We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hanoi Old Centre Hotel
Ranked #7 of 591 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed in Hanoi Old Centre Hotel for 4 nights.
It is quite small, but really nice. Their staff is very friendly, they remembered our names and room number from day 1, so every time we came back they instantly gave us our key.

Breakfast is free and quite good. There are only 2 tables though, but never saw them complitely full. They always have complimentary fruits and drinks 24/7.

Rooms are pretty small too, but clean and have everything you need. Small bottles of water are free in the room. They clean the rooms every day and do pretty good job. Big disandvantage (mostly for all hotels here) is that you can hear everything that is going on outside of your room. It might get a bit noisy.

The location is convenient, right next to the lake and walking distance from all main sights.

Over all, it is obviously not a five star hotel, but you get pretty good service for a reasonable price. I definatelly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharleaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsLinhThu, Manager at Hanoi Old Centre Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Sharleaze,

We would send our sincerely thanks for your wonderful comment regarding our hotel staff, the room cleanness and room amenities, the location, good price…

It is always very gratifying to know you had a great vacation with services offered by our hotel team. I will be certain to pass on your wonderful comments to whole team. We promise to keep the service up to deserve your trust.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Your faithfully
HANOI OLD CENTER HOTEL TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    233
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
171
475
130
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We booked this hotel for one night before and after a 2 day 3 night trip to Sapa. Ms Thuy was very efficient in not only arranging the hotel but also the excursion to Sapa.
She booked us on the Fanxipan Overnight Express and 2 nights at the Cat Cat View hotel. Included were bus transfers, breakfasts, lunches and dinner plus a trekking tour guide.
On top of all that she threw in taxi transfer from Hanoi airport for free, which is at least a 45 minute trip. The room was very good with plenty of space although the ensuite bathroom only had a shower over the bath which resulted in some leakage over the floor.
The breakfast was light but more than adequate and the elevator was welcome especially since we were on the 5th and 6th floors. The free Wi Fi was also appreciated.
The staff were always friendly and helpful to the point that one of the porters followed our taxi on a scooter to the central train station to make sure we found the correct overnight train, he was there again to meet us on our return 3 days later. However on our return we were accommodated in the Silver Moon hotel a few doors along as they were overbooked. It was a little disappointing but the other hotel was very similar in all respects.
We would stay there again because of the location, quality of service and value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quokkas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsLinhThu, Manager at Hanoi Old Centre Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Quokkas,

Thank you for your kind words towards our staff, location, service, cleanliness, breakfast and room rates. It’s so glad for us to know that you were satisfied with our services every moment.

We would feel really honored to have an opportunity to see you again.

Your faithfully
HANOI OLD CENTRE HOTEL TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is well-located - in the middle of the centre of the Old Quarter of Hanoi. The hotel is one of a group of about three in close proximity The rooms were spacious and clean, the water hot and the lifts and the Wi Fi worked.

The staff were friendly and helpful at all times.. The food was of good quality and quantity, service was of a high standard.

As we went to SaPa for three nights, the hotel found us rooms at the other hotel nearby and kindly moved our stored luggage to the next address. The same happened when we went to Ha Long Bay - all handled very professionally with minimum disruption.

Airport pickup and drop off was punctual and the drivers courteous.

The hotel arranged a private trip ( three days) to SaPa with train tickets, a tour guide with gentle trekking and an overnight homestay. They also arranged a two day, one night cruise on Ha Long Bay with v-Spirit.

Highly recommend this hotel to others - whether dedicated travellers or first-time visitors to Hanoi.

Room Tip: All rooms in this hotel group are of good standard. and offer value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRC4170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsLinhThu, Manager at Hanoi Old Centre Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear our value guest,

Thank you so much for your very detailed positive comment.

We would assure you that it makes us very pleasant to know you obviously enjoyed staying at Hanoi Guesthouse. We would promise to keep good work to deserve your such positive comment.

We are really looking forward to welcome you back as soon as possible.

Your truly,
HANOI OLD CENTRE HOTEL TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at old centre hotel. The location is good which very nearby the lake. This hotel offer great package for tour as well. We took a ha long bay tour with V'Spirit cruise. The arrangement is fast and easy. Overall the hotel met our expectation. It would be better if the price could be lower.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heilongxiaobao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsLinhThu, Manager at Hanoi Old Centre Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Heilong Xiao Bao,

Thank you for your comments! I was very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Hanoi Old Centre Hotel on your recent stay. I was also glad to hear that you enjoyed your room, the location, our staff and breakfast.

Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hanoi Old Centre Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi.

Sincerely,
HANOI OLD CENTRE HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Amazing, generous, attentive staff. I don't speak any Vietnamese but that didn't stop me from getting first-class service from these folks who clearly spoke English for me. The room was spotless, beautiful, and very quiet. The location was great for dining and shopping. The staff was so kind as to call cabs for us, order plane tickets, hold our luggage while we took a quick trip to another part of Vietnam then save rooms for us to use when we returned. The breakfast was delicious! The free wi-fi was the best I experienced on my trip which involved other parts of Vietnam, Taiwan, and several airports. There was always coffee, juice, and fruit which is refreshing when you're not from there and you just want non-adventurous snacks from time to time. The PRICE COULDN'T have been better. So much bang for your buck.

Room Tip: I had a room on the third floor with a balcony which was very charming. I also had a room on the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steisha p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsLinhThu, Manager at Hanoi Old Centre Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments! I was glad to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us at Hanoi Old Centre Hotel on your recent trip to Hanoi and that you found our staff friendly and caring, our rooms comfortable and clean, our meals and meal services

Thanks again for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to Hanoi Old Centre Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi!

Sincerely,
HANOI OLD CENTRE HOTEL TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Lovely little hotel- we found this place on tripadvisor and were persuaded by the comments of the helpful staff. It makes such a difference when you can trust the staff to advise you on the best places to go and the staff here are superb and I would recommend this place solely for this reason. We would definitely be back.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one with a balcony as this made it for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gardensparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsLinhThu, Manager at Hanoi Old Centre Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for comments! I was glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Hanoi Old Centre Hotel on your recent trip to Hanoi and that you enjoyed the staff service. Our Associates are devoted to making sure that each of our guests has the best stay with us that we can provide.

Thanks again for your comments! We look forward to being able to welcome you back to Hanoi Old Centre Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi.

Sincerely,
HANOI OLD CENTRE HOTEL TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit to this hotel and without doubt the standards had not dropped. In fact I think had actually improved. Would recommend it to all. The staff are friendly with nothing a problem. They book all your tours and tranafers at a better rate. Breakfast although simple but adequate.Enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsLinhThu, Manager at Hanoi Old Centre Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Mr Robert,

We would be grateful for your wonderful review in your recent stay at our Hanoi Old Centre Hotel.

We feel very happy when you got the feeling that this is not only the hotel but also it’s your home away from home. Thank you so much for highlighting the hotel staff, the hotel service. It extremely will encourage us to maintain our efforts so the services we provide will meet your expectation thoroughly.

We look forward to warmly welcome you back soon!

Yours sincerely
HANOI OLD CENTRE HOTEL TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
#10 of 581 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
#15 of 581 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Old Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Old Centre Hotel

Property: Hanoi Old Centre Hotel
Address: 19 Hang Hanh Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 844, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Guesthouse 2)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 591 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Old Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi Old Quarter, Hanoi Old Centre Hotel is in quiet and shady street at 19 HANG HANH Street, less than a minute to Hoan Kiem Lake. This area is served by Restaurants, Bars, Major Post Office, Banks, Local Night Market... Not only convenient for dining, shopping... especially for attractions, it's simple to walk to Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, The Temple of Literature, Ngoc Son Temple, Water Puppet Theater and Museums. HOC provide different types of room to suit your every need. All rooms are selectively equipped to confine fine bedding, well recognized, some rooms with Lake View, some rooms with City View, Window or Balcony and adequately equipment as Cable LCD TV, Minibar, Air-Conditioner, Fan, Electric Safe, Cupboard, Telephone, Internet access, Computer in lobby (Complimentary), Wifi Access, Work Desk, Sitting area, Hair-dryer, Slippers, Private bathroom with hot shower and Bathroom Amenities. Elevator serves all floors. Staff are well trained and all speak English, are friendly and enthusiastic about our work from recommending where to visit, to eat, to call you a taxi or arranging a tour or onward travel which are highly recommended by all previous Guests. * Complimentary breakfast and mineral water. * Wifi Access available in all rooms. * Internet computers are located in the lobby.Useful Information: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Old Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sun Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing