We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel
Ranked #400 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Our stay at Golden Plaza hotel was enjoyable and perfect. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The staff here were so friendly and helpful. They always went out of their ways to help their customers. We were provided the information around Hanoi, such as restaurant or historical sites...
Conveniently located, just a short walk to the most wanted places, or eating areas ..

All in all, we would highly recommend this Golden Plaza Hotel to anyone looking for good and nice hotel with tight budget in Hanoi.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herro08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 65 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2011

We didn't actually end up staying here because we were completely put off by the way they dealt with us. We needed to change hotels when we were in Hanoi, and came here, and were shown a nice, clean room, spacious room, and told it was $20, which we thought was a good price, so we booked the room for 4 nights from the following night (as we still had one night in the other hotel).
On the next day, we came early in the morning, left our things, went sight-seeing, and on coming back, were checked into our room. Except that it was about half the size of the first room we were shown, with barely any space around the bed to walk around it let alone leave our backpacks. When we said we were unhappy with the room they told us they had no other rooms, and only when we decided to leave, the guy said he would discount it to $18. By this stage though we were already put off by his aggressive manner, and already determined we weren't staying, and made to leave - at this point, his manner changed and he said that he had another room. He blamed the receptionist saying it was her mistake that they didn't realise they had another room (yeah, as if they wouldn't know what rooms they had free!).
Even though we were tired, and fed up with searching for hotels all of the day before, we still decided we would rather keep looking than stay here. As we were leaving, we saw some other travellers, clearly also unhappy with their room, being moved into the room the man had offered in the end.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giddy2g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

We rolled into town after 6 months on the road and found this place when the place we were looking for was full. They upgraded us to the nicer room for the lower price ($20 a night). The room was amazing -big bathtub, plenty of hot water, two big beds, great TV, DVD player, fridge, lockable closet. One of the biggest bonuses to this place is that the linens are SO CLEAN and fresh. The woman at the front desk is incredibly friendly and helpful and speaks English well.
The only catch (this is something to watch out for anywhere you go in Vietnam) is that they quoted the price to us in dollars and then when we went to pay, they claimed that we had to pay at a rate of 22,000 VND to $1, which is not even CLOSE to the 19,000 rate. This would have raised our bill by around 12%, but we refused and got into a brief disagreement with the guy at the desk at the time. Always check on the rate you're being quoted before you stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We booked this hotel based on many positive reviews. Our stay here was unforgettable.
The hotel is located right at the Hanoi centre, near the Church and just a short stroll to the Hoan Kiem Lake. The room was spacious and very clean, our room was cleaned everyday, the linen and towels were changed also. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we have never been pushy with their travel services but they did arranged our trips with really good prices and nothing in trouble but praises. We highly recommend anyone who looking for a tight budget accommodation Hanoi, let choose Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel. Do not hesitate any longer.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrew027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

This hotel is nothing like the photos, rooms were old with mismatched and old furniture. Bathrooms were a disgrace. Mouldy and damp. Rooms were dark (shutters at the windows) so no natural light. Balcony - yes there was one, about 500cm wide, not enough room to sit, with neon sign climbing up the building at the sign of the balcony. Friend had to move room because bathroom was disgusting. They they tried to charge us for a balcony room because that is what we had booked. No sign of owner.... does he exist! No welcome drink, fruit or tea or coffe... as advertised on web site. Totally disappointed and would not recommend. I think some of these review were made by the owners family and friends, they seem to have stayed at a different hotel than I did.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaxped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hkdzung, General Manager at Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2010

First of all, thanks so much for spending your precious time to leave your comment about your stay at our hotel.

As a a manager, i would like to sincerely apologies for any inconvenience that you had during your stay at Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel.

We were totally surprised at what you said in your review because our rooms are always up-to-date with many amenities and of course the bathrooms are carefully cleaned by our well-trained staff everyday. What is disgusting? -> May be your country stand is different from our country...

We have many room type according the uploaded photos. Your reservation was for a cheap room but when you came and required a Deluxe room which different in cost ( The price depends on its quality).

The reviews on T. A are ideas, comment of travellers, we all accept even fair or unfair.
All of our staff are trying their best to make bring our customers satisfaction. We do hope any traveller who reading the review on Tripadvisor will understand that we can not make 100% customer satisfied and besides them are always many good reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

About half an hour after I booked online for 4 twin-sharing rooms for a party of 8, the Hotel Director was already on the phone talking with me and suggesting that I may want to consider 2 family rooms for 3 and one twin-sharing room. Since 3 rooms is cheaper than 4 rooms I of course readily agreed. That was really a fast and personal response. The location right within Hanoi's Old Quarters means you can do a leisurely walk around the quaint shops. The only reason I cannot give it perfect score for location is its being located in an alley which is passable only on foot or by motorbike. This means you have to lug your stuff in from or out to the street when you arrive and leave. But it is a little inconvenience which is more than compensated by the friendliness of the staff. The rooms have wireless internet connection and cable TV. Some rooms even have a computer. But considering the room rates it is really good value for money. I will not hesitate to recommend Hanoi Golden Plaza to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderPinoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Really good service -- unpushy about tours/extras, arranged pickup from airport that worked very well despite flight delay, good location in the old quarter. Breakfast included is basic but fine. Rooms are decent size and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kw32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
The Chi Boutique Hotel
The Chi Boutique Hotel
#59 of 607 in Hanoi
365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#102 of 607 in Hanoi
2,427 reviews
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.4 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel

Address: 22 Tho Xuong, Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #400 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $33 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly built Hanoi Golden Plaza is amazingly perfect combination of our hotel service which far exceeds all other hotels in Hanoi.The hotel is perfectly located to explore the Old Quarter such as Hanoi Catheral (just a few steps), Hoan Kiem lake etc. All are within walking distance of the hotel..At the hotel guests will enjoy a luxurious stay taken very good care by a team of dedicated and profesional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing