We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most amazing hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Old Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hanoi Old Centre Hotel
Ranked #7 of 563 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The most amazing hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Amazing location, clean rooms but the most amazing thing is the staff! They organised both our Halong bay and Sapa tours which were five star quality! They arranged all our transport and escorted us to the train station which removed all hassle and worry! They even let us use a room for sleeping and showering after the night train when we were no longer staying there! Breakfast was also incredibly nice! Cannot fault at all!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grainnemcnaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    228
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
167
462
126
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. And we never regret to choose this hotel, and i will recommend to everyone to stay in this hotel while you are going to Hanoi.First,the staf can speak english well, and they're very helpful. You can ask everything you wanna go and you will get the very clear answer. Second, There is a complimentary drink and food that we can take all day long, and it is very necessary since we go to hanoi at July and the weather is very very hot and humid. Third, The room was very clean,no unpleasant smell. And the last,in hoc hotel has many tour package with very reasonable price.So, if you want to enjoy your holiday in hanoi, you should choose this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ivone78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were a group of 18 (17 adults 1 baby) and Morning Thuy had utmost patience in assisting us in our travel plans and booking a private van to take us to tam coc, buying water puppet tickets, booking a 2d/1n halong bay cruise with v'spirit and airport transfers. She, Afternoon Thuy and Dragon were most hospitable and helped us in many things, including a significant event when one girls handbag was slit n the thief pocketed her brand new smartphone. They accompanied us to the police station to help us translate and obtain a police report so that we could claim our travel insurance. All this outside their working hours. If is these incredible people that made the stay so enjoyable.

The hotel is a stones throw from everything in the old quarter, hoan kiem lake is visible from the 6th floor n barely 2 mins away. Love the proximity to the weekend night markets but hold ur bags tightly and beware of pickpockets!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ymeiosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The staff at this hotel are most helpful and friendly. They try their very best to assist in any way they can. The rooms are clean and have everything you need. The breakfast is served fresh and is well cooked. The hotel is very well situated, very near the lake and Water Puppet show. It respresents extremely good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semarang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel has a great service and they offer us a good price for tour, its better to take tour from hotel, absolutely u will not being scammed, miss u miss thuy, Their service is more than 5 star hotel, feel like have a family in hanoi

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy_stef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
294 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in June 2013. We would have stayed for one more night because an overnight cruise to Halong Bay got cancelled, but the hotel was full at that time. However they were able to organise a room for us at a hotel nearby.

The service at this hotel was excellent. A staff member was waiting at the platform of the train station to greet us and ensure that we got in a taxi safely (we paid $5 for this piece of mind). Also, since we booked train tickets leaving Hanoi through this hotel they sent a staff member on a motorbike to follow our taxi to the train station and ensure that we arrived at the right place and knew which platform to go to.

Each Wednesday night at 7pm the hotel has a free dinner for the first 12 (if I remember correctly) guests that sign up. We took up that offer and it was very nice. The breakfasts included in the room rate had a good range of options and the staff tried their best to accommodate if you wanted a slight change to the order (although the kitchen staff don't speak much English, so you're probably better off just sticking with the options available). The welcome drink provided was quite tasty.

The hotel is quite small in terms of the number of rooms (it looks like there are around 10-15 guest rooms in total), and it is quite popular so we recommend booking in advance to ensure you get a room.

The rooms are not huge, with only a small area to walk around the bed, but for this price range it's as you would expect. The bed was quite comfortable. There was a balcony. The bathroom was small but adequate with a separate shower (i.e. not just a showerhead above the toilet). There was a flatscreen tv, but we had a few issues with getting all of the standard cable channels and some rooms had a few issues with tv reception. 2 bottles of free water were provided per day (small size) and there was a kettle and a bar fridge. There's also a safe in the room but our room had a key to the safe rather than a pin code. The bed was decorated with flowers when we got there, which was a nice touch.

There is free wi fi in the rooms as well as computers in the foyer. The computers were a bit on the old side and some of them seemed to work better than others.

We would have liked to have had a water cooler in the lobby of the hotel (the other hotel that we went to in Hanoi had this), but that is a minor issue.

The location was great. There are many restaurant and cafe options nearby. There is a train station within walking distance (10-15 minutes away). It's also just around the corner from the late.

Overall, we found this to be a great budget hotel option. The service and the location are top notch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonHSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We only stayed at the Hanoi Old Centre Hotel for one night, but were looked after by the hotel for 6 nights as they had organised superb tours for us to Halong Bay and Sapa, and on one occasion when they were fully booked between tours, they put us up in their "friend" hotel down the road at the same cost. During the day even if we weren't officially checked in, we had access to fresh fruit and juice, free wi-fi and an opportunity to shower if we needed to. They also stored our luggage for us during our tours. The room we did stay in was clean and a comfortable size with all the necessary amenities. The bathroom was a little awkward as the shower curtain got slightly in the way of the door. They also provided complimentary snacks in the room which was different to other hotels we stayed at. All round - exceptional value for money and brilliant service which was much appreciated in a country where we were warned about many scams.

Room Tip: Rooms looking on to the street are a little noisy, however this doesn't carry on late. Rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#19 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
#11 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Old Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Old Centre Hotel

Property: Hanoi Old Centre Hotel
Address: 19 Hang Hanh Street, Hanoi, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Guesthouse 2)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Old Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi Old Quarter, Hanoi Old Centre Hotel is in quiet and shady street at 19 HANG HANH Street, less than a minute to Hoan Kiem Lake. This area is served by Restaurants, Bars, Major Post Office, Banks, Local Night Market... Not only convenient for dining, shopping... especially for attractions, it's simple to walk to Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, The Temple of Literature, Ngoc Son Temple, Water Puppet Theater and Museums. HOC provide different types of room to suit your every need. All rooms are selectively equipped to confine fine bedding, well recognized, some rooms with Lake View, some rooms with City View, Window or Balcony and adequately equipment as Cable LCD TV, Minibar, Air-Conditioner, Fan, Electric Safe, Cupboard, Telephone, Internet access, Computer in lobby (Complimentary), Wifi Access, Work Desk, Sitting area, Hair-dryer, Slippers, Private bathroom with hot shower and Bathroom Amenities. Elevator serves all floors. Staff are well trained and all speak English, are friendly and enthusiastic about our work from recommending where to visit, to eat, to call you a taxi or arranging a tour or onward travel which are highly recommended by all previous Guests. * Complimentary breakfast and mineral water. * Wifi Access available in all rooms. * Internet computers are located in the lobby.Useful Information: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hanoi Old Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sun Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing