We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hanoi Phoenix was great!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hanoi Phoenix Hotel
Ranked #360 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hanoi Phoenix was great!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2009

My husband and I just finished a trip to Hanoi, and we stayed at the Phoenix Hotel, which was great! The rooms were very clean and adequate. The hotel is centrally located in the Old Quarter and easy to get around. We booked a tour to Sapa through the hotel also. The manager Kelvin spoke Chinese, which was a big plus. Kelvin was very helpful. When we returned with some dissatisfaction that the tour company booked us on lower class train cabins for our return trip, Kelvin immediately called the company and got us a refund for the difference in price. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Hanoi who is looking for affordable and clean accommodation.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — No elevators
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank vialeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    48
    15
    10
    7
See reviews for
12
69
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2008

I was pleased with the stay at Phoenix Hotel I until we came back fm Hue and was told that we should move to Phoenix Hotel II, although we had already reserved a room in the 1st hotel before we left for Hue. The owner did not even give us a reason why we should move and simply insisted that we should move. Just like one of the previous reviews, they also claimed that the 2nd hotel is newer but I definitely can't see which part of the hotel is new! They should not try to cheat us!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank MingALynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2008

My partner and I stayed at the Pheonix Hotel at the end of November 08. The hotel is well located in the old quarter and reasonably priced. The rooms are of differing quality but we were generally happy with ours. We didnt see any rats, cockroaches or any other insects for that matter. The plumbing,electricity, internet etc all worked. Kelvin the manager was very friendly and helpful and made our stay a welcome one. We booked three tours through him. We were vey happy with the tours to Halong Bay (although we wished we'd stayed an extra night) and to Sapa, but not the one day trip to the Perfume Pagoda. We would both be happy to stay at the Pheonix in the future if we were to visit Hanoi again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2008

I'm a little surprised by the positive reviews - it was a decent, clean hotel but somewhat basic and uninspiring.

We stayed in room 201, which was clean but effectively windowless: the window in the room looked out to a gap between our hotel and the next building, and given that we were on one of the lower floors, no natural light came into the room. This was significant only because we arrived at the hotel at midday after a long flight from the UK and were jetlagged and tired and so went to bed, but the lack of light meant that we weren't able to adjust our sleeping patterns very easily during our stay.

Also, I spotted a rat scuttling around in the corners downstairs (though that's not uncommon in Vietnam).

On the positive side though, the staff were friendly and accommodating, we were picked up at the airport as arranged (despite being delayed 1 hour due to baggage problems), it's well located, and the shower in the room was decent.

If we were to return to Hanoi, I don't think we'd stay there again - not because of any particular faults with the Phoenix, but because I imagine there must be several other hotels offering a similar standard of service elsewhere in Hanoi.

  • Liked — Friendly and approachable staff
  • Disliked — Lack of light in the room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank DrPigot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2008

6 floors, with stairs throughout. No elevator. Constant door slamming all night. Room sprayed with air freshener for when you enter the room to mask the stench of sewer that emanates from the bathroom all night. I had to run my shower hose all night to keep the sewer flowing. Fridge also leaked water all over the floor. Bed had more lumps in it than mom's mashed potatoes!!!!

My friend's room on the 6th floor had a ladder about 18 inches on front of his door, which leads to a trap door on the roof. Staff "live" up here, and he had to listen to their noise all night. Also, he had the stench of raw sewage in his room the entire night too.

Booked a Ha Long Bay overnight trip with them. Showed us a brochure of a beautiful boat built in 2007 on which "you will be booked on". Arrived at Ha Long Bay, and got onto a boat that would be lucky if it was built in 1987, nevermind 2007.

Also, had no power during the daytime due to power rationing in Hanoi. Has a generator that runs on the roof which is LOUD and echoes down into the rooms during the day.

Stay elsewhere!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank fritzzz25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenixhotel, Kelvin ,Manager of Hanoi Phoenix at Hanoi Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2008
It is very unfortunate that this customer had such an un pleasant experience when he stayed with us. We had a large group arrive individually who came in after they had been out late and were not considerate of our guests and slammed the doors and these people left the next day. There had been large storms only days before and the drains were a bit overloaded in all of Hanoi which may have made the streets and gutters full. Due to this they may have been fixing electricity during the daytime. There is normally always electricity 24hours. We are fortunate to have a generator and is is unfortunate that to operate these there can be some noise. Elevators are not common in many Hanoi Hotels which helps to keep the costs of our rooms affordable for the price concious traveller. We endeavour to make all of our customers welcome and comfortbable this customer did not mention any problems to us if he had we would have done all that we could do to address his problems..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2008

Although some of the rooms a little worn, our initial impression did not last long as the staff were absolutely brilliant and very helpful. We were only staying for a couple of nights before heading around Vietnam and Cambodia but that didn't stop Vang and Kelvin being very welcoming and they couldn't do enough to help you. We liked the atmosphere and the company so much we booked a deluxe room for the one night we had back in Hanoi before heading home. This was equally as welcoming and friendly. Not far from Hoan Kiem lake, in the Old Quarter and close to bars and eateries, the hotel also provide transfers to and from the airport.
A little haven in the midst of all the mopeds and mayhem!

  • Liked — The staff and location
  • Disliked — The noisy shower pump if you are on the top floor!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank piskie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2008

I was recommended this hotel by the previous hotel in Hue and am really glad I went, the staff are extremely helpful and friendly - I booked my Ha Long Bay tour through them and was surprised to find people on my tour having paid a lot more than I had for exactly the same 3 day/2 night tour - which was great.

Breakfast is free between 7 - 11.30 (enabling a lie-in when wanted). There is also free coffee and bananas all day until 9pm - great for travel/sight-seeing weary bodies! Internet is free and there are 4 computers which are all fast enough to upload pictures.

The whole hotel is very clean and standards are excellent - the rooms are as quiet as can be expected in a city centre hotel and overall for the services, freebies and attention to all guests this hotel is extremely good value for money.

  • Liked — Helpful & Friendly Staff
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank NikiNaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Brandi Hotel
Brandi Hotel
#461 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sport Hotel Hanoi
Sport Hotel Hanoi
#309 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel
Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel
#201 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ping Hotel
Ping Hotel
#208 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Obis Hotel
#124 of 577 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Violin
#119 of 341 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Phoenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Phoenix Hotel

Property: Hanoi Phoenix Hotel
Address: 43 Bat Su Street | Cau Giay District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoang Anh Hotel- Tran Duy Hung is Conveniently located in the Cau Giay District.Whether you are on a business trip or a leisure vacation, our 24-hour on duty courteous, professional and friendly hotel staff will take the utmost care during your stay to ensure you have a memorable time in Hanoi.For those of you just passing through we offer a transit stop so you can securely store you pack while you wonder arround Hanoi and grab a shower before leaving on night trains and buses for other exciting destinations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing