We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“on a price for value scale - superb”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hanoi Phoenix Hotel
Ranked #332 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Toronto
1 review
“on a price for value scale - superb”
Reviewed April 8, 2009

in the heart of the thriving old quarter of Hanoi, the relatively small Hanoi Phoenix is excellent value for the money paid.....the staff is very very accomodating and friendly....and speak English well....the complimentary breakfast choice is extensive and well prepared....the noodle soup was a highlight.....the hotel itself is a ten minute walk to the lake and is in the middle of the area that most travellers would want to visit or see....Hanoi itself should never be missed and it can be used as a jump off point for venturing to the nearby and spectacular Halong Bay

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    49
    15
    10
    7
See reviews for
13
69
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2009

Kelvin and staff excel at being very helpful and understanding of different cultures. They will book tours, flights, taxis and forward hotels. Rooms are clean and spacious. Great feature is that internet access and breakfast is included for all guests. Tea, coffee, water is available all day in the lobby. Hotel is well-located, within 10mins walk of Lake Hoan Kiem, which is the centre of Hanoi. A great value budget hotel, suitable for solo travellers and couples.
Matt Watters - Sydney, Australia.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globalmentor2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2009

Great place with very pleasant and polite and helpful staffs on hand. Free delicious breakfast with free flow of yummy Vietnamese Coffee and tea throughout the day. Deluxe rooms are roomy and comfy.
Standard rooms are small but still decent. Tours arranged by hotel were good and well organised.
Will definitely go back to stay in this place again if I do go and visit Hanoi again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Surely one of the best you can find in Hanoi. We really liked it... Truely !
They got an excellent staff wich can help you in any way with all your desires and problem. You can be confident in them. They have great tours ;)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vietnam/ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2009

We did not start too good with the airport transfer pick up being 45 mins late - this was the only issue we had in 5 days stay at the Phoenix. . It seemed to be a problem that affected other people too and one that I am sure the brillant manager can sort out.

The staff in this hotel were the best we have had over 2 months in Asia (including some 5 star hotels). There was always a smile and hello and what was really impressive was the can do & will do attitude. The staff are young and its obvious that the manager has them working in this great manner. Its clear that while it maybe a 2 star hotel the service is without doubt 4-5 star.

The rooms we stayed in were clean and for the price we paid ((16 dollars). Breakfast runs until 11.30am which is great and the internet is free (even if the 3 pc's are being used you are given the hotel one to use which was nice). Restuarants etc are just 5-10 mins away.

If you are staying in Hanoi on a low-medium budget then then this place fits the bill.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loveasiababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2009

I really liked the staff at the Hanoi Phoenix hotel, they were very friendly and helpfull with booking tours and giving helpfull suggestions.
The room was very clean and nice. Location is perfect, you can walk along the old quarter wich is the coolest area of Hanoi if you ask me.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2009

Fairly cheap hotel... thats about all the good things I can say about it.

It is in the metal work district, it has rats running through the lobby/breakfast area and the only time the staff are nice to you is when they are overcharging you for tours. Also the room had no windows.

If you stay here, at least look to get your tours elsewhere. We were charged at least $10 more for a $60 trip than other people on the same boat.

P.S. I am not an inexperienced traveller, I just don't write reviews, but when I stayed at Phoenix I knew I just had to write an honest review.

  • Liked — It was fairly cheap
  • Disliked — Rats, Staff, Overpriced tours, No window in the room.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank rucky544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenixhotel, Manager ,Kelvin Nguyen at Hanoi Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2009
Dear All ,
First of all, thank you so much for the guests who spent there time to visit Hanoi Phoenix Hotel and leave their comments .
We feel very shocked with this unfair reviewed posted on the website .Because this guests stayed in our hotel in a small cheap room and reasonable with what they paid for. In our hotel ,there are some kinds of room .For all our guests ,we wished we could give them the best rooms that we had but their tight budget.
With the tour ,actually all the customers who stayed in our hotel they all booked the tour through us and stayed on the same boat .
They paid 60 USD fixed,the other people paid less because they booked some trips with us and they got discounted the price.
When the difference happened they should tell us to get a reasonable response but they DID NOT and now they posted an unfair review for us .
We hope anyone who have a look on tripadvisor will understand what is right what is wrong .

Thanks for choosing our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Brandi Hotel
Brandi Hotel
#458 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sport Hotel Hanoi
Sport Hotel Hanoi
#328 of 580 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel
Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel
#202 of 580 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ping Hotel
Ping Hotel
#214 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Obis Hotel
#129 of 588 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Violin
#119 of 352 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Phoenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Phoenix Hotel

Property: Hanoi Phoenix Hotel
Address: 43 Bat Su Street | Cau Giay District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoang Anh Hotel- Tran Duy Hung is Conveniently located in the Cau Giay District.Whether you are on a business trip or a leisure vacation, our 24-hour on duty courteous, professional and friendly hotel staff will take the utmost care during your stay to ensure you have a memorable time in Hanoi.For those of you just passing through we offer a transit stop so you can securely store you pack while you wonder arround Hanoi and grab a shower before leaving on night trains and buses for other exciting destinations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing