We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely trip on a luxury boat.”

Asia Tour Advisor - Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: According to the travel & tourism industry review, HalongLuxuryTravel is #1 ranked tour operator in Halong Bay handles more than 100 booking requests per day & creates an experience 99% of customers love.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Booked the overnight curse with Halong Luxury Travel, they were excellent. The cruise was wonderful, from the hotel pickup, the transit boat, the Pelican, the rooms, food and the service.

Could only suggest perhaps a more interesting tour on the first day as the bamboo boat tour of the "caves" wasn't really to some caves, but just through a tunnel.

The water in Halong Bay was also disappointingly littered with rubbish and the water would certainly not be clean enough to swim in. Nevertheless, the trip was lovely and the Pelican Cruise was a true luxury.

1  Thank SamOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halongluxurytravel, Manager at Asia Tour Advisor - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear SamOng,

I am so pleased that your enjoyed your time on board the Pelican. We hand pick the boat companies that we use and only ever use the most professional. We are putting pressure on the authorities to ensure that the bay is kept clean. We cannot control the tiny boat vendors who do dump stuff in the water. All our crews take all litter back to port, where it is disposed of thoughtfully. I hope we maybe get the chance to arrange further tours in the future. Thank you for writing.

Best wishes.,
Ms. Chianh Giang
Halong Luxury Travel - Your halong tour operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 106 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

Hey guys, the pelican crew does a great job, their boats are new and clean and the staff is attentave, the food is pretty good. The caves are beautiful but heavily graffitied. I was afraid to kayak here because the water was a little brown, and was full of cigerrete butts and you could not see the botton, the ride out of Han io can be interesting. If you do go stay the night, if not no biggie. Conservation needs to be adressed here as well as preservation, it is afterall a unesco world heritage sight. Im sure there could be an allocation of tourist dollars to help clean this place up a bit. Most of the dirty stiff comes from Halong city where construction is at an all time high,

2  Thank DunnMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halongluxurytravel, Manager at Asia Tour Advisor - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear DunnMT,

Yes, The Pelican is a superb cruise boat with excellent staff. I am delighted that you enjoyed it enough to write. Some of the water colour is not a health issue, the waters that wash do from the Red River and the Thai Binh River are the cause of a lot of the discolouration. A lot of the construction work has now stopped. The litter though is a problem. Our crews never throw litter and return all rubbish to port upon their return. Some of the small boat sellers and of course some holiday makers do cause an issue. We are constantly working hard with the authorities here to improve the situation. I am though glad that you enjoyed you time on the boat.


Best wishes.,
Ms. Chianh Giang
Halong Luxury Travel - Your Halong tour operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Halong Ginger was a good choice for me by my Agent - the boat wasn't too large and had traditional varnished internal dark woodwork everywhere rather than modern white wipe down materials.
It was visually well maintained in direct contrast to some of the other vessels seen. The cabin was a reasonable size, with a panoramic outside window. Bathroom was larger than expected - much better than a modern cruise liner cubicle. The public areas were attractive, both internal and external. Meals were to a good standard and the staff were friendly, professional and efficient. The one night cruise gave a good insight into the bays visual delights and the shore excursion to the view point gave a very good panoramic view of the bay.

Highly recommended

1  Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Asia Tour Advisor is a great tour company that will work with you to customize your visit in Indochina. It was almost a year in the planning and they were patient and willing to work within my budget. They gave me many options and suggestions to make the most of our two-week visit to Vietnam.

We elected to have a guide and driver in each city we visited and this worked out PERFECT. Starting off in Hanoi for a couple of days, we drove to Halong Bay and spent the night in a hotel before starting off the next morning with a private cruise among the limestone pinnacles.

What was delightful about this excursion was that we had the boat to ourselves (just the two of us and our guide and the boat crew). The scenery is not to be missed and our boat had rattan lounge chairs instead of uncomfortable chairs on the forward deck. We felt pampered.

Lunch was included and we had been a bit leery about the quality of the food we'd receive, but it was over-the-top great! First, they fixed french fries that had us laughing, but quickly came the steamed shrimp, fried beef spring rolls, then the steamed clams, fried calamari, stir-fried greens, and a lovely fish. A big bowl of rice accompanied this bounty. It was all very fresh and flavorful. Condiments provided include a sweet/sour fish sauce and a very hot sauce which was lovely it you like spice.

They did offer wine (for purchase) and we selected a white wine. This wine was $35usd and would have been half that in the States. But, it was nice to splurge and we had no trouble finishing off the bottle between the two of us.

On board we had the Captain, deck hand, cook and our guide. It was educational, enjoyable, and just the right amount of time. We drove back to Hanoi in the late afternoon.

All the guides/drivers provided by Asia Tour Advisor were good. Drivers navigated the hectic traffic with ease and our guides spoke/understood English.

Our representative from Asia Tour Advisors was in touch with us throughout the two-week trip (you can be in contact with them, or not -- your choice) and the value we received by going through them was superb. I'd recommend them for any of the countries they provide tours.

I probably shouldn't recommend a particular representative, but I luckily got Ms. Xuan as my trip coordinator. She was outstanding and I'm sure that all of the employees of Asia Tour Advisors are as great as Ms. Xuan.

1  Thank PALTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halongluxurytravel, Manager at Asia Tour Advisor - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear PAL Travel,

I am delighted that you had such a good time on your tour with us, earlier this year. Our parent company Asia Tour Advisor work hard with everyone at Halong Luxury Travel to make sure that you have a good time. Your were so lucky to have the boat to yourselves, that must have been very special. We choose the boat companies carefully and insist that even if they only have one or two bookings they still sail. I will pass on your comments to Ms. Xuan personally. Thank you for taking time to comment.

Best wishes.,
Ms. Chianh Giang
Halong Luxury Travel - Your Halong Tour Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here in November. I cannot express how great the staff was! They were everywhere, always ready to help! It was unbelievable....so kind and gracious...
The boat was beautiful, the rooms super tiny, which as expected. I had a massage which was unbelievable. Strongly suggest getting one! Vietnamese massages are the best. Food was plentiful and delicious. Amazing! Thanks for the brilliant experience. One day night s perfect and more than enough

1  Thank Tbirdy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halongluxurytravel, Manager at Asia Tour Advisor - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Tbirdy18,

Thank you for writing about your experiences whilst on tour with us here in Halong Bay. Halong Luxury Travel chooses all our staff and partner companies very carefully and it is always rewarding to get such positive feed back. The cruise boats really are special, we put a lot of time into making sure that our customers always get the best boats. Once again, thanks for being so kind as to write about our company. I hope we can be of service again in the future.

Best wishes,
Ms. Chianh Giang

Halong Luxury Travel - Your Halong Tour Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asia Tour Advisor - Day Tours also viewed

Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
 
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
 

Been to Asia Tour Advisor - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing