We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible view, food and service”
Review of Ha Long DC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ha Long DC Hotel
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Halong Bay
devonport
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredible view, food and service”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is on the north side of the bridge. Close to the Halong markets.
The view is worth every Dong.
The bar has great food and top service
The breakfast is really nice and the staff go out of there way to see you are happy

My only problem was the bar smelt of smoke and the air con did not remove it so it hung in the air.
The reception staff not up to speed on the cruises or buses that are available. The boat we were on the fans did not work so really hot and humid.

Although on the north side of the bridge, it is quiet,easy to access with the cheap and plentiful taxis

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    53
    18
    2
    5
See reviews for
19
38
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Spacious room with an excellent bar offering amazing view over Halong Bay. Halong sea food market is an interesting to visit, just a few minute walk away.

If you have already made a visit to the welknown Halong Bay, ask at the counter for very attractive program to Quan Lan island, experience on of the best hidden beach places in Halong

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was just a 2 day stopover after having been on a Halong Bay cruise for 3 days. We were given a superior room on the 16th floor overlooking the bay. The room was large and extremely well appointed. The bathroom was big and very clean and the view from in here was spectacular as was the view from everyehere we looked . Breakfast was included and the selection and quality of the food was good. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and the food was pretty good though not briliant but certainly nothing to complain about. Cost us $20.00.
The hotel is a very short walk to the market where the stall holders are nowhere near as high pressure and aggressive as in Hanoi.
The staff was professional and we could see they were keen to hone their skills. The hotel boasts an indoor pool and gym area but we did not try either as we were both unwell with respiratory infections thanks to the polluted air in Hanoi. This is a new hotel and can only get better with experience.

Room Tip: Noise is not really a factor as there is not the hustle and bustle here of Hanoi or HCMC. Try to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louis x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here after our cruise around Halong Bay.
A very comfortable, clean hotel with massive windows with exellent views across Halong Bay. A bit out of the way being over the bridge about 15 mins from the main part of Halong City and as such seems to be trying to cater for a wide range of clients rather than being like the ones in the city catering mainly for tourists, but worth the stay if you are just overnighting and not too bothered about looking around Halong City. If you do go out for a wander to find a bar, cafe or Restaurant brush up on your Vietnamese as we found that due to it being in the locals area very few people spoke English.
There is a nice relaxed bar on the top floor.
We met the new Executive Chef on his first day at the hotel, it appears he has been hired to take the food quality up a couple of notches, and to realise the potential of this hotel it does need it. I think with Chef Subashi at the helm they will achieve this, and hopefully kiss goodbye to the use of instant noodles in the restaurant main dishes! The restaurant itself looks like it is permanantly set up for weddings having tacky bows on the back of all the chairs and the waiting staff were in the process of being trained and were a tad too attentive, we had 3 of them hanging around the table watching our every move at one point! but this was probably nerves with Chef watching how they were coping. Apart from the instant noodles the evening meal we had was very good. But still a few things need tweaking a bit to make this restaurant work.
Reception organised a car and driver for our return to Hanoi and although a slight bit more expensive than average it was worth it when a late model Mercedes turned up and whisked us away in quiet comfort and got us to Hanoi 40 mins quicker than our journey down there!
We would happily stay there again if we revisit Halong bay.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor room with a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank obiwanwasabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here before my Halong Bay tour and it was a really great hotel. The breakfast was tasty the rooms comfy, the service good and the views over Halong bay were phenomenal. I loved Vietnam - can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sazzles36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
6.2 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tuan Chau Island
453 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ha Long Park Hotel
Ha Long Park Hotel
#14 of 64 in Halong Bay
12 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityBay Palace Hotel
CityBay Palace Hotel
#13 of 64 in Halong Bay
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
#6 of 64 in Halong Bay
260 reviews
1.3 mi away
Halong Plaza Hotel
Halong Plaza Hotel
#4 of 64 in Halong Bay
267 reviews
2.5 mi away
Saigon Halong Hotel
Saigon Halong Hotel
#9 of 64 in Halong Bay
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ha Long DC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ha Long DC Hotel

Property: Ha Long DC Hotel
Address: No 08 ,Road 25/4, Hong Gai, Halong Bay, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Halong Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Ha Long DC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing