We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Excellent Night on Halong Bay”

Wide Eyed Tours - Day Tours
Ranked #77 of 868 Tours in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 'Experience our experience. We've lived, loved, partied and worked here in Vietnam for the past 11 years. We don't want to be the biggest tour company, but we want to be proud of the trips we run and proud to send people home with the memories of a lifetime.' Founders Travis & Mike. This western managed company that employs Vietnamese staff is based in Hanoi and offers set departures and customised tours. The tours range from adventure and active to luxury and relaxation.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Wide Eyed Tours set me and my girlfriend up with a great one night stay on Halong Bay. Thuan - the tour representative - was brilliant! She offered us a great selection of tours, and took care of us quickly and efficiently after we made our choice.

The tour itself was brilliant! We took the one night 3-star V'Spirit Cruise option, which included a two-way transfer from Hanoi, entrance fees, guide, excellent food (drinks are extra) and activities in the bay (Kayaking, Tai Chi, etc). The group was reasonably sized (11 people until the evening, when we were joined by 10 other people who were doing the two night cruise), but the rooms were spacious and we didn't feel crowded. There was a good amount of activities, and the guides seemed to time our arrival at the individual locales between the other tour groups. And the food was absolutely incredible (the chef received a standing ovation at the end of the tour)!!

Overall, we had a great time on the tour, and I would definitely trust Wide Eyed Tours to book our tours in the future.

Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey J, General Manager at Wide Eyed Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for your fabulous feedback. Great to see you and your girlfriend had such a wonderful experience. We look forward to looking after you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ms chi"
in 6 reviews
"personal travel"
in 4 reviews
"halong bay"
in 66 reviews
"always on time"
in 15 reviews
"week tour of vietnam"
in 5 reviews
"travel agent"
in 15 reviews
"ran like clockwork"
in 6 reviews
"siem reap"
in 14 reviews
"memorable holiday"
in 4 reviews
"three weeks"
in 6 reviews
"from place to place"
in 4 reviews
"cu chi tunnels"
in 9 reviews
"exceptional service"
in 5 reviews
"highly recommend this company"
in 8 reviews
"went smoothly"
in 8 reviews
"beautiful country"
in 7 reviews
"rice fields"
in 7 reviews
Filter

257 - 261 of 326 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

We recently took our two kids aged 5 and 7 to Hanoi. We looked at a range of tours, but struggled to find something that would suit all of us. We saw that Wide Eyed Tours would tailor something just for us. We asked for a half day trip that took in some of the Old Quarter, some food and something that would keep the kids interested. They really delivered! We had a fantastic time and they went above and beyond what we expected to provide a really memorable trip.

We were picked up by our lovely guide from our hotel at about 8am. She took us wandering through the Old Quarter, buying us snacks from interesting and safe-looking roadside places. We stopped for a coffee at a streetside 'cafe' that we wouldn't even have noticed, much less stopped at, if we'd been by ourselves. Fantastic coffee!

After wandering the bustling and interesting streets for a while, we went through the main markets. In this sort of place we expected to be pressured to visit certain stalls and buy things, but we felt under no pressure at all.

Having taken the markets in, we taxied to the outskirts of town to a home-based clothing factory. They make their own dyes from natural products and set us and the kids up to do some tie-dying of some cloth. They were great with the kids and made sure we had drinks and fruit. The tie-dying was fun and we got some nice souvenirs to bring home.

They suggested that we have a quick motorbike ride seeing as we were on the outskirts of town and their road was so quiet. I thought this would mean a 100m ride down the road and back, but instead they sandwiched each kid between two riders, gave me my own bike and we ended up doing a nice 15 minute local tour of the rural surrounds (though my wife didn't realise this was going to be the case and so was a tad worried when we disappeared from view!).

When we got back we were taxied to a neat Vietnamese and international buffet restaurant, which was bustling and full of fantastic food choices.

Afterwards we thought we were going to be pressured into going to their clothing shop, but when they saw the kids were tired they happily dropped us back at our hotel.

It turned out that we'd left a bag of souvenirs at the clothing place and they brought them back to us later that night with big smiles and no charge. Fantastic service!

We happened upon their shop on another day and the shopkeeper remembered us from our tour and seemed genuinely happy to see us, especially the kids.

We were very happy to have chosen Wide Eyed Tours. All of the extras (like food and taxis) were included in the price too.

2  Thank Phil_in_Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey J, General Manager at Wide Eyed Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Great to get your wonderful feedback. Thank you so much. It sounds like you and your family have many special memories from your time in Hanoi, including a bonus motorbike trip. Hopefully we may see you in this region again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Not wanting to do a tour with 16 others, and no time to research our holiday, we left our time away to Wide Eyed Tours and our travel agent to tailor for us. Absolutely brilliant. All of the guides and drivers were punctual presentable knowledgeable and polite. We did Hanoi, Hoi An Nha Trang and Saigon. A short tour for just us two in each city was organised. This gave us a great idea of each city, and the guides gave us a lot of history on the way. Will be looking to Wide Eyed tours for our next visit it was so good

1  Thank Noeleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiOi, General Manager at Wide Eyed Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Fabulous feedback, thanks so much for taking the time to write a response. Having your travel agent, Carl from Jetset Shepparton, working with us to personalise your holiday was a winning combination. Great to hear that you are planning on returning. I know Carl will sort you out for all your future travels and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

A group of friends who had been to Cambodia and Vietnam and had used Wide Eyed Tours raved about the adventure so much so that they decided to go again.

This time we joined them and again used WET. We travelled first to Cambodia and then to Vietnam for a little over three weeks. The trip was one of the best we have done as WET were able to tailor make the tour so as to include interesting off the track locations as well as all the must see places.

The tour guides were punctual, friendly, informative and very easy to understand as they spoke perfect English. WET were able to place us in good hotels, central to all the main part of the town. In each location they recommended: a choice of restaurants, advice on shopping (markets, tailors etc) and interesting places to see.
Any small problems were attended to immediately and nothing was too much trouble. They made our trip very enjoyable.

When we go again we will use WET. We have no hesitation in recommending them to anyone who is thinking of visiting this part of the world and hope they have as much fun as we did.

2  Thank Ric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiOi, General Manager at Wide Eyed Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Welcome back, great to have you travelling with us again. Thanks so much for your wonderful review, much appreciated. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We are are a family of five who travelled on our first 'real' holiday. We have an 11 year old daughter and twin 7 year old boys. I had been to Vietnam before and had some idea on what might suit a 2 week holiday for my family. From research I thought Nha Trang (Vin Pearl), Hoi An and Saigon would be a good grounding to cover all our interests. It was then I called in Wide Eye Tours who took over and organised the intenary, all our arrangements were made with Nga who was just awesome. We spent 2 days in Saigon (Cui Chi Tunnels tour 1/2 day and cyclo tour visiting places of interest), then moved onto Nha Trang -Vin Pearl WOW (spent just over 1/2 a day touring the aquirium, the bay and other quiet little spots for snorkelling etc), then onto Hoi An - just beautiful (bicycle tour 1/2 day, around villages, visiting a village family, lunch with another family and a nice cruise through the coconut palm waters. Finally it was back to Saigon where we did a Mekong Delta tour. Wide Eye organised all our tours, internal flights and transfers, I suggested Hotels where I wanted to stay, if these were unavailable (I only booked the holiday 8 weeks before leaving), Wide Eye made alternative suggestions, which worked out great. We had the best holiday, everthing worked out perfect, we had a perfect mix of touring and time spent exploring and relaxing. If you ask my kids the best place in the world is Vin Pearl, they had such a ball and never wanted to leave, I must admit everytime I ventured outside to the beach or pool, or caught a glimpse of something new I wanted to pinch myself to make sure it was real. Nga from Wide Eye made contact with us 4 - 5 times over the holiday to check everything was ok and confirmed our flights and transfers which was very reassuring. All our guides were local, knowledgeable and great with the kids, the guides appreciated that they were infact kids and had a lot of fun with us. While we were away I had a birthday, Nga spoke to my partner and organised a very special dinner for us, not something we expected. If you're thinking of Vietnam - go, if you need help to organise it - contact Wide Eye Tours!

3  Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiOi, General Manager at Wide Eyed Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

We are thrilled that your first real holiday was so memorable and fun. It sounds like the kids had a ball as well. Vietnam is such a great place for children. Thanks so much for your wonderful feedback, Nga was so pleased. We hope to see you again one day in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wide Eyed Tours - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Wide Eyed Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing