We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, value for money and friendly personalised service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanoi Old Centre Hotel
Ranked #6 of 577 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
kuala lumpur
1 review
“Excellent location, value for money and friendly personalised service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

Thanks to all the helpful and friendly hotel staffs, we had a wonderful time during our stay in the hotel. The transport from the hotel was already waiting for us when we arrive at hanoi airport and we were even offerred breakfast when we arrive at the hotel. The check-in was smooth except that we did not get the family room on the first night as the hotel staffs were worried about the noise from the construction work nearby. We have no complain as the hotel staffs kindly offerred us 2 rooms instead at no extra cost. The rooms are basic and simple but are well maintained.
The hotel staffs also helped us arrange some tour packages at quite reasonable prices and everything went smoothly.
With the help of the friendly hotel staffs, we were able to find some nice eating places near the hotel.
If I were to return to Hanoi, I will certainly stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenchew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    230
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
170
467
129
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

would like to recommend this hotel to traveler to Hanoi.
They provide a good service, good breakfast and an environment as well.
I feel warm coz they sent us Christmas and new year cake. This was not happened for my past experience stay in hotel in oversea.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siewting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

I can't say enough positive things about this hotel. the location is superb; in the heart of the city and a stone's throw from the Ho Hoan Kiem lake. Lots of good bars, restaurants and shops all within walking distance. But what really sets this hotel apart from the rest is the service you get from the dedicated staff. They were super friendly and very concerned about making our stay an enjoyable one. We ended up extending our trip by one night and they were kind enough to call the airline for us and change our reservation. They also booked our tour to Halong Bay (late at night on our part), seamlessly arranged airport pick ups and gave us great recommendations for restaurants in the area. These folks are truly dedicated to their job. bravo guys!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkilifarski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

This charming little hotel was conveniently located with comfortable spacious rooms and lovely breakfast. What made it special though was the unbelievable level of customer service. They helped arrange tours, train and air tickets and later accommodation. All were just what we needed. When we were delayed returning from a tour and likely to miss our overnight train, 2 staff members (we think not even on duty) beetled across Hanoi with our tickets and cold drinks, ran around sorting everything, hugged us all and stayed on the platform to wave us goodbye. They rang our next destination later to check we were all ok. Beyond impressive!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynleyBrookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

hi all ,

just got back from a great trip to vietnam. in hanoi we stayed at HANOI OLD CENTRE HOTEL.
this hotel is located right in the middle of the old centre and is great for walking every where. the girls on the desk were fantastic. the room was basic but clean,quiet , comfertable and safe . the girls can organise any day trips or transport you want . they will go out of their way to help you with local information . i can recomend it to any one thinking of staying in the old centre hanoi.

robin,sue & kate.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

This hotel is amazing!! The staffs are very helpful (great info & advise given without asking), friendly and nice. The rooms are clean and comfort. It comes with complimentary mineral water and cakes (for both days on Christmas eve & New Year) which really surprise us. Love the breakfast especially the Pho which not much difference with outside stalls. Superb location where less than 5 min walk to Ho Hiem Lake and amazingly the street is pretty quiet. We stay for 4 days and we got a free ride from airport to hotel. I would highly recommend to others travellers

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mistralsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

After arriving in Hanoi with my parents (first time in Vietnam which was daunting coming from Australia) it seemed quite confronting and busy. The hanoi old centre hotel staff were wonderfull, they were very happy to greet us and to give us advise on how to get around, recommendations on local restaurants and where the best place is to shop etc. Every employee always greeted us with a smile. The front desk staff especially went out of their way to make us feel at home. They made me ginger tea when I had a head cold to make me feel better which was lovely.
The location was fantastic with everything in walking distance. I am very happy with this hotel that I will come back hopefully within 6 months.
All in all, great!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
#10 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
#13 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Old Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Old Centre Hotel

Property: Hanoi Old Centre Hotel
Address: 19 Hang Hanh Street, Hanoi, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Guesthouse 2)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 577 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Old Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi Old Quarter, Hanoi Old Centre Hotel is in quiet and shady street at 19 HANG HANH Street, less than a minute to Hoan Kiem Lake. This area is served by Restaurants, Bars, Major Post Office, Banks, Local Night Market... Not only convenient for dining, shopping... especially for attractions, it's simple to walk to Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, The Temple of Literature, Ngoc Son Temple, Water Puppet Theater and Museums. HOC provide different types of room to suit your every need. All rooms are selectively equipped to confine fine bedding, well recognized, some rooms with Lake View, some rooms with City View, Window or Balcony and adequately equipment as Cable LCD TV, Minibar, Air-Conditioner, Fan, Electric Safe, Cupboard, Telephone, Internet access, Computer in lobby (Complimentary), Wifi Access, Work Desk, Sitting area, Hair-dryer, Slippers, Private bathroom with hot shower and Bathroom Amenities. Elevator serves all floors. Staff are well trained and all speak English, are friendly and enthusiastic about our work from recommending where to visit, to eat, to call you a taxi or arranging a tour or onward travel which are highly recommended by all previous Guests. * Complimentary breakfast and mineral water. * Wifi Access available in all rooms. * Internet computers are located in the lobby.Useful Information: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Old Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sun Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing