We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Classics never get out of style.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Old Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hanoi Old Centre Hotel
Ranked #7 of 566 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
138 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“The Classics never get out of style.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Although there are tons of new(er) hotels in Hanoi, this one is one of the few that stands out from the rest. The service is way beyond expectations. They replied to my email within 10 minutes, they bought train tickets for us in advance without any deposit, they sent an assitant to carry our luggage until we board the long-haul train. C'mon tell me, can anyone beat that?

Room Tip: You have an option to either get a room here or you can book to their other site which is Hanoi Gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mervinmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    229
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
168
463
128
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Foshan, China
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

I arrived in Hanoi late at night so I ordered a pick up from the airport. I was not picked up and left stranded at the airport at 1am. I was not going to get in a taxi and ask them to take me to a hotel that failed to pick me up, nor be taken to a random place, so I spent the might sleeping in a chair at the airport.

The next morning I sent the hotel an email cancelling my reservation. They were very apologetic, said that someone else had taken my ride and offered to pay compensation. They wanted to apologise in person, and offered to come to where I was staying if I could not drop by.

I had arranged alternative accommodation as a friend was meeting me in Hanoi, but a couple of nights later we decided to stay the night here; we paid $29 for the basic twin and they upgraded us to the deluxe suit for no extra charge. The rooms are comfortable, and come with complimentary water and snacks. We had an enjoyable stay.

Staff were always very friendly and helpful.

They looked after my luggage while I went backpacking at Sapa and then on my return I had decided to stay again so I was picked up from the train station at 5am free of charge and I also had a free breakfast.

I spent my last day in Hanoi relaxing at the hotel with internet and movie channels and they organised my taxi the airport at 6am the following morning.

The hotel is in an excellent location for exploring Hanoi, just a few mins from the lake (the airport shuttle bus stops 15 min walk away).

For whatever reason a mistake happened with my airport pick up, but they did do everything possible to make up for it - that is customer service - unfortunately something that is lacking in many places nowadays. Judgement should be based on how people react to a mistake, rather than the mistake itself, and the reaction and continued treatment here shows me that customer satisfaction is very highly regarded.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bookowl1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

The staff here are so friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. The hotel was excellent value for money with the rooms being fairly basic but clean and comfortable beds. We did have rooms facing the front to begin with and enjoyed the hussle and bussle of the street but decided to move to a room at the back of the hotel our return from Halong Bay as it was quite noisy. The hotel is in a good location for seeing Hanoi and its good to be central. Last time we stayed we were outside of the city so it was nice to be able to walk straight out of the hotel to see the main sights.
The staff 'Twee and Twee' were great and recommended our cruise for Halong Bay with Imperial which was first class and excellent value. (Food delicious)!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back if you're a light sleeper or rooms at the front if you want to look do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curtisden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerteh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

well, for us it was quite cheap as it is located in the centre of Hanoi Old Quater.
The hospitality- was perfect!
the room and the price, amazingly incredible.
we love everything about the hotel. the cleanliness, the room, the service and the location.
well worth to stay here indeed!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NellySamsuddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay. We stayed here a few different times after our trips to Sapa and Hoi An. Ms. Thuy and her staff are fantastic and very helpful. I like the fact that the rooms are clean including the bed sheets and bath towels. The non-existence of an enclosed shower is something to get use to (as is most hotels in Vietnam), but the bathroom do dry up and slippers are provided. I would suggest upgrading to a Deluxe Balcony for a bit of extra room if you are travelling with a companion because the rooms are small and cozy especially the Superior with window.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Noodle Head
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

I can understand the high ratings this hotel gets.

Great room, clean, great location... etc. But what makes this hotel so good is the staff and service. We experienced probably the best service of any hotel that we have ever stayed in. Communication with Ms Thuy before we arrive was prompt and excellent. The staff arranged our Halong Bay trip at a cheaper price than what others on the boat paid, we also booked the Perfumed Pagoda trip at a better price than others. They arranged our Sapa and Hue trains. When we arrived back from Sapa in the early morning they allowed us to use a room at no charge for a nap and to freshen up even though we were not staying there that night and also provided us a free breakfast.

Our room was on the 6th floor facing the road and we had no issue with noise (and I'm a light sleeper).

I will definitely stay here again if I go back to Hanoi and definitely recommend the hotel as a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Our extended family travelled to Vietnam over the new year season and were impressed by the friendly and helpful staff of the Hanoi Old Centre Hotel. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable and the location fantastic, just a block from the lake and around the corner from Silk Street. Thuy and Thuy our lovely hotel administrators and all the staff of the hotel were so welcoming and wonderful with the children in our group, we felt very safe, relaxed and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#19 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
#11 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#1 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Old Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Old Centre Hotel

Property: Hanoi Old Centre Hotel
Address: 19 Hang Hanh Street, Hanoi, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Guesthouse 2)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 566 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Old Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi Old Quarter, Hanoi Old Centre Hotel is in quiet and shady street at 19 HANG HANH Street, less than a minute to Hoan Kiem Lake. This area is served by Restaurants, Bars, Major Post Office, Banks, Local Night Market... Not only convenient for dining, shopping... especially for attractions, it's simple to walk to Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, The Temple of Literature, Ngoc Son Temple, Water Puppet Theater and Museums. HOC provide different types of room to suit your every need. All rooms are selectively equipped to confine fine bedding, well recognized, some rooms with Lake View, some rooms with City View, Window or Balcony and adequately equipment as Cable LCD TV, Minibar, Air-Conditioner, Fan, Electric Safe, Cupboard, Telephone, Internet access, Computer in lobby (Complimentary), Wifi Access, Work Desk, Sitting area, Hair-dryer, Slippers, Private bathroom with hot shower and Bathroom Amenities. Elevator serves all floors. Staff are well trained and all speak English, are friendly and enthusiastic about our work from recommending where to visit, to eat, to call you a taxi or arranging a tour or onward travel which are highly recommended by all previous Guests. * Complimentary breakfast and mineral water. * Wifi Access available in all rooms. * Internet computers are located in the lobby.Useful Information: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hanoi Old Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sun Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing