, with LCD TV and a little pond outside (second floor!). Breakfast was simple (toast, cereals, eggs, rice plates etc, coffee, milk, tea), especially the delicious home-made marmelade is worth a mention!
Good English-speaking Travel Agent helped us to arrange tours to Ha Long Bay, Tam Coc/Hoa Lu. Quality of the tours was very good (good English-speaking tour guide, transfer with a comfy minibus).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincentee, Hotel Manager at Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2010
Dear Reviewer,

We would like to thank you for posting your excellent review on Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel

We are very pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay at Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel and our room and services meet your expectations. It is important for us to share your review with our associates to make them aware their services have been recognized by our guests and your words will certainly inspire them. Our entire team would like to say thank you and we look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should there be anything we can assist you with in your next visit.

Kind Regards

Vincent Luong
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2009

The room I had was super (452), very clean and the bathroom was impeccable. Breakfast was very good. Well located (20 minutes walk to the lake and 5 minutes from the heart of Old Quarter. And, on top of it, there's Katie. She's the reception manager. She's a travel agent, guide, problem solver (I had problems with my debit card), she smiles all the time and she knows what she's talking about. I shoul have followed her advice when I went to Halong Bay.
She organised my stay in Hoi An, Nha Tran and Ho Chi Minh.
So, save time, save money and enjoy Hanoi. But first ask Katie's advice.
William, Montreal, Canada

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Numberonedriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincentee, Hotel Manager at Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2010
Dear value Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

We wish you best health and happiness!

Regards,

Vincent Luong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2009

This is the 1st time we’ve been in Hanoi and we really did enjoy this lovely city, especially this Hotel. The best thing about this hotel is the service; once you are here, you will soon believe me. We were met with a warmly welcome on arrival; the staff was very helpful and professional. We asked them many things and were friendly helped, such as where to find a tailor to make men’s suits, to buy silk and lacquer paintings. The hotel is located on the edge of Hanoi old quarters within walking distances to the sights. The room was big, clean and well-designed, the toilet was modern. The air conditioning was good and quiet. The breakfast was great. What do you expect more? Just book it!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbecueissogood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.2 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#20 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel

Property: Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel
Address: No 2 Nguyen Huu Huan | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 8404, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old Quarter, the Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel is placed in the area of 36 old streets at the centre of Hanoi Capital. This property is in propinquity to The Museum of Vietnamese Art, Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, shops, restaurants and coffee bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing