We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheated at "Ha Long Bay" Hanoi, Vietnam”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Ha Long Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ha Long Bay Hotel
Ranked #41 of 61 Hotels in Halong Bay
malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cheated at "Ha Long Bay" Hanoi, Vietnam”
Reviewed October 20, 2008

A group of us just got back from a Golf Tour last weekend in Vietnam. The golf courses in Vietnam was excellent. Very well maintained, all of us was enjoying the game till the last putt.

Everything went on fine throughout the trip until the the last night, where we wanted to stay a night at the "Ha Long Bay". Suppose to be the "World Heritage". We went on the boat ride with a local guide, and he recommended us to buy some fishes and other seafood at the floating fishing village. We listen to the guide and went on to buy some. We agreed to the price of USD60 per kilo for the fish and wanted a fish around 3 kilos. The seller quickly netted one and immediately killed it before even weighing it. Then we wanted him (the seller ) to weighed it with he took a old fashioned weighing machine that none of us know how to read it.
After that he quickly get the boat men to cut the fish and prepare for cooking.

As when we about to pay and ask for the bill, the seller told us that the fish is 9.2 kilos. Of course all us were shock to find that the fish is 9.2 kilos. And it's already dead and cut. What can we do? The worse thing is yet to come. As all of us is so furious about the weigh of the fish, we ignored the currency convertion. We paid in Vietnam Dong that was 6 million.

So summarised it, we were cheated on the weigh of the fish and the currency exchange. There distracted us from the weighed of the fish and cheated us on the currency as well.

So please be careful when you are at the "Ha Long Bay", you don't have to buy anything there. We believed that the guide, boat people and the fish mongers are in a team. Just go there and see and please don't buy as there will have different strategies to cheat or con you. Please do not be their victim.

Helpful?
13 Thank eddyng3300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    27
    8
    7
See reviews for
4
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
487 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

We stayed at the Halong Bay Hotel for just one night at the end of a long and tiring Vietnam Tour which had involved a lot of travelling.

By the time we reached the hotel it was late afternoon and by this stage of the tour every hotel had started to look the same as the previous one.

Our search for a restaurant that evening took us just outside of the hotel to the left where we settled down at an open-air table and watched the boats on the bay. Unfortunately by this time the queasiness I'd felt for several hours started to increase so we headed back to the hotel for bed.

Breakfast was out of the question for me the next day. However my partner did have breakfast and said that it was fine. He did feel a little awkward as he was the only guest in the dining area and there seemed to be several waiting staff with nothing better to do than watch him eat.

With a very delicate stomach I was dreading a full day sailing in Halong Bay, even though i had been looking forward to it for the whole tour. Tempted to cancel the whole day, we explained to our driver that I was feeling very ill and didn't think I'd be able to manage a day on a boat. He immediately drove to a little shop, disappeared for ten minutes, and then handed me one large white pill and assured me that I wouldn't be ill on the trip. After 24 hours of feeling dreadful, within 30 minutes I had completely recovered and we spent a fabulous day sailing in amongst the stunning islands of Halong Bay. A miracle pill but I wouldn't want to delve too far into its ingredients.

Not a memorable hotel for me unfortunately.

  • Liked — Good position for a boat trip in Hlaong Bay
  • Disliked — Nothing particularly, except for feeling ill
  • Stayed November 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
174 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Lovely location (a bit out of the town centre and jetty areas) and big rooms. But in its present state far from justifying 3-star quality and prices. Quite basic restaurant, no elevator for 4 floors and a tea & coffee service on room which consists of a thermos bottle with lukewarm water and no sugar etc!

Cannot judge about the pool as during winter season it was closed for maintenance.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Room quality/facilities
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikandSandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Halong Bay hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2008

Located right on the Bay and within easy walking distance of Ha Long itself, this Hotel has a lot going for it.
Three star accommodation in a place that looks as if it has a lot of hotels, you could do worse.
Rooms not large, but not small either.
The usual things that tourists expect in hotel rooms but as with a lot of hotels in Vietnam, the plumbing needs work.
Meals, dinner and breakfast were adequate and the service was fine.
Would stay there again.

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
378 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

Decent modern hotel set into the hillside with stunning views of Halong Bay. The public areas are spacious and an adequate breakfast is offered. The rooms are spacious and clean and reasonably equipped. There are restaurants and bars within walking distance but the centre is very commercial and is likely to get more commercial with the amount of construction in progress. The boat trip around the islands is unforgettable and I would urge anyone to visit this area, just don't expect too much from the town

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Staffsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2007

Had a fantastic time in vietnam . Only do a live abord at halong bay as the only nice views are out to sea. Not a good hotel pool not working rooms not clean very old and run by the state.
The only bad hotel out of a three week trip not Bad ha.

Helpful?
4 Thank mollyfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth,NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2005

Newer hotel, I had a room with a large tiled balcony overlooking the bay. Clean, quiet, great view. Short walk to several sidewalk cafes. Live fish and seafood to take your chose of. also bai hoa!!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Firefighter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Ha Long Bay
Novotel Ha Long Bay
#3 of 61 in Halong Bay
792 reviews
2.5 mi away
CityBay Palace Hotel
CityBay Palace Hotel
#14 of 61 in Halong Bay
49 reviews
4.2 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tuan Chau Island
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
#5 of 61 in Halong Bay
249 reviews
1.2 mi away
Halong Plaza Hotel
Halong Plaza Hotel
#4 of 61 in Halong Bay
259 reviews
1.3 mi away
Halong Dream Hotel
Halong Dream Hotel
#43 of 61 in Halong Bay
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ha Long Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ha Long Bay Hotel

Property: Ha Long Bay Hotel
Address: Ha Long Rd, Halong Bay, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Halong Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ha Long Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ha Long Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ha Long Bay Halong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing