We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JOHN IN GEELONG”
Review of Indochina Junk

Indochina Junk
Book In Advance
More Info
$272.00*
and up
Dragon Legend Overnight Halong Bay Cruise with Hanoi Pickup
Ranked #5 of 147 Tours in Halong Bay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Indochina Junk cruises to Bai Tu Long Bay, a beautiful and less visited part of Halong Bay for "off the beaten track" itinerary with many unique experiences. Our fleet includes Princess Junk, Prince Junk, Red Dragon Junk, Dragon's Pearl Junk and Dragon Legend cruise. Flexible itinerary, friendly staffs and delicious local food will definitely bring you an amazing trip in Ha Long Bay.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Geelong
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“JOHN IN GEELONG”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Everthing on the PearlDragon 1 was of the best quality. The crew and interpreter were veryprofessional and friendly.Nothing was too much trouble, The atmosphere was relaxed.My wife was taken ill at 3am, 44 kilometers at sea.they arranged a doctor and evacuated and transferred us to Halong hospital. The company made sure that one of their staff was with us the whole time at no extra cost.We felt very safe with this company. I would highly recommend you use this company. Many thanks to the Company and crew.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank johnofGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,981
    401
    76
    30
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Indochina Junk - Probably the best option to cruise in Halong Bay”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

When looking for a cruise to Halong Bay we came across dozens of tours and operators. We choose Indochina Junk because it was recommended by a friend of ours and I believe it is one of the best options of all.
Is more expensive than most of other operators but the junk is excellent, the room is huge, the food awesome (the best soup I ever eaten in my life was there), the crew very friendly (specially our tour guide - thanks Tom!) and the all cruise run smoothly according with the schedule.
Some details makes this company different from most other operators like the quality of the food, kayaking services included, the Water puppet show on the road to Hanoi.
I definitely recommend this company.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulo Jorge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Luxury? - Vietnam Style”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

As mentioned by plenty of other reviews - the mini bus trip to and from Hanoi is horrific. I really felt unsafe at times which I don't have a major problem with - but was concerned mainly for the safety of my 2 young children. The stop at the "handicrafts" and water puppets there and back respectively is such a waste of time and is unnecessary (other than so drivers can have a breather/lunch). The holding pen at the harbour seems a bit disorganised and chaotic - but this is Vietnam after all - so first impressions were not fantastic. The boat itself is really quite nice - we went on the Dragon Pearl 1. Really REALLY hard bed though!
The food was a little over the top for me - course after course of different morsels cooked in different ways - which we were not used to after eating pretty simply in the rest of Vietnam. I guess it was to make us feel like we got our US$900 worth. The seafood seemed fresh enough and we didn't get ill - even though I've had plenty of bad experiences with SE Asian seafood before and was a bit hesitant to eat so many prawns, crab etc.. The manager and chef were great and very accommodating for our kids - and cooked them separate meals that were more simple and palatable for them (fires and vegetables, plain rice etc.)
The guide was entertaining and informative - and the scenery was good.

Everyone commented on the volume of plastic, Styrofoam and rubbish in the bay however - which for me really ruined the scenery a bit considering it is a UNESCO world heritage area. On the first day kayaking - there was a massive amount of rubbish in the water - a paint tin, nappies (diapers) loads of plastic etc. which seemed to increase in volume as you got closer the fishing village. Also - at times you are cruising quite close to heavy industry, large container vessels and ships etc. and busy and ports - so don't expect this to feel like an isolated wilderness tour (unless you use your imagination).
Overall it was OK - but a little too structured for me, not enough time on the boat relaxing, and totally spoiled by the environmental pollution.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank travel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oltntc, Manager at Indochina Junk, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you very much for your spending time to share your opinion on our forum! Indochina Junk highly appreciates it.

Please allow us to extend our sincere apology if we were unable to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us.

We regret to learn that you're not satisfied to wait at our sitting lounge upon checked in while our operator were dealing with the passengers who returned from overnight boats, especially in the peak period, we are very sorry for could not effort to make you feel comfortable among rush of travellers.
Besides, with reference to the environmental rating comment, kindly understand that the authority just decided themselves to relocate 2 floating villages together into one, so there coming along double the load of rubbish, but we believe that the authority has their own reason and solutions, Indochina Junk is always ready to share the responsibility and try our best to figure out how we can improve this situation with For A Green Halong Bay program.

Last but not least, it's concerned of shuttle bus transfer; again, despite the fact our country’s transportation system is still unpredictable, sometime crazy you know, we will strictly adjust our driver’s performance, the safe is the foremost we promise.

Thank you once again for your valued comment and we are trying the best to complete for all guest expectation.

Warm Regards,
Indochina Junk Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing unique experience!!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We recently had the pleasurable experience of sailing on Dragon Pearl III. From the initial enquiry to book on the junk boat & to the end of our trip it was all 'smooth sailing'. We were picked up from our hotel in Hanoi & driven to Halong Bay which took approximately 4 hrs. The drive seemed endless but this was distracted by the scenery most of the time. We were met by our tour guide Phuc. Phuc spoke with very fluent English & was very animated & entertaining. She certainly was very educated & knowledgeable on Halong Bay. Both Phuc & her crew certainly made you feel welcome aboard the junk. The Dragon Pearl was very comfortable & had spacious cabins. The food was beautifully presented & tasteful. We kayaked on Halong Bay exploring around the magnificent limestone rocks. We visited a fishing village in Halong Bay & finished up viewing a water puppet show enroute back to Hanoi. All in all I would highly recommend Indochina Junk & sail on Dragon Pearl III based on our experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeawindSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Brillant service and relaxing cruise”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I like the nice cozy size of the boat, the great service and attitude of the staff as well the relaxing pace of the itinerary. I have booked this tour through Brilliant Halong Cruises and would greatly recommend the boat as well as the cruise coordinator!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Addict4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indochina Junk also viewed

Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
Tuan Chau Island, Halong Bay
 
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
 

Been to Indochina Junk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing