We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable Family Run Guesthouse”
Review of Tung Trang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tung Trang Hotel
Ranked #194 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and Comfortable Family Run Guesthouse”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We chose this hotel as our first destination when arriving in Hanoi. The staff have been beyond helpfull and the service has been first class. Upon arrival I realised I'd left my bank card in an ATM at the airport. The manager made some calls and I was able to collect my card the very next day. The rooms are spotless and the beds are comfortable. They arranged 2 tours for us to Ninh Binh and to Ha Long Bay and both were excellent. They even booked our train tickets to our next destination. If youre in Hanoi and can afford $14-20/night then this is the place for you

Room Tip: All rooms seem to provide the same facilities, the more expensive rooms are just larger I think but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikemoz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    41
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
15
53
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Was booked into this hotel by agency so don't know price but think its about $17-$20 for twin. 's a good location as close to everything, clean and nice hosts but everything very tired. I had a "deluxe" room on 4 floor - no lift of course. Had fridge, air con, fan, tv free wi fi (good and fast) and ensuite which was very small with wet shower so need to take toilet paper and towels out when have shower. Hotel down an alley so if arriving by taxi have to walk to hotel from Main Street. Towels sheets etc clean but threadbare. No breakfast included. Much better value elsewhere.
Ps I accidentally put a rating against fitness centre but needless to say, no fitness centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed one night there .The room was smelly and quite old.But they charged 16USD.We could find a better room.But We were tired decided to staying one night.They convinced Us to buy trip to Halong Bay 02 days 01 night there.We knew they got commission.We booked with them.

When We got on boat ,the Boat was not the same them advertising,It was old boat and food was terrible.We could not eat.We ate our breads .Luckily We brough with Us.

They sold Us the trips twice more expensive compare with Customers on the same cruise.


When We got back Hanoi from the trip,We choose another hotel.New and clean one.

We never come back Tung Trang again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenny r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton Bay Region, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We paid $16 per night for a very small room and no balcony. Room was otherwise fine. Every day they would ask where we were going. I asked about their tours but they were $7 more than everywhere else. Found much cheaper tours down an alley full of backpacker places, which were $7 cheaper than their budget tour. Our small room was up three flights of stairs. Shower is nearly over the top of the toilet. We only just had enough space to fit our bags into the room. Bed was comfortable and was located in old quarter. Rooms are cleaned everyday and you get soaps and toothbrushes. Was quiet location but could hear cats crying every night. If you are leaving early let them know because place is locked up at night.

Room Tip: Make sure it is not too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twobigfeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the hotel. We got the "good" room with a small balcony and tiny bathroom for 18$ after we bargained a bit.(they wanted 25)
At first the staff were nice, but after they heard we are interested in a cruise to halong bay,they did not stop asking and bothering us if we want to close with them.
They let us cook in their kitchen but did not stop giving us looks (especialy the grand mother).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EphiEla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you're looking for high-end top class hotel, try anything else. In Tung Trang you'll be treated as family.
Although it's probably not he best price-quality ratio you can get, our stay was pretty amazing because of the staff!
The rooms are simple and adequate for the price, with a small ensiute bathroom with shower. AC worked, fridge also worked. The only remark to the room was the poor quality of the matress... nevertheless, a small balcony overlooking a temple and the alley in front was nice for some cigarettes at the end of the day.
Staff always useful, helping us on a last-minute change for a trip to HaLong bay, with absolutely no questions asked or problems raised.
Having breakfast with the owners is my thing. Banh mi included? Even better! If it's not your thing, just don't stay here..
All in all, a nice stay in a quiet spot in noisy fast Hanoi.

Room Tip: Stayed of the highest floor, which was really nice because of the noisy vietnamese! No elevator, I m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breky_nuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phnom phen
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A small hotel, with great service, location, and price. All I needed was to ask, and who ever was in charge of the front desk, had a great answer for me. I appreciated the friendly, customer orientated service, especially that of At Nguyen. She is a pleasant, knowledgable person and offers the type of service all travellers desire.

Room Tip: book into this place if you are looking for value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#75 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
#85 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#58 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
#138 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
#175 of 581 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#108 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tung Trang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tung Trang Hotel

Property: Tung Trang Hotel
Address: 13 Tam Thuong Alley Way, between 38-40 Hang Bong Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Tung Trang Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel just finished renovation december 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Tung Trang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tung Trang Hanoi
Hotel Tung Trang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing