We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanoi Phoenix Hotel
Ranked #305 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed July 5, 2011

If you are planning to spend some time in Hanoi I strongly recommend to stay in this hotel. Really good service (the staff is really helpful), good breakfast, free coffee all day, clean rooms with AC but thigh one for a couple, but still okay and free wifi. The price is the same as others if you really want to stay in a comfort. The location is the best one, you can walk to the market (10 min), Ho Chi Minh Museum and Mausoleum (30 min) and the lake.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Hanoi Phoenix Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 167 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2011

What can I say except that this is the worst hotel I have EVER stayed at. I still fume when I think how bad they treated us.

1. No working fan in bathroom so entire room always had a horrible damp feeling to it, when we asked for it to be fixed it was like we had told them we had skinned a puppy
2. They let people smoke in the lobby which circles up the open stairwell into all rooms no matter how high up you are, we politely asked if something could be done about this, once more, the skinned puppy scenario
3. Terrible food, no hot water, intermittently working internet, extremely unfriendly manager, staff that you know were talking about you behind your back in Vietnamese etc etc etc

But that is nothing to what happened on the last day. As we were checking out, I asked to speak to someone to politely reiterate the above issues and the disappointment that I felt with how they had been dealt with. It ended up with the manager of the hotel screaming at me and calling me a crazy person and a nutcase in front of an entire roomful of people. I was so shocked I couldn't actually believe what was happening. I have never known anyone in any country to act so disgustingly towards another person they didn't know, let alone a person who was their customer. It makes me ill to think about it.

For your own good, find another hotel, there are so many in the area!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cappycappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Our flight into Hanoi was delayed for 2 and half hours but the prearranged collection by the hotel at the airport was still there which was a great relief.The hotel is in a great location in the Old Quarter and a nice walk to the Lake.Our room had Wi-Fi,shower was excellent,bed nice and comfortable,no noise at night.We arranged a trip to Halong Bay through the hotel,bur due to the boat accident the day before we went we were not allowed to stay on the boat overnight.Although no fault of the hotel they were happy to offer us a part refund on the experience we had missed which I thought was a very generous gesture by Kelvin.Breakfast was adequate with a choice of egg and a very large bread roll.We arranged a taxi to the airport through the hotel and pickup was at 4.30AM,the taxi arrived on time which again was a great relief. Overall,yes there are plenty of nicer hotels around but for what you are paying in a city centre hotel,for value you will struggle to find better.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank icisEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We arrived late afternoon to a busy 'hole in the wall'. The staff were friendly and offered a coffee while we checked in. The place looked clean enough for the cost. Once we had lugged our packs up several flights of stairs ( rounding the matresses leaning up against the walls) we came back to the reception to get a map to explore Hanoi. To my horror the staff in the lobby had a floor tile up and crawling out of it were big bugs - I swear they were cockroaches but my husband claims to differ. They receptionist appologised madly and quickly moved us on our way. Upon our return I was uneasy about staying but the place looked SO clean and had I not been there when the tile had been raised I'd never had known. The room was clean and the shower was hot, although it leaked onto the bathroom floor, creating a bit of a pool, it remained just there while it drained into the plug. We did't eat there ( I just couldn't), but we did book a night away on a junk to see Halong Bay, which was BEAUTIFUL and such good value (A-Class). The hotel arranged for a taxi to drive us to the airport which was great, but the driver arrived around 20 mins late - not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckylucy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Good points. Location, middle of old quarter. Computer in room with quick connection.Very budget hotel though, rooms could do with updating.Booked an airport pick up but possibly due to delayed flight they failed to turn up.Ok for a night or two max probably wouldn't stay again. Old quarter lovely highly reccommend Green Mango for food and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChinaGed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We spent 3 nights at the Phoenix and everything was brilliant. We booked this in New Zealand along with trips to Sapa, Halong Bay and Tam Coc. Kelvin did a great job of all this place arranged train tickets from Ninh Binh to Hue on the HN1 train which other companys said didnt operate. Everything went like clockwork. As far as the hotel went everything was perfect. We had a family room which had plenty of room which is always great with teenage daughters. The rooms are very quiet considering what is happening out on the street. The breakfast was included and brilliant. As much as you could eat. Tony made sure we were well feed before the start of our day. Kelvin even gave us a room when we returned from Halong to shower and rest before catching train to Sapa. When we returned from Sapa at 5am we got a taxi back to Phoenix and Tony left the door unlocked so we had a room plus gave us breakfast before going to Ninh Binh. Cant recommend this place high enough and a credit to Kelvin and his team. Cheers we will be back one day.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyFamily88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

I stayed here for about 2 weeks in Hanoi, using it as a base in between trips to Halong Bay and Sapa.
The staff (who are more like a happy family) were extremely welcoming and upon arrival we received a friendly reception and free breakfast!
We stayed in both double and triple rooms and both were spacious, clean and really comfortable.
The owner Kelvin was amazing, ensuring we got the most out of the tours we booked through them (which we did) and even helping out with other areas - taking me to fix my broken camera cheaply.
When we returned from our trip to Sapa, they gave us a room for the day to sleep, shower etc. for free!!
We booked a bus from Hanoi to Hoi An through them and a few things went wrong (bus company fault not hotel's) where we ended up needing a refund, which Kelvin sorted out for us after just one simple phone call, no hassles, which was really helpful!
These guys know how to look after all kinds of travelers and care about tourism Vietnam as a whole, so put in the extra effort for client satisfaction.
Best bang for your buck - Hanoi Phoenix Hotel! See ya next time round :D

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vlax_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue Hanoi Inn City Hotel
Blue Hanoi Inn City Hotel
#360 of 598 in Hanoi
1 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brandi Hotel
Brandi Hotel
#470 of 598 in Hanoi
33 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sport Hotel Hanoi
Sport Hotel Hanoi
#324 of 598 in Hanoi
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ping Hotel
Ping Hotel
#212 of 598 in Hanoi
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel
Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel
#225 of 598 in Hanoi
124 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Phoenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Phoenix Hotel

Address: 43 Bat Su Street | Cau Giay District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $18 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoang Anh Hotel- Tran Duy Hung is Conveniently located in the Cau Giay District.Whether you are on a business trip or a leisure vacation, our 24-hour on duty courteous, professional and friendly hotel staff will take the utmost care during your stay to ensure you have a memorable time in Hanoi.For those of you just passing through we offer a transit stop so you can securely store you pack while you wonder arround Hanoi and grab a shower before leaving on night trains and buses for other exciting destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hanoi Phoenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing