We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night Trip on Alova Gold Cruises.”
Review of Alova Cruises

Alova Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
$203.00*
and up
2-Day Halong Bay Cruise with Sung Sot Cave from...
Ranked #42 of 140 Tours in Halong Bay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Halong bay 1 day trip with Alova Cruises. If you want to have a glint of breathtaking Halong Bay our daily full day tour would be the best choice. This join in tour offers you the overview of Halong Bay with at least 3,5+ hours cruising on Halong Bay
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The whole Trip on board the ship was so peaceful ,the noise of the engine sound surprisingly,was so quite.We really enjoy at night the ship.Outside we practice QIGong Meditation.with the tranquility of the surrounding good energy field,on water

1  Thank lim t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, Manager at Alova Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Lim T,
Many travelers agree with you that Halong night is so peaceful that they can completely relax. We also turn off the engine so that all guests can enjoy amazing atmosphere of the bay. Whenever you want to have a break, let's come to our Vietnam and let our beauty and warmth blow away all your tiring. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,051)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"alova gold"
in 35 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 165 reviews
"day trip"
in 108 reviews
"asia travel"
in 19 reviews
"bamboo boat"
in 20 reviews
"sense of humour"
in 17 reviews
"great trip"
in 27 reviews
"nice tour"
in 7 reviews
"old quarter"
in 13 reviews
"halong bay tour"
in 13 reviews
"enjoyable trip"
in 7 reviews
"top deck"
in 17 reviews
"cave visit"
in 9 reviews
"beautiful bay"
in 7 reviews
"food was amazing"
in 12 reviews
"small boat"
in 9 reviews
"fishing village"
in 7 reviews
Filter

839 - 843 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

We did a day trip with Go Asia Travel/ Alova Gold Cruises. Our guide was Cao Kin Kien. Kien made the day. The trip was long but you had to travel to see the great places we visited. Kien provided a wonderful introduction and great information throughout the day. He was full of enthusiasm from the start to the very end, even serenading us with a couple of songs, with a beautiful voice, before departing the bus. This day trip was organised by The Hanoi Elite, once again providing excellent advice and booking with a reliable organisation. We had a wonderful day and recommend this company to anyone travelling to Hanoi.

Thank SteveDW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, Manager at Alova Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear SteveDW2013,
Though the distance between Halong bay and Hanoi is quite long, there're so many beautiful sight on the way to enjoy with interesting stories from tour guide. The greatest thing is that you can see how amazing the bay is at the end. I'm really happy that Mr. Kien - your tour guide did a good job to show you and made you feel it worth, especially that he sang some song for everybody on the tour as a nice goodbye. Thank you so much for your trust and recommendation, we - Go Asia Travel will do our best to keep our service high.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were a family of five, we were traveling with my two year old son, and my 80 year old parents. The guide who picked us up, Sonny , was friendly and enthusiastic and put in the right upbeat mood for all of us right at the beginning of our journey. It was a 3.5 hour drive from Hanoi to Halong Bay, after which we boarded the boat to get on our ship to start our cruise. The meals that were served to us were excellent, and they were able to whip up something quickly for my hungry kid.The activities were well planned and a lot of fun and our guide was able to help us out in most of the activities.
But we had a serious issue about the cabins /rooms that were allocated to us. The AC was switched off in the afternoon, at 2 pm, so there was no way anyone could rest in their room in the afternoon after the long drive. But we what we found absolutely unacceptable was that our room AC started leaking in the night. So we had a wet mattress, that the staff worked hard to turn around, and put in a new sheet , but this happened two times in the night. We found a big cockroach in the other room which was absolutely terrible. The cabins were really tiny, with absolutely no space to even put a bag on a side table .
So yes the cruise was wonderful, the food was great, the service really good, but the rooms were really small and badly maintained.

1  Thank Jaya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, Manager at Alova Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Jaya M,
We really appreciate your detailed and frank comments on the trip with our Alova Gold Cruise, and we are sincerely sorry for the inconvenience of the AC in your cabin. After taking report from tour guide, we kept the cabin to maintain and it was solved. Thank you so much. Besides, I'm glad that you had great time enjoying excellent food, well-planned itinerary with "friendly and enthusiastic" tour guide - Mr. Sunny. Our team is trying hard everyday to make our service better and better. Hopefully next time you come back, we will astound you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have been to Ha Long bay before and was not impressed with the trip or the cruise but this time around with Alova cruise I had a great time. Our tour guide Kevin was very entertaining and talkative which was great for the long drive up and back from Ha Long.

The food was yum and more than enough for everyone! As this was the second cruise boat I have been on and not many people would do this trip twice as it is a long day I would highly recommend Alova. The price for the tour was cheap considering the time and effort it was to take a group of 12 people around.

Great day and my husband loved it! :)

Great work by Kevin our tour guide.

1  Thank SusieDinhClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, Manager at Alova Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear SusieDinhClark,
I would like to share with you that not many people go to Halong bay twice to join 1 day tour but a lot of travelers come back this place again and again to experience a night on the cruise. The night here is so peaceful and fresh that keep people away from busy life so that they can completely relax. If you have more time, let's try it. However, it's still great that you had satisfying day with "entertaining and talkative" Kevin on our Alova cruise. Thank you so much for your recommendation, we will do our best to keep our services high.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Due to time restraints we could only book a one day trip with Alova. The pick up at the hotel in the morning was a little late but no problem. The drive to Halong City was comfortable with a stop halfway. The boat itself was comfortable and the guides knowledgeable. The lunch was average but I've yet to experience a tour with a high quality lunch so again no problem. We got to travel to a few caves on boat with a guide as opposed to the kayak which was fun. We visited our final cave which involved some moderate climbing which wasn't a problem for most people on the trip. The climb up the 100 or so steps was well worth it as you are greeted with a breathtaking cave with beautiful lighting. The journey back to Hanoi was again broken up by a well timed stop. Overall I'd say this was good value for the $45 we paid.

1  Thank mrbmufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, Manager at Alova Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear mrbmufc,
It's our pleasure that you found your day trip with us in Halong bay good value for money. You had good times visiting Thien Cung cave, kayaking around with the lead of our knowledgeable tour guide. We also highly appreciate your comment on food and will do our best to level up our service and get your 5 points. Indeed, if you have more time in the future, let's come back to Halong bay and experience at least 1 night to see how amazing the bay is in the night. Believe, it's worth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alova Cruises also viewed

Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
 
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
 

Been to Alova Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing