We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pristine!”
Review of Bai Tu Long Bay

Bai Tu Long Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$138.00*
and up
Lan Ha Bay and Viet Hai Village Trekking and Kayaking Day Trip from Cat Ba...
Ranked #3 of 53 things to do in Halong Bay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Bai Tu Long Bay is the name of an area located in the east of Halong Bay Vietnam. Although it shares many similar geological characters with Halong Bay, Bai Tu Long Bay is considered as off the beaten tourist track with many deserted and pristine beaches, no less impressive karst mountains. The Bay has a rich biodiversity with two ecosystems: a tropical, moist, evergreen rainforest ecosystem; and a marine and coastal ecosystem. The area has scarcely seen any tourist development. A large number of guests, through online research, wish to visit the Bai Tu Long Bay because it is much less crowded than Halong Bay. The only disadvantage is that it does not have many grottos. The nearest place for a visit (Vung Vieng Fishing village) is at around 20 km from tourist port.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Pristine!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Less boats in this area means more peace & quiet to enjoy the special scenery. We went kayaking here for 1.5 hrs and it was truly peaceful & blissful! The water was so warm and clean. Highly recommended

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    75
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“magical Indochina Pearl”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We went on the Indochina Pearl 2 for three days and two nights and this was the highlight of our five week stay in Vietnam. Beyond the amazing scenery, we were treated royally. We started our trip with them asking about food preferences. I am not a big fish fan so at every meal they arranged special dishes for me. The rooms were spotless and well appointed, the itinerary excellent from the swimming and the kayaking to the fishing village and the private beach. The grand finale was the amazing cave dinner. We are kicking ourselves that we didn't bring our camera for that because it was just beautiful. This company surpassed our expectations in every way.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
796 reviews
622 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
“Beautiful area”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is a beautiful area of Vietnam. Bai Tu Long Bay is less touristy then Halong Bay and you won't see as many boats here. While sailing most of the time we were the only boat we could spot. During the night all the boats go to the parking bay and there were about 6 during the night and similar number during the second night.
Bai Tu Long Bay is not as polluted as Halong Bay but unfortunately you will still see rubbish floating in the water. We were told it came from China but I can't believe that. People in the fishing village are encouraged to pick up the rubbish and fish rubbish out of the water now. I really hope in the next few years everyone stops throwing rubbish in and the Bay will become pristine, the way it should be.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Janulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Surreal”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our trip to Bai Tu Long Bay was almost otherwordly. The karst towers rising out of the emerald water along with the quiet of the atmosphere, will give this site a unique and special place in our memories. There were also fewer boats in this Bay than in Halong, a consideration if you'd like to enjoy the beauty in some solitude.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We did a one day stay on the victory star cruiser, plus a one night stay on an island hotel, booked online through a tour website.

The victory star had great service and excellent food. Although I notice the management staff were sticklers for detail and disciplined staff if anything was out of place.

Bai tu long bay had one of the nicest sunsets I have ever seen. If you get the chance to go kayaking - do it - you can get up close and enjoy the limestone cliffs.

I agree there was a lot of garbage to be found, I wouldn't swim on the beach because of what I saw washing up on shore coming from the neighbouring city. But this problem is widespread in Asia and many parts of the world where people exploit their natural surroundings to their own benefit or convenience. Very unfortunate.

Helpful?
1 Thank Fitzfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bai Tu Long Bay also viewed

Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
 
Tuan Chau Island, Halong Bay
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
 

Been to Bai Tu Long Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing