We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love Hanoi!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Ciao Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanoi Ciao Hotel
Ranked #199 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I love Hanoi!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

The location is great - smack down middle of Old 1/4!! The price is low, the rooms are ok but the staff is great and they will take care of you and help with whatever you need! Their good humour when we arrived back at the hotel after cocktails at a jazz club topped off an excellent night. Especially when we shared late night supper with our smiling hosts and a cheerful street vendor.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epicerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    122
    49
    35
    22
See reviews for
51
141
87
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed in the hotel just down the street from Splendid Star. Perfect location in the Old Quarter ... a street so narrow there were no cars. You felt like you'd found an oasis in the noise and chaos of the area.
Our room (US$40) was on the top floor (yes, there was an elevator) and we had a clear shot to the cathedral a block away. So we heard the church bells at 5 am and around 5 pm. (I'd rather have a minute of that than street noise!). Like most hotels we stayed in, two free bottles of water/day and a flat-screen TV. I believe there were free drinks during the day, though we were mostly out and about. No problem with hot water. Good breakfast. Umbrellas to borrow -- a nice touch since it was raining hard when our taxi dropped us off a block away (remember, no cars on the street!). Martin and Jenny were the two employees we talked to most and they were helpful. Pay in cash -- 3% charge for credit cards. They will arrange a taxi to the airport but it is more than arranging it on your own (there is supposed to be a fixed price between the airport and hotels in the Old Quarter, but we didn't know that and we heard of people getting ripped off ... so your call on that.)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank princetonarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

We would like to write some things about this hotel because we really felt sastisfactory when stayed at this hotel and we hope that many travelers will find the best hotel for themself when visit Hanoi. Hotel staff was fantastic, friendly and going above and beyond to make us feel welcome.
Room was great and facilities in room were awesome. A bit matter is lack of bottle in minibar, but when we called for reception, they bringed up our room immediately.
Breakfast was very good with decent variety
All above, service was fabulous, our Halong bay tour that was recommended was fantastic and booking our train ticket was awesome-Thank you so much ^.^

Room Tip: High floor for great view or room in behind of building for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hiro K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Splendind Star is located nicely in the Old Quarter. The reception staff was very helpful. We liked the room, especially the one with the balcony (30$). the smaller one (24$) was ok too, but had no window.
Also the breakfast was a la carte, so that was nice too.
They also arranged our airport transfer for 18$ by a very nice truck.
Liked everything but the sheets. Those need more washing.
But other then that a great place for a budget stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Tidy clean was 2 must -bonur -canyarter &DVD -fidgerl - useful -Tea coffee facilitiey wele ..good

Breakfast .very nice - bert range on oner hotel in hanoi

Services .very good service -anthing wrong war fixed immedicettey --Fett very safe

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ronny l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

All services were very good and a special "price" for kindness of people . There give very good advices either for trips, transport or any question.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BELICAR J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

We booked into this hotel in the old quarters of Hanoi because we were looking for cheaper accommodation ($35 a night). The old saying, "You get what you pay for" applied. Shabby room with no cold water in the shower, torn curtains and towels with holes - terrible. When we complained after the first night we were given another room but still shabby. Some of the lobby staff were young and arrogant. Breakfast was inedible and they seemed upset that we didn't book our tour through them. We later paid only an extra $25 a night for 4 star luxury - with a great breakfast. There is a big gap between hotels and the better ones are still very cheap when booked online. Beware of the photos on the web - some are masterfully misleading.

Room Tip: No! You can do much better in Hanoi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BurtC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Cathedral Hotel
0.0 mi away
Especen Hotel
Especen Hotel
#188 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel Nha Tho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Heart Hotel
Heart Hotel
#104 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Ciao Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Ciao Hotel

Property: Hanoi Ciao Hotel
Address: No.8 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu str. | Hoan Kiem dist., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Splendid Star Classic Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old Quarter, Hanoi Ciao Hotel is a quiet retreat after a busy day visiting the streets and noisy life outside. Staying at Hanoi Ciao hotel, the visitors will feel the warm and friendly as in their own house by style not fussy, simple and enthusiastic service also friendly staff.On the other hand, staying here, the guests can easily find restaurants with suitable dishes in Vietnames ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hanoi Ciao Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing