We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Halong Bay
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
More beautiful than the photos I've seen.

We opted for the longer tour and were so glad we did as the scenery kept getting better and better... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
missflea2016
,
Orlando, Florida
Halong bay 1 day cruise from hanoi

Disorganised from the start but everything came together eventually. 2 people got left behind at... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
mrsbrodcb
,
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Read all 129 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Halong Bay
from $32.00
More Info
from $31.80
More Info
from $89.36
More Info
from $58.00
More Info
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
77
26
11
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
77
26
11
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews urban adventures tour guide seafood buffet small caves hour cruise tam coc beautiful landscape bamboo boat small group floating village two days great trip cooking class one night hanoi atp kayaking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 129 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

Halong bay is a must visit place while traveling to Vietnam.

TOUR PACKAGE
We took one full day cruise package from Hanoi for 49usd per person. This included hotel pickup and dropoff and a guide. You can find even more cheaper in different travel agencies in Hanoi.

Note: Better to book package from travel agency than online. It will cheaper.

Our tour started at 7.30am,along with a group in a/c travel bus (free Wi-Fi).Mid way stopped at a place where souvenir shops, restaurant and washroom are available. Reached halong bay at 12.noon

We were taken to the cruise along with our guide. Then we had the lunch, super variety of seafoods.
Note: drinks are available in cruise but do remember you will have to pay extra for each drinks..

As the cruise started moving you can see a lot of limestone pillars and tiny islets topped with forest..MUST SEE
Its like you entered a different world...

ACTIVITIES
We were taken to a cave ,inside there is a lot of hidden history..
Then we went to the island were kayaking and bamboo boating is done..we opt for kayaking. This was really amazing we done kayaking through cave..Must try it at once....
Then went to the Titop island and climbed up and the view of halong bay was breathtaking....
We returned back from halong bay at 6pm and reached hotel before 10pm.

GUIDE
Our guide Mr Quy is a nice person. He is really helpful,informative and very energetic. He took care of our group really well. And at last he sang a Vietnamese song for us. Thank you Quy for making our trip such wonderful..

Our tour was extremely exciting...really enjoyed the trip..
Highly recommended.....

Date of experience: December 2017
13  Thank Najeesaif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2017 via mobile

OMG finally i can see with my eyes how beautifull halong bay scenery !!! Its such a beautifull place, enjoy all the things at there. Full of story and mistic... how can i am not fall in love with it !!! Price worth for it !!!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Esther R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2017 via mobile

My friends and I used Genesis tour company , recommended by our hotel for our day tour to Halong Bay. The hotel said people typically spend the night but this particular tour brings you to several “must see places” crammed into one full day. The tour begins with pick up at the hotel between 7:30-8 am. You will be dropped back to the hotel between 8-9 pm. It was a very long day... but well worth it.

The bus ride is about 3 1/2 hours to the marina where you will take the boat that takes you to Halong Bay and other tourist spots. The bus makes several stops for bathroom breaks and also to a pearl farm where you will see how cultured pearls are made and there is a store that sells pearl jewelry as well.

By the time you get to the Marina and the boat , it is lunchtime. You are served a seafood lunch on the boat and they ask people for diet restrictions before hand. The lunch was not extra spectacular but edible. We expected a more traditional Vietnamese meal but It was more like a Chinese meal if nothing else .

The tour brings you to a beautiful spot where you climb a few flights of stairs which leads into one of the most amazing caves I have been to. It’s huge and they have made it into a tourist attraction by putting wonderful
Lighting which makes for wonderful photos. There is also a lot of opportunities to take amazing shots of the Bay from up above . Then of course one has to hike back down to get back on the boat .

Then they take you to a lagoon, you are given a choice between kayaking or riding a bamboo boat which is rowed by someone else. The lagoon is a spectacular sight as well.

After that they take you to a turtle sanctuary for a little bit before heading back to the marina . Then It was another 3 1/2 hour drive back to our hotel.

The bus is very comfortable, spacious and has WiFi on board .

We enjoyed the tour very much , and the tour guide was very thorough with descriptions and the history of the different sights. He was friendly and courteous as well. The boat we were on was particularly new , only five months old and at one point we had to wear life jackets . To our surprise, the life jackets were brand new as well. Sometimes , I have taken tours and the life jackets could be smelly and old but these ones were not like the usual ones used on tours . It was a nice change.

We would definitely recommend this tour to people who visit And Halong Bay is a must see when in Hanoi.

Date of experience: December 2017
11  Thank claudiah962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2017 via mobile

My husband, son and I recently booked a trip to Halong Bay from Hanoi with Charming Tours. We had a great day. It was long, as expected, but well worth making the effort. We chose the small group tour which included hotel pick-up and drop-off. The mini-bus accommodated approximately 16 to 18 people.

We drove for about 2 hours until we stopped at a retail unit which sells paintings, souvenirs, lacquer work, snacks etc. as well as toilet facilities. After about 20 minutes, we continued to Halong Bay, boarded the boat and had lunch. Lunch was quite nice and there was plenty.

Shortly afterwards, we docked and visited a cave network which was impressive. Following photo opportunities, we got back on the boat for a short while until we reached the area where people could either for a short trip on a flat boat or a kayak. On return, we got back on the boat and returned to the port building to return to Hanoi, stopping off for 15 minutes at another retail centre with facilities en route.

Our guide was Thiang (I hope I have the correct spelling) and he was great. He spoke good English and was easy to understand. He was very pleasant, informative, interesting and obliging. He was ready, willing and able to answer questions and was very professional. He took photos for everybody, gave us an insight into day to day life for the Vietnamese people and he even had anti-bacterial gel at hand for anybody who wanted it.

All in all, it was a tiring but enjoyable day and an opportunity to fit in a visit to Halong even if your time in Hanoi is limited. Thiang told us that his company also offer 2 day tours including overnight stays in Halong among other tour types.

Date of experience: December 2017
2  Thank 609katherinew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2017 via mobile

If you don't have enough time in vietnam and you wanna go to halong bay, a onw day trip is enough for you. I personally prefer bamboo boat than kayak-ing cause i can take picture and video.
Inside the cave, there are stories about those stones, following a tour might help you to understand more.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank chinbobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews