We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Hanoi - Good price”
Review of Tung Trang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tung Trang Hotel
Ranked #180 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“In the heart of Hanoi - Good price”
Reviewed February 10, 2011

This hotel is in the heart of Hanoi. It is for sure not a charming hotel, but the family room is really convenient (4 people) and cheap (30 USD). Good breakfast. No elevator.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asia_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    42
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
15
54
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

adaptable to needs ie. advance puppet tickets, luggage storage, friendly staff, quality but cheap tour as described, great location close to everything. only downer no elevator

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fourmice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel for 4 nights - this being the beginning of our trip to Vietnam. We had arranged to be picked up from the airport by the hotel and yep when we got there was a gentleman holding a sign with my boyfriends name on it. When we arrived we were shown to our room which was a double room with an ensuite at $14 a night which was perfect for us - you could get a larger room for an extra $2 but the room we were shown was fine for us.

What we loved about this hotel was the location - it was down a quiet alley so you could not hear the constant horns beeping from the main road. You could easily get a peaceful night sleep here. Yet at the same time everything was nearby and was in the heart of the Old Quarter.

The staff here are very friendly and helpful here. On our last day we had booked a train ticket to Hue which whilst we were out in the city the train had been cancelled due to bad weather and the receptionist cancelled our ticket for us so we would not be charged.

They also arrange tours here and train/bus tickets which was very good service.

They also serve breakfast here which can be part of the room price or you can order it separately.

Even though there was a sign saying an hourly rate for the internet we were not charged once for using the internet - on our last day I sat on the internet for about 3 hours as we had to wait around for ages due to our train being cancelled.

We would both definitely stay here again if visiting Hanoi again and recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amzjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

+ friendly staff
+ awesome location
+ good room with window

But:

- although I had a reservation, I had to take a more expensive room for one night
- room smelled of smoke because there has been a heavy smoker in this room before
- cleaning service showed up in the room only 1 time during a 1 week stay

I am not sure if this is an individual case or stuff like this happens there more often.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honza_ak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

Stayed here twice this month for a total of 5 nights. We booked online and received confirmation by email. The location is good because it's down a quiet alleyway, although there's no escape from the ubiquitous scooter. We stayed in rooms 201 and 502. 201 is a double room with small en-suite bathroom. The room itself is large and has a small balcony. All rooms are equipped with TV, wifi, fridge, towels, shampoo sachets and toothbrushes. Rooms are cleaned every day. We were charged $22 for room 201. Room 502 is on the top floor and is a family room with double bed and 2 single beds and all facilities as per 201 (plus an odd-looking running machine which we did not use!) - we were charged $18 for this room. Breakfast cost us extra (not sure if it was our poor bargaining skills which caused this) at VND 25,000 each. The staff are helpful and friendly. We scoured many other hotels and this seemed good value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiggyjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2009

Ordinary and overpriced is how I'd describe the Tung Trang. Staff were not too helpful - charged top price - key to door didn't work, tv didn't work and staff were surly. Never told about breakfast despite travelling with a child - pretty poor really. And what's this about the courtyard? - you mean the entry way. Yes, it's a great location but that's all that recommends it. For kids - you can't watch the tv because the screen is black. Also some other things are - there is no courtyard to play in - there is no courtyard - but the computers are great,

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adliswil, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

We booked a superior room - 501 - before we arrived into Hanoi as we were arriving late after flying from Laos. The hotel is located in a very smelly alleyway a few streets away from the Hoan Kiem Lake. If I had paid $10-$15 I would have expected what I got but we paid $25 for a superior room. It was quite clean, had hot water, internet for free, fridge, they did meet us on arrival at the airport. But... the towels were so stained and old, the staff did not seem to care, no breakfast included, the door was sellotaped up and not very secure. I would expect more from $25 per night. We stayed two nights and then moved into a room in Vega Travel office for $10 - which was 3 times the size (no fridge) much better location and fresh clean towels.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_everywher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
#155 of 588 in Hanoi
396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#115 of 588 in Hanoi
1,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
#90 of 588 in Hanoi
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.3 mi away
Gecko Hotel
Gecko Hotel
#472 of 588 in Hanoi
27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#59 of 588 in Hanoi
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tung Trang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tung Trang Hotel

Property: Tung Trang Hotel
Address: 13 Tam Thuong Alley Way, between 38-40 Hang Bong Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Tung Trang Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel just finished renovation december 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Tung Trang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tung Trang Hanoi
Hotel Tung Trang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing