We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tour - watch the food on the boat”
Review of Buffalo Tours

Buffalo Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.00*
and up
Private Tour: Deluxe Halong Bay Day Cruise including Seafood Lunch from Hanoi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: As a leading travel company in Asia, Buffalo Tours offers the best in customised small group and private guided tours to Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia, Thailand, Indonesia, Hong Kong, Burma (Myanmar), China, Singapore, Malaysia and Japan. Discover your Asia with us today!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good tour - watch the food on the boat”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Our tour guide of Hanoi was really great - very knowledgeable and friendly. The hotel we stayed at was fairly nice (May de Ville), but nothing terribly special. Everything was logistically very smooth, including the bus to/from Ha Long Bay. The boat for the cruise of Ha Long Bay seemed very nice - private bathrooms and a great staff. However, a few of our friends saw a lot of cockroaches in their room. Also, after the cruise, about 5 of us ended up getting pretty terrible food poisoning, which we're almost entirely sure we got on the boat. I wouldn't eat the raw fruits, vegetables, or seafood in the future. Stick to things that are cooked and you'll be fine.

Also, I would say this tour was slightly overpriced, given where we stayed. The price per person was about $400 for a 4 day, 3 night tour. Given how cheap Vietnam is, I think one could find a better deal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank chuckb1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffaloTours_advisor, General Manager at Buffalo Tours, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Chuckb1331,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your detailed review regarding your Hanoi & Halong Bay tour with us. As with constructive comments of this nature, we are very grateful for the opportunity it provides to the entire team to reflect and improve on our service and product, and especially for the food quality on boat. As a team we place a large amount of importance on all our guests’ feedback through all channels, especially those we discover on TripAdvisor.

It is unfortunate that your experience with the food on boat was bad. On behalf of the cruise, we'd like to sincerely apologize for this incident.

Thank you for highlighting this issue and taking the time to share with us. My email address is bach.tran@buffalotours.com, I remain at your service for anything further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,043
    97
    26
    15
    31
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Joadja Creek, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Siem Reap tour”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Through each leg of our journey through Vietnam and Cambodia Buffalo Tours provided fanstastic guides with extensive local knowledge as well as a passion for their country and region which shone through. None more so than our guide, Vuttha in Siem Reap. His English was excellent, he anticipated our every need and happily amended our itinery as required. He really was a joy and is a credit to this highly professional tour company.Also the delightful Tam in Saigon and Hiep in the beautiful Sapa. It would be remiss not to mention Pheun in Hanoi who took us for the ride of our life on bushbikes through the crazy Hanoi traffic.Thank you Buffalo Tours, you really showed us how its done and made our holiday unnforgettable. Liz and
Marc Spiller

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffaloTours_advisor, General Manager at Buffalo Tours, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Liz S,
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review regarding your trip with us on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to know that our staffs have done a great job for you. If you have a chance to come back to our region, don't hesitate to contact us. Thank you!
The Buffalo Tours team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Halong bay day trip”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We went on a day trip to Halong bay from Hanoi and we had a fantastic time despite the lack of sun! Our tour guide Quan was incredibly friendly, enthusiastic and informative. We had a great lunch on our private boat and had the chance to kayak around the lagoons. We would highly recommend this day trip to future travellers as its a must do and a great excuse to breathe in some fresh air away from Hanoi central!

Helpful?
1 Thank hazthegr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffaloTours_advisor, General Manager at Buffalo Tours, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear hazthegr8,
Thank you so much for taking time to post a review regarding your Halong trip with us on TripAdvisor. We are really happy to hear that you were satisfied with our assistant and arrangements. We will let our staffs know that they've done a great job for you. Buffalo Tours look forward to serving you in the near future. Thank you!
The Buffalo Tours team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“vietnam & cambodia tour”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

we have just returned from a wonderful holiday to Vietnam and Cambodia with Travelsphere . The guides for which were arranged through the local agent Buffalo tours . The two guides we had Do Van Hoi in Vietnam and Sokkoeun Bout in Cambodia were both excellent not only were they extremely knowledgeable , helpful and enthusiastic , even showing us the best spots to take photo's making our experience more enjoyable . They were also genuinely nice and very personable young men and I would not hesitate to recommend Buffalo tours and in particular these two guides if you are considering a holiday to these destinations .

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank dennis h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffaloTours_advisor, General Manager at Buffalo Tours, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Dennis H,
Thank you very much for taking time to post a review regarding your trip with us on TripAdvisor. We are really happy to know that you was satisfied with our arrangements. We will let Do Van Hoi in Vietnam and Sokkoeun Bout in Cambodia know that they've done a great job for you. They are absolute one of our best guides in Indochina. Buffalo Tours look forward to serving you in the near future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portishead
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Guides and Tour”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Our UK Tour company booked Buffalo Tour Guides for parts of our trip to Singapore, Vietnam and Cambodia and we were more than pleased with the arrangements. We were particularly impressed with our guide Lee Seika, in Siem Reap and the visit to Angkor temples. He was so enthusiastic and well informed and we learnt so much. He tried to keep us in the shade as much as possible and kept us well supplied with water and cool wipes, He went against the normal flow of people which meant that we could see more. Of the 3 temples we visited we loved Ta Prohm, it had the most amazing atmosphere. We would definitely recommend this Tour company.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank loubylouportishead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffaloTours_advisor, General Manager at Buffalo Tours, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear loubylouportishead,
Thank you so much for your nice words for us. We are really happy to know that you had a wonderful trip with Buffalo Tours in Indochina. We will let our staffs know that they've done a great job for you. If you have a chance to come back to our region, don't hesitate to contact us. Buffalo Tours look forward to serving you in the near future. Thank you!
The Buffalo Tours team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Tours also viewed

 

Been to Buffalo Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing