We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Terrific staff and food”

Review of Garden Bay Cruise

Garden Bay Cruise - Triple cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden Bay Cruise - Triple cabin
Garden Bay Cruise - Halong Bay - Overview Garden Bay Cruise - deluxe twin cabin with large window.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
77 reviews
Garden Bay Cruise - Triple cabin
Garden Bay Cruise - Halong Bay - Overview
Garden Bay Cruise - deluxe twin cabin with large window.
Garden Bay Cruise - Open Sundeck
Garden Bay Cruise - Private Balcony
Garden Bay Cruise - early morning taichi lesson
Garden Bay Cruise - Waiting Lounge at Hon Gai Pier
Garden Bay Cruise - Waiting lounge at Hon Gai Pier
Garden Bay Cruise - Fishing Village
Visit Surprise Cave ( Sung Sot Cave)
Visit cave with Rowing boat
Private bathroom with full- toiletry
Private bathroom with full- toiletry
Restaurant - dinning room with sea view
Garden Bay Cruise - Open sundeck with sea view
Garden Bay Cruise - Overview
Garden Bay Cruise - Morning Tai Chi Lesson on Sundeck
Garden Bay Cruise - Morning Tai Chi Lesson on Sundeck
Garden Bay Cruise - visit fishing village
Garden Bay Cruise - Including Kayaking
Garden Bay Cruise - Cooking Class
Garden Bay Cruise - Overview
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Coralie19...
Tumbi Umbi, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Terrific staff and food”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We were on a tour group staying 2 days 1 night. The junk Marguerite Garden was old but had been refurbished. The room was clean and the staff very friendly. The food excellent and drinks at a reasonable price. Our sight seeing tours from the junk were fantastic although we didn't see the monkey's but the cave was one of the best we have ever seen. The scenery cruising around the Bay was spectacular. Unfortunately they didn't have enough rooms for our tour guide so the Captain gave up his for her.
Unfortunately on our 2nd morning while enjoying cruising and sitting on the upper deck on one of the wooden deck chairs (that are different to the pictures in their ads), I was getting off it when the leg collapsed amputating my left thumb. I was immediately attended by the ships head man Mr T and taken by tender to Halong Bay where he had a Taxi waiting for us to be taken to the Hospital. Mr T stayed the whole time I was at the hospital until being transferred to Hanoi. They were wonderful through out my trauma. The deck chair is obviously badly designed and should have a secure pin in the leg to secure it, to prevent this happening again as it was a very unfortunate accident.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Staff and food
Liked least: Design of deck chairs
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbell86
saskatoon
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent! 3 days, 2 nights”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My sister and I chose this tour based on the reviews. It was completely out of our budget but decided to try it instead of wasting our money on another tour. It was completely worth it! Everything they said we would do, we did it.

They pick you up at your hotel and you take a mini, bus to Halong Bay. We were a little late arriving but were able to boared he bus directly instead of waiting in the waiting area. Our tour guide spoke really good english and updated us on Vietnam and Halong Bay.

The food was amazing! I normally do not like seafood and I couldn't get enough of it. Just a suggestion to people who have strict diets, it would be a good idea to tell them before hand (I.e. at the time of booking) and the foods you do not or cannot eat. They ask you on he way out there in the van but we had a vegan and it sort of through the crew off.

Our room looked like he picture. We had a twin bed and the bathrooms were clean. There was a fan, AC and a mini fridge. And it was quiet on board during the night.

Doing the 3 days, 2 nights has a different itinerary for he next day then he 2 days, 1 night. There was a bit of confusion with one client so it is best if you know what time your day starts. We went out all day on a boat with only 4 people. There were 3 times where you were given the option to kayak and swim, and usually you have between 40 mins to an hour. We visited a pearl farm but there was no pressure to buy anything.

The next day you had an optional excursion, learned how to make spring rolls, have lunch and then you take a bus back to Hanoi and they drop you off at your hotel.

Overall it was awesome and we are glad we payed the extra money for it. I would recommend it to everyone especially the 3 day, 2 night cruise so you fully enjoy Halong bay.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherJa...
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I would recommend this cruise!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Great value for money. Tasty food and so much of it. Our friend requested a "no seafood" menu and the staff did all they could to ensure he got enough food at every meal. Excellent tour away from the crowds on day 2. A 3 day 2 night tour is a must! Comfortable rooms and beautiful shower! We were 100% satisfied with our trip!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The helpful friendly staff
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adyh1964
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Halong Bay cruise on the Marguerite Garden”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this cruise at my hotel in Hue, it looked great from the pictures, however you just don't know if if the pictures are really true. These ones didn't lie. From the time I was picked up at my hotel in Hanoi until I was dropped off three days later everything went like clockwork. I would recommend the 3 day, 2 night cruise. Our Tour guide was Thang and he was terrific, spoke excellent english and a friend and I decided we would like to adopt him. His mother wouldn't give him up! He told lovely stories about his country and himself and made everyone comfortable. My room was very nice and the bathroom, though small, this is a boat, was very spa like. Lots of very, very hot water. The meals were delicious and beautifully presented, flowers made from vegatables and fruit and linen tablecloths and napkins, very high end. The staff were delightful and friendly and seemed to anticipate our needs before we did. Having been in the hosipitality industry for many years as the Director of Sales for a hotel chain, I was very impressed with the Marguerite Garden. Would I recommend this cruise, you betcha. This cruise was the highlight of my 3 month tour of South East Asia.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simmo1970
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“3 days 2 nights stay... Thank goodness!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Looked at loads of tours and was in the end recommended this tour by our hotel manager, pick up was v smooth, excellent in fact as we were sick with a bug so wanted to delay our pick up, this was no problem as the tour operator sent a cab... Great service. Transfer to the boat easy, not quite as swish as the brochure but I don't think any of them are! Food was excellent service was awesome.
The one piece of advice I would give travellers is to book the 3 day tour if time permits, on the 2 day it is just too far (4 hours) on a bumpy road each way for a day on the bay also the first day you are bussed around like a herd of sheep in and out of the tourist sights along with loads and loads of others. On our 3 day cruise you transfer to a day boat and have a very chilled out day kayaking to a ver pay very secluded bay, a beach trip, pearl farm and great BBQ.on board.

The only thing I would add is ask for a detailed itinerary of your trip before you pay, this will give you a good idea of the actual schedule.

All in all we thought this was good value and excellent service. Happy sailing in halong bay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Service and guides
Liked least: Litter in the bay... Not the marguerite's fault but it was quite bad.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Familytra...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A relaxing 2 nights on Halong Bay”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We enjoyed 3 days and 2 nights cruising with Marguerite, and would definitely recommend that you spend 2 nights as on the second day you are taken on a smaller day boat away from the crowds to small beaches and kayaking through limestone caves for the day. As this option is not very popular we were lucky to have just our family and one other person on the day tour. The service on board the marguerite was very attentive and friendly.It was our wedding anniversary and we received lovely flowers and complimentary wine. Halong Bay is beautiful although it was disappointing to see that there is not more done to pick up and remove rubbish. We also have to say a big thank you to the company for the very quick return of an IPod that our son left on the bus when returning to Hanoi within an hour of notifying them they had the iPod back at our hotel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakeupcal...
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable interior and no complaints”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Guide Thang speaks good English and can respond well to our questions. Interior is clean. Local food is served - good food, but some Westerners may not be comfortable eating them.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing