We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vietnam for Family experience of a lifetime”

Wide Eyed Tours - Day Tours
Ranked #67 of 806 Tours in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 'Experience our experience. We've lived, loved, partied and worked here in Vietnam for the past 11 years. We don't want to be the biggest tour company, but we want to be proud of the trips we run and proud to send people home with the memories of a lifetime.' Founders Travis & Mike. This western managed company that employs Vietnamese staff is based in Hanoi and offers set departures and customised tours. The tours range from adventure and active to luxury and relaxation.
Launceston, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Vietnam for Family experience of a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I had always wanted to visit Vietnam but it took some convincing for the rest of the family. So without much family support, I decided to risk booking flights and was fortunate enough to be put in touch with Wide Eyed tours on the recommendation of hotel staff in Hanoi. What a blessing - I simply gave them the flight dates and asked for a half relaxing and half adventure tour that a family could enjoy which included an 11yr old girl and 16yr old boy. How amazing, prompt, efficient, and knowledgable were the staff who could not do enough for us. Basically, I did nothing and the most amazing holiday that we all loved and still talk about today just happened thanks to Nga and Wide Eyed tours. They have so much local knowledge that they knew exactly what to book so that we could cover the diversity of Vietnam, meet the locals, feast on fabulous flavours and learn so much history. There was never any stress because there was always a local person greeting us making sure everything was perfect and ensuring out trip was relaxing, safe but with enough adventure to keep the kids happy. We learnt so much about Vietnam's history, way of life, the never ending truely amazing food not to mention the beautiful people and even learnt some language and cooking skills. All we had to do was review the itinerary, book online then sit back and enjoy because the Wide Eyed tour staff were always in the background checking everything ran smoothly and was meeting our expectations. This holiday exceeded our expectations and none of us would hesitate to recommend them to anyone thinking about exploring Asia in particular Vietnam and Cambodia. Check them out you won't be sorry and we can thoroughly recommend Nga who helped us enornously and we will go back with her help. Vietnam is busy and does have 90 million people living there so without local knowledge it would be a challenge - best of luck. Bronwen and Ross Taylor and family from Launceston, Tasmania/

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Bronwen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Wide Eyed Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
We are so pleased that you and your family had such a wonderful holiday in Vietnam. Thank you for the excellent review. Bronwen, looks like you will be in charge of all future family holidays! Great to see that the kids had a fab time too. Teenagers can be the toughest critics when it comes to holidays. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    15
    5
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gouda, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Countryside bicycle Hanoi”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

You driving via some dirty, old streets of outskirt of Hanoi, seeing nothing special, but houses, Nothing very much interesting, no story, no explanation from the leader. Then you cross the river, Local ferry was nice experience, something you don't see every day. After that you just bicycling through rice fields, and villages and rice field and villages. We didn't see any special places, Again not much attention from the guide, no story, no real concept. "There is a harvest ongoing and rice is ready when its yellow" was everything we heard from the guy. But it was indeed interesting to see the harvest and to see local farmers and water buffalo's. But this was it. You can see everything, whats interesting on this trip in 1,5 hour.
Our experience with the guide was terrible. Few times he took the road, which was rather dangerous and not easy to drive through. You couldn't see the road because of high grass, or the terrain was soft, or the road was very narrow, with the ditches full of water on sides, so it was challenging. And I have to mention we are not really picky, or sissies. (we are coming from mountain area). When we expressed our concerns to the guy, he was just laughing and saying "Its ok". The last time my wife warned the guy and questioned the safety of the road, he again ignored it and few seconds after, in a difficult place (where the leader experienced troubles as well) my wife felt into to ditch full of dirty water from rice field. Fortunately, beside some scratches, bruises and swellings nothing serious happened, but she damaged the clothes and shoes.
So the guy was simply putting us in unnecessary danger and ignoring our comments, which is for me unacceptable. After we said, we are not going to pay for this trip, because of our day was ruined and we had a damage, he got ballistic and started to make personal comments. He was also mentioning that we are bad, because he is poor and we don't want to pay and blah blah blah. After numerous phone calls with several peoples from the agency, we paid half of the price, to not ruin our holiday even more and to get rid of the guy, who was even making "noise" in the hotel foyer. We followed similar trips in Asia, with the guides always taking care and thinking of customers, so this was really bad experience.
So in general, this trip is not worth the money, but if you really want to take it, hopefully you won't meet the leader we "enjoyed".

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank taikoThe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Wide Eyed Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, which we will use to restructure some of our procedures and pre-trip information and work with this guide for some additional training about the tour and on safety.

We will give more comprehensive information to clients on what to expect from the tour, that it does not go through the upmarket part of town, but rather to the poorer outskirts so that you can reach the countryside. Vietnam is still a developing country so dirty old streets are hard to avoid, although some people actually like that about the place.

We will clearly explain that expensive footwear and clothing is not recommended as the tour does travel through rice paddy flelds, and these by their very nature are muddy.

Also we will more strictly enforce the payment prior to departure policy that seems to have been overlooked on this occasion, which caused a stressful situation for the guide. A partial refund would have been offered under the circumstances if full payment had been paid from the outset.

Thank you once again for your comprehensive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Four of us decided to use Wide Eye Tours to organise and manage the logistics for a three week tour thru Vietnam, including Cambodia. It was a fantastic experience and before we even left we really appreciated the flexibility shown by the wide eye tour sales rep, Diep, to enable us to do a variety of different activities in different locations at different times.  The directors of Wide Eye Tours, Mike and Travis, run a very tight ship. They know the must see places and they will make any logistical challenges a breeze to surmount. We would definitely recommend them to be involved  in any of your trip planning for vietnam and cambodia, and next time we'd be very keen to do one of their cycle tours. Thank you Wide Eye Tours!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank cheekymunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiOi, General Manager at Wide Eyed Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Great review, thanks so much. We really appreciate your feedback and we're so pleased you had a wonderful holiday. We strive to be flexible and creative and it is excellent to see the results of the hard work done by our staff. We look forward to seeing you in the future on one of our cycling tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Golightly & Humes from Hanoi to Sai Gon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Four of us recently did a 14 day tour of Vietnam with Wide Eyed Tours. We all had a fantastic time and stayed in amazing accommodation. We had a driver and guide at every location and they were extremely professional and well informed, nothing was too much trouble. We ate at local and western restaurants and the food was unbelievable. The country has so much to offer and a huge amount of history. Tracey & Nhung kept us informed as to any changes in any of the schedules, ie drivers picking us up at a different time due to changes in plane schedules. They also rang to make sure everything was ok after one of us was not feeling well. We had unseasonally hot weather and after one of our tours we had a bit of heat stroke, it was 42c and very humid. We started in Hanoi staying at the Intercontinental for 2 nights, very nice with rooms over the West Lake. Tracey greeted us at the airport showed us around and took us to some very interesting restaurants. We then had a night on Halong Bay on a luxury cruise boat. The staff and accommodation was really good. All the cabins had ensuites and ours even had a spa. There was a cooking demonstration and the food was sensational. We had 2 nights back in Hanoi staying at the Sofitel Metropole. We got another guide and driver who showed us the Ho Chi Minh mausoleum and Hoa Lo prison, these guides have a wealth of information and really no their stuff. Next we were off the Hue for 1 night. We flew very early and was greeted by another guide who organised a motor bike tour. This was alot of fun and once again we were very well informed by our guide,unfortunately this was the really hot day and we had to cut our tour short due to the heat. Our hotel here was the beautiful Imperial Hotel. The next day we fly to Da Nang, this was the highlight of our trip. We had 4 nights at the luxurious Fusion Maia resort. It is right on the beach and offers fantastic facilities. They offer 2 treatments a day which was wonderful and we floated back to our room afterwards, also included in the room rate is breakfast which can be served any time of the day and any where in the resort. Each room also has a private small pool out your back door and the rooms are huge with a sunken spa, large shower and lounge area. The staff make you feel very special and the food is great and reasonably priced for a 5 star resort. $25 for an Australian Wagu beef eye fillet was the most expensive thing on the menu, most mains are about $12 - $15. Whilst staying at the resort we did venture down the road to Hoi An, courtesy of the resort, they provide a courtesy bus every couple of hours. Hoi An is well worth a look and a great place to get clothes made with many tailors and shops. Wide eyed organised a tour of the market with local produce and a trip down the river to a cooking class. This was a lot of fun and delicious. We returned later in the afternoon and wondered through the streets of Hoi An. The shopping is wonderful and the streets are so charming.The town has been declared a World Heritage site with the architecture being beautifully restored and preserved. For the last part of our trip we flew down toSai gon and spent 5 nights at the magnificant Majestic Hotel. We were once again greeted by a Wide Eyed guide and driver and was shown around the wonderful sites of Sai Gon. We did a walking tour to the War museum, Reunifiction palace, central post office and Notre Dam Cathedral, we had a tour to the Cu Chi tunnels that the communist guerrilla's built and saw the ingenuous traps they made. It was fasinating learning the history and the culture of this great country. We really enjoyed our experience in Vietnam and it was all made easy and better with the professionalism of Wide Eyed Tours. We would like to thank Tracey, Nhung and Travis for making our stay so pleasant and comfortable and we would thoroughly recommend this tour company to all of our friends and family. They know their business and know how to look after their guests. Well done and will definately be booking another trip with them next time. Maybe when the weather is a little cooler.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Wide Eyed Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thanks Tracey for your glowing review. We are thrilled you all had such a wonderful time. It was a pleasure looking after your group. It is definitely mission accomplished for us, knowing that you had such a memorable holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Keira, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Vietnam Beach Bicycle Backroads Tour 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

It was an absolute privilege to be invited on Wide Eyed Tour's 'Maiden Voyage' of their Beach Bicycle Backroads Tour. Tracey, Mike and Travis run a fantastic tour that is the perfect mix of professionalism, relaxed friendliness and good old fashion fun. A constant source of local knowledge and interesting facts ensured that at no time did you feel alienated or lost. Riding a bicycle was the perfect way to experience Vietnam. It gave the best opportunity to access some more remote areas, at a pace that made it easy to absorb all the wonders of this amazing country. The intensity of the riding element was completely up the the individual. Bus support meant that cold drinks and food was readily available and also gave you the option of riding part or all of the daily distances. Part of the trip incorporated a bicycle donation to a group of underprivileged kids. Each person on the tour personally donated a bicycle to a child, in the knowledge that it would dramatically improve their day to day lives. A BIG 'feel good' moment .If you love cycling, this trip should most definitely be on your 'to do list'! In no way will you be disappointed. For a full review on this trip look out for the November December issue of Bicycling Australia Magazine. (on sale 26th October)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiOi, General Manager at Wide Eyed Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Great to get your awesome review. We are thrilled you had such a fantastic time. We are excited about the October issue of Bicycling Australia magazine. See you again in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wide Eyed Tours - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Wide Eyed Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing