We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Hanoi´s Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hanoi Old Centre Hotel
Ranked #10 of 628 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The place was our first stop on a four-week Vietnam/Cambodia Travel. The Hotel arranged a very friendly and patient pick-up service from the airport, since we had a two-hour cue at immigration... The staff is extraordinary helpful in any respect: laundry, shopping tipps, restaurant recommendations, assisting in tour arrangements, foreing exchange... Our room was spacious and clean. A little drawback was that we had to wait a little long for our breakfast one morning - our tourbus waiting outside - since a lot of guests wanted to leave at the same hour that particular day. We would nevertheless definitely come here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wolf_Angelika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,228)
There are newer reviews for Hanoi Old Centre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

639 - 645 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

I'm just going to cut to the chase and list out the reasons why this hotel really did it for me:
1. Dependable - Went there with nothing planned and they arranged everything for us, and helped us negotiate the waiving of extra costs with the vendors
2. Flexible - Given our change in schedule, we overbooked but were given a refund and the hotel even helped us source for another room in the vicinity with no extra charge
3. Family-feel - If I remember correctly their slogan was "home away from home" and I must admit I felt right at home there
4. Ms Thuy - Pronounced "Tui", the two Ms Thuys (interesting called "morning Thuy" and "afternoon Thuy") were very knowledgeable and approachable. Along with their crew, they really made it a comfortable and enjoyable experience in Hanoi

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_ldh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We are just back from Hanoi and experienced a very bad experience when we headed to the airport. The staff of hotel made a prompt response to solve the problem. We are greatly impressed by their great service.

We booked a car to the airport through the hotel and the driver picked us up at the hotel. On the way to the airport, the driver stopped, picked his friend up and gave her a free ride. We repeatedly requested her either to share the cost or get off. She refused and went all the way to the airport. We told the taxi driver he should refund us 6 US because his friend should share the cost. He refused, so we asked him to call up the staff of the hotel. And the staff immediately handled the issue and when we were home, the hotel already had sent us an apology and we are very pleased with their excellent service.

On the whole, we had a very enjoyable stay in the hotel. The hotel is clean and tidy. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is a gem in Hanoi.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We spent three nights at Old Centre Hotel, but about a week coming and going from different locations. They happily kept our luggage for us after we had checked out, as we visited Sapa and Halong Bay, providing us with a bathroom to shower etc when we returned, as well as a place to sit and kill time in between tours.
The staff are exceptional. The best staff I encountered in Vietnam. I have no doubt that they would do anything if you asked them to. On our first night we arrived after midnight, and found our beautiful room to have somewhat of an ant problem. We explained to the nice guy on reception the issue and he moved us immediately to a different room which was ant free.
Breakfast had a reasonable amount of variety, they have a menu of drinks and meals that you can choose from which is better than some hotels.
They also organised various tours for us, and provided honest and helpful advice as to which ones to take.
The location is also perfect! Honestly, I could not ask for a better hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tiny_dancer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

I must begin by saying the staff are amazeing. They are friendly, helpful and go above and beyond when they really don't need to. We stayed for three nights, went to Halong bay for 2 returned to pick up our bags which they kept safe for us. They took us to the train and made sure we were in our berth before they left. All this service and we didn't book any of the above (train/Halong trip) with them.
The slight let down was there was a number of ants in the rooms. Again the staff were fab and moved us 3 times. But telling me it is a tropical country and insinuating I should accept these slumber buddies was not really acceptable. We are in Vietnam having travelled India Cambodia and Laos. They are also tropical but never had ants in our rooms. The breakfast is very simple and not the most inspiring. Maybe we have been spoiled elsewhere and expected to much but when paying this much more than previously I think it is an acceptable expectation.
Again the staff are great but we would not revisit or recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsLinhThu, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Old Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to review us. We are pleased that you ranked our staff highly. We sincerely apologize that your experience was less than you had expected.

Regarding to changing the room: We truly apologize for the inconvenience. Actually, the reason you moved 3 times because of your own decision. We would need your help to change to another room once you said your room had ant but you decided to share room with your friend and finally you changed to your new room.

Related to ant in your room: It has been fully processed to ensure this does not occur again.

On the breakfast menu: It's continental breakfast menu which is included nearly 20 different dishes, and nearly 20 different drinks. Moreover, our breakfast menu was completely satisfied by other customers. Regretably, it did not meet your needs. Anyway, we have reviewed and improved our menu to be more variety.

Thank you so much. Your feedback is a useful reference to improve our services.

We are delighted you chose to stay at our hotel and we hope to welcome you on further occasion.

Your faithfully
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We booked this hotel following the advice from TA reviews. The staff are really helpful and the rooms are clean. We can said that because in 4 nights we stayed in 3 different room types! From big room to small room but all are very clean. Everything is within walking distance(I mean less than 3 minutes walk): night market, water puppet theatre, foods and the lake of course. Don't forget to drop by Rainbow Cafe for a cup of true Vietnamese coffee. We went three 4 times in 3 days. They have the best spring roll in town (in my opinion), better than the one in Quan An Ngon!

Room Tip: Select a room with window. Otherwise you are like sleeping in a box.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank encikkacang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at the Hanoi Old Centre hotel with our little children of 2 and 4 years old and really enjoyed the experience. The staff is extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful and the lake view family room we stayed in is well furnished and equiped and very clean. Nice, hospitable touches are everywhere, from free water and snacks in the room to welcome drinks to their excellent organization for leaving to and returning from sapa (yes, they brought us all the way to and from our train seats and opened a room for us to use when returning very early inthe morning) to...
The location is good, too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rense V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Golden Holiday Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
0.2 mi away
Little Hanoi DX Hotel
Little Hanoi DX Hotel
#3 of 597 in Hanoi
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Emerald Hotel
Holiday Emerald Hotel
#1 of 597 in Hanoi
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#4 of 597 in Hanoi
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Old Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Old Centre Hotel

Address: 19 Hang Hanh Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 844, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Guesthouse 2)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 628 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: $24 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Old Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi Old Quarter, Hanoi Old Centre Hotel is in quiet and shady street at 19 HANG HANH Street, less than a minute to Hoan Kiem Lake. This area is served by Restaurants, Bars, Major Post Office, Banks, Local Night Market... Not only convenient for dining, shopping... especially for attractions, it's simple to walk to Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, The Temple of Literature, Ngoc Son Temple, Water Puppet Theater and Museums. HOC provide different types of room to suit your every need. All rooms are selectively equipped to confine fine bedding, well recognized, some rooms with Lake View, some rooms with City View, Window or Balcony and adequately equipment as Cable LCD TV, Minibar, Air-Conditioner, Fan, Electric Safe, Cupboard, Telephone, Internet access, Computer in lobby (Complimentary), Wifi Access, Work Desk, Sitting area, Hair-dryer, Slippers, Private bathroom with hot shower and Bathroom Amenities. Elevator serves all floors. Staff are well trained and all speak English, are friendly and enthusiastic about our work from recommending where to visit, to eat, to call you a taxi or arranging a tour or onward travel which are highly recommended by all previous Guests. * Complimentary breakfast and mineral water. * Wifi Access available in all rooms. * Internet computers are located in the lobby.Useful Information: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hanoi Old Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sun Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing