We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saigon Halong Hotel
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Halong Bay
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The first problem with this hotel is that there was no theme. It has a modern chandelier and leather couches around the columns and then someone stuck some giant porcelain vases by the elevator. The room they gave us was pretty smelly so they changed our room. We had the crappy mountain view but they were packed so we couldn't switch. Mr Canh, the trip advisor person there, arranged our Ha Long Bay tour for us. He said it would be 300,000 VND/person but the boat captain told us it would be 400,000VND/ person. We were pretty annoyed by that and that didn't include the taxi ride back from the boat dock. Later we wanted a car to Hai Phong and the hotel wanted to charge us 1,400,000VND. They lowered by 200,000 when we made a face. We got a ride back to Hai Phong for 653,000 VND from taxi, half the price the hotel quoted us. Get ready to get rip off in Ha Long. I understand, its a tourist area and everything is more expensive but they have a price for the international travelers and a price for the locals. We are American Vietnamese and if we spoke Vietnamese, they would give us one price but when we spoke English, they would add on a couple of 1000s just to be jerks. This is really not the hotel's fault, just a fair warning to travelers going to Ha Long. The only saving grace is the hotel had good food and large portions.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 281 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012

Huge rooms, beautiful view over the bay. Our last night in vietnam so went for the rooms with the view. well worth it. the junk tour ended just after lunch so we had plenty of time to sit and have drink and just gaze out over the bay. huge floor to ceiling glass windows. spacious rooms. hotel does get busy with tour groups so when checking out allow plenty of time to catch the lift and checking out. you may have to catch the lift up and then ride back down to the ground floor. it was very full when we were there and couldn't get the lift down as it was always full. plenty of variety at breakfast. dinner was fine also. not alot around halong at the moment but this will change with time. markets 10-15 mins walk down the road. also a handfull of restaurants and cafes but didn't go to any of these. pool was closed for renovation when we were there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozveildancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This is a very nice hotel, Did not interact with the staff so not sure how helpful they are but the rooms are large with Bay views. The beds are very hard. The breakfast is good but not great and the location is good, an easy walk to a number of great places to eat and to the night market for shopping.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We spent one night in an ocean view room at the Saigon Halong. The views were great in the afternoon and evening but by the next morning the visibility had reduced in mist. The hotel was clean and comfortable but the service whilst adequate was below that enjoyed elsewhere in Vietnam.

Room Tip: Definitely an ocean view room. The meal was only just average and the comprehension of staff was poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobL63_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This is one of the nicest rooms that I have stayed in due to the size and the view. Part of Gate 1 travel tour.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We had a nice stay here on our stop to Halong Bay. We were warned by our tour guide that the staff does not speak much English but the staff was really friendly and did their best. The breakfast was okay, but it's free and many options to find something fine to eat. We went into town for dinner, about 15 min walk, but heard the top floor restaurant was pricey. We got an ocean view room... Beautiful view of the bay!! We were given 2 double beds rather than one big bed, but we could live with it seeing as the room was very big and clean. I would recommend this place. Wifi free in rooms, signal goes in and out but overall did the job.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlenS400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed at the Saigon Halong Hotel with a tour group. It was comfortable enough and had a decent restaurant attached, but it was a little far from town, probably a 30 minute walk. Our room was quite warm and required a room card in the slot to activate the lights and air conditioning. Since we were only given one room card, I found I could keep the air on by putting my AARP card in the slot so the room would be cool when we returned. It was a good thing I did not use a credit card for this purpose because when I returned the card was missing and the room was again very warm. I had my guide contact housekeeping to find out what happened, and they adamantly denied any knowledge of how it disappered. All I know is that it was there when my wife and I left in the morning and was gone when we returned in the afternoon. Unless it grew legs and walked off by itself, someone from the hotel must have taken it, for what purpose I don't know. This experience made me quite uncomfortable, and although the hotel was otherwise nice I don't think I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
1.4 mi away
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
#7 of 71 in Halong Bay
297 reviews
3.9 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 10 in Tuan Chau Island
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Ha Long Bay
Novotel Ha Long Bay
#3 of 71 in Halong Bay
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Villas Halong
Royal Villas Halong
#27 of 71 in Halong Bay
30 reviews
1.5 mi away
Halong Plaza Hotel
Halong Plaza Hotel
#5 of 71 in Halong Bay
293 reviews
2.8 mi away
CityBay Palace Hotel
CityBay Palace Hotel
#15 of 71 in Halong Bay
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Halong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Halong Hotel

Address: 168 Halong Road | Bai chay Ward, Halong Bay 8433, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Halong Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Halong Bay
Price Range: $40 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saigon Halong Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saigon Halong Hotel is one of the biggest 4 star hotel in Halong Bay with 228 rooms. Hotel has 5 Villas out side the main building and 205 rooms in the main 15 story splendid building including 88 Superior rooms overlooking the mountains, 104 Deluxe rooms and 12 Executive Suites with balcony overlooking the Halong Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Saigon Halong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saigon Halong Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing