We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Takes care of you like family”

Wide Eyed Tours - Day Tours
Ranked #49 of 864 Tours in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 'Experience our experience. We've lived, loved, partied and worked here in Vietnam for the past 11 years. We don't want to be the biggest tour company, but we want to be proud of the trips we run and proud to send people home with the memories of a lifetime.' Founders Travis & Mike. This western managed company that employs Vietnamese staff is based in Hanoi and offers set departures and customised tours. The tours range from adventure and active to luxury and relaxation.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Amazing service with great staff and really cool management! Tracey is lovely and very enthusiastic about everything they do. Amazing motorbike trips in the north and great local trips around town. 100% trustworthy and they really look after you would recommend especially in crazy Vietnam.

3  Thank Jariari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey J, Manager at Wide Eyed Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thanks for the awesome review! Nice to hear that we are cool and that you felt so well looked after. And yes you are right, Vietnam is crazy, that's why we love it. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 273 of 314 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

my wife and i had our first trip to vietnam and were not sure what to do or to expect
we have been to many places around the world . and have found that by taking local tours you get to see and do the most wonderful things .
wide eyed tours did just that .they asked what we wanted and provided it in an a friendly way
our guide knew lots about every thing and i think she could make sand look special to a Arab
thanks a lot hope to be back soon

5  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiOi, General Manager at Wide Eyed Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Thanks so much for your wonderful review. It means a great deal to us when we see that our clients have fallen in love with Vietnam and say they hope to return. We know we have achieved our goal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

i was visiting vietnam to visit a friend but wanted to see somethings in Vietnam and not only the nice Hanoi-city. So Nga Hoang first advised me the Hong Ngoc Hotel (good, clean hotel, middle of the old city centre), and a 2 day Boattrip Phoenix to Ha Long Bay witch was really great, good value for the money. She also recommended a visit to the countryside witch was also a good experience. so thanks to Nga and the Wide Eyed Tours to arrange everything in a great wayon a short term for me.

4  Thank amel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Thanks for your lovely review. Yes Nga is very knowledgeable and has great advice. Thank you for using our service and I hope we can help you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I had always wanted to visit Vietnam but it took some convincing for the rest of the family. So without much family support, I decided to risk booking flights and was fortunate enough to be put in touch with Wide Eyed tours on the recommendation of hotel staff in Hanoi. What a blessing - I simply gave them the flight dates and asked for a half relaxing and half adventure tour that a family could enjoy which included an 11yr old girl and 16yr old boy. How amazing, prompt, efficient, and knowledgable were the staff who could not do enough for us. Basically, I did nothing and the most amazing holiday that we all loved and still talk about today just happened thanks to Nga and Wide Eyed tours. They have so much local knowledge that they knew exactly what to book so that we could cover the diversity of Vietnam, meet the locals, feast on fabulous flavours and learn so much history. There was never any stress because there was always a local person greeting us making sure everything was perfect and ensuring out trip was relaxing, safe but with enough adventure to keep the kids happy. We learnt so much about Vietnam's history, way of life, the never ending truely amazing food not to mention the beautiful people and even learnt some language and cooking skills. All we had to do was review the itinerary, book online then sit back and enjoy because the Wide Eyed tour staff were always in the background checking everything ran smoothly and was meeting our expectations. This holiday exceeded our expectations and none of us would hesitate to recommend them to anyone thinking about exploring Asia in particular Vietnam and Cambodia. Check them out you won't be sorry and we can thoroughly recommend Nga who helped us enornously and we will go back with her help. Vietnam is busy and does have 90 million people living there so without local knowledge it would be a challenge - best of luck. Bronwen and Ross Taylor and family from Launceston, Tasmania/

7  Thank Bronwen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

We are so pleased that you and your family had such a wonderful holiday in Vietnam. Thank you for the excellent review. Bronwen, looks like you will be in charge of all future family holidays! Great to see that the kids had a fab time too. Teenagers can be the toughest critics when it comes to holidays. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

You driving via some dirty, old streets of outskirt of Hanoi, seeing nothing special, but houses, Nothing very much interesting, no story, no explanation from the leader. Then you cross the river, Local ferry was nice experience, something you don't see every day. After that you just bicycling through rice fields, and villages and rice field and villages. We didn't see any special places, Again not much attention from the guide, no story, no real concept. "There is a harvest ongoing and rice is ready when its yellow" was everything we heard from the guy. But it was indeed interesting to see the harvest and to see local farmers and water buffalo's. But this was it. You can see everything, whats interesting on this trip in 1,5 hour.
Our experience with the guide was terrible. Few times he took the road, which was rather dangerous and not easy to drive through. You couldn't see the road because of high grass, or the terrain was soft, or the road was very narrow, with the ditches full of water on sides, so it was challenging. And I have to mention we are not really picky, or sissies. (we are coming from mountain area). When we expressed our concerns to the guy, he was just laughing and saying "Its ok". The last time my wife warned the guy and questioned the safety of the road, he again ignored it and few seconds after, in a difficult place (where the leader experienced troubles as well) my wife felt into to ditch full of dirty water from rice field. Fortunately, beside some scratches, bruises and swellings nothing serious happened, but she damaged the clothes and shoes.
So the guy was simply putting us in unnecessary danger and ignoring our comments, which is for me unacceptable. After we said, we are not going to pay for this trip, because of our day was ruined and we had a damage, he got ballistic and started to make personal comments. He was also mentioning that we are bad, because he is poor and we don't want to pay and blah blah blah. After numerous phone calls with several peoples from the agency, we paid half of the price, to not ruin our holiday even more and to get rid of the guy, who was even making "noise" in the hotel foyer. We followed similar trips in Asia, with the guides always taking care and thinking of customers, so this was really bad experience.
So in general, this trip is not worth the money, but if you really want to take it, hopefully you won't meet the leader we "enjoyed".

3  Thank taikoThe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, which we will use to restructure some of our procedures and pre-trip information and work with this guide for some additional training about the tour and on safety.

We will give more comprehensive information to clients on what to expect from the tour, that it does not go through the upmarket part of town, but rather to the poorer outskirts so that you can reach the countryside. Vietnam is still a developing country so dirty old streets are hard to avoid, although some people actually like that about the place.

We will clearly explain that expensive footwear and clothing is not recommended as the tour does travel through rice paddy flelds, and these by their very nature are muddy.

Also we will more strictly enforce the payment prior to departure policy that seems to have been overlooked on this occasion, which caused a stressful situation for the guide. A partial refund would have been offered under the circumstances if full payment had been paid from the outset.

Thank you once again for your comprehensive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wide Eyed Tours - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Wide Eyed Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing