We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't complain”
Review of Halong Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Halong Plaza Hotel
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Halong Bay
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Rooms were functional and clean pretty much does what it says on the tin. This isn't going to be the most memorable hotel experience ever (from either good or bad memories). Got a reasonable rate through agoda. Breakfast was pretty good with lots of choice. Dinner buffet is ok if you like seafood. I'm a veggie though and the options were pretty poor. I disagree with the reviews saying the staff are rude. They were a little odd but at least they tried to be helpful and friendly. Would say that the hotel location is a little too far away from the centre which put us off going out at night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 283 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Little English is spoken by the hotel staff. They aren't overly helpful at reception and our room service food was so awful we had to ring them back to return it.

The other staff and managers are friendly though .
I don't recommend to stay in any hotels in halong. There is nothing much to do. Do the halong bay boat cruise and stay overnight there and then go back to hanoi .

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danniellemve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

It is a pretty standard hotel, good for a short stay, nothing outstandingly good or bad. We had only 1/2 day to spend there, and although we reached in the afternoon and requested for a boat ride, the receptionist could quickly arrange the ride. It was expensive, but we understand that it was not the hotel, but the boat company's cost. Yes, the staff was not very friendly, but they were helpful when asked. And I really liked the breakfast. I have seen reviews complaining about the breakfast, but I had one of the best chicken dishes I have ever tasted in this hotel, and I still talk to people about that taste.

Room Tip: Bay View rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saswatibiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalongPlaza, Public Relations Manager at Halong Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear saswatibiswas,

Thank you for spending your holiday at the Halong Plaza Hotel. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. Your comments will encourage our Food & Beverage team to serve better services to our guest and that is what we strive for.
Regarding your comment on the staff, we already shared your thoughts with the Front Office team and we hope that we can have other opportunities to show you our best service.

Thank you very much for your comments and we hope to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The standard rooms here retail at 150 usd unless booked through a site such as agoda. We were annoyed that the staff would not allow us to get the cheaper rate unless we booked through the website though as this meant that I needed to use my credit card instead of paying cash. No offer to take our 4 bags to the room for us, unfriendly staff again which seems to be par for the course in Vietnamese hotels. Breakfast had a good selection but of sub standard low quality and cold food.

My biggest complaint however is that I was solicited with a sales call in my room. I have had people in this country trying to exploit my good nature for their own financial gain multiple times a day since arriving in Vietnam. They even have the name "fatty chickens" for tourists that they can rip off for inflated prices. The bus from Halong to Hanoi is 3 usd per person. When they called me in my room they said that they would sort out the transport for 75 usd!!! (according to staff in another hotel this is a whole months wage for a vietnamese hotel staff member). This is 12.5 times the price for me and my girlfriend to do it on our own. Absolutely beyond comprehension.

I will never return to Vietnam. They see tourists as cows to be milked and have no shame in trying to blatantly rip you off. The shop on the corner of the hotel wanted to sell me a can of soda for 20,000 dong while I got it for 9,000 Further down the street. They try to rip you off at every turn. Beware.

Room Tip: Book online for good savings on rooms but check rooms beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acupuncturistuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalongPlaza, Public Relations Manager at Halong Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Acupuncturistuk,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are welcome all guests comments to make us better.

We are sorry to know about the taxi fee situation and we believe it was merely a misunderstanding. Response to your request for the airport taxi, our Front Office staff checked with the airport taxi company and called you to inform the price. The cost USD75 is their public price. Please understand that this was not a sales call.

Regarding your comments about our staff and the breakfast, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this must have caused you. Please rest assured that your comments have been delivered and shared among our team to enhance the customer value and quality of services.

Again thank you for your comments and we hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back at our hotel in the future.

Best regards,

The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We are disappointed with this hotel. Services from the staff is poor for i dnt think they can speak or understand english well. No body even greet us good morning and even when we check-out they didn't even say thank you. When we swam in the swimming pool there was nobody there to assist us to provide us a towel thats why we end up going back to our room wet and dripping all over.
Morning buffet is not good for they only have few choices and their congee are not even hot. Food is not that great at all even at their dinner buffet.
Not so happy at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalongPlaza, Public Relations Manager at Halong Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Delje,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us.
Regarding your comments about our staff and the food, we are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apology for your unpleasant experience and please be assured that immediate action will be taken to avoid future re-occurrence.
We appreciate your opinion and sharing your concerns, and it is our hope to welcome you back at our hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Hotel offered great food and helpful service during my short stay. Food was tasty, room and reception service wad helpful. Beautiful view from my room window. Buffet dinner and breakfast offers delicious food. Short way yo walk and see the Beach and market.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pssssk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We read in a guide book that this place is 'luxury'. The lobby is amazing so as we headed to the lifts after a 5 hour bus ride with vietnamese boy bands blaring out, I was dying to jump in the pool and enjoy the room.

Well, basically its really dated and not really luxury at all. Standard room. The pool was clean, but not amazing bit of an ugly patio area which could do with a bar so you can enjoy a beer on a hot afternoon.

I just felt a bit underwhelmed by this place as it was made out to be so amazing. The breakfast was a bit rubbish, yes there was a lot of food on offer, but it wasn't very tasty!

The staff were helpful but didn't seem to know much about helping us get to Cat Ba Island, we asked and they didn't really know- weird! So we Googled instead.

Overall this place could be better, great views, but needs a bit of a refurb to bring it up to date.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirstenHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
5.4 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 9 in Tuan Chau Island
502 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Ha Long Bay
Novotel Ha Long Bay
#3 of 69 in Halong Bay
868 reviews
2.8 mi away
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
#6 of 69 in Halong Bay
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Royal Villas Halong
Royal Villas Halong
#29 of 69 in Halong Bay
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
#5 of 69 in Halong Bay
146 reviews
1.5 mi away
Saigon Halong Hotel
Saigon Halong Hotel
#9 of 69 in Halong Bay
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halong Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halong Plaza Hotel

Address: 8 Halong Road | Bai Chay, Halong Bay 84-33, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Halong Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Halong Bay
Price Range: $56 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Halong Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halong Plaza is a luxury 4-star hotel ideally located beside the shore of the beautiful Ha Long Bay, Vietnam. It is preferred accommodation choice for domestic and foreign tourists visiting and discovering Ha Long Bay. In 2013, Halong Plaza Hotel was awarded the “Certificate of Excellence Of The Year” by TripAdvisor®, the world's largest travel site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Halong Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Halong Plaza
Halong Plaza Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing