We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Halong Bay
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were stuck in Halong Bay as the cruise we were booked on was cancelled due to inclement weather. So based on the reviews on tripadvisor we chose this hotel over the others. It is a fairly new property, so everything is in great shape. The rooms are nice and quite large, we got upgraded to a suite facing the bay. The manager Mr. Jackson was very helpful and took the trouble of showing us 2-3 rooms to choose the one we like. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful, though they did not speak english very well, they went the extra mile to help us with what we wanted etc. The meals we ate in the hotel were also very nice as was the breakfast spread. We ended up spending 2 nights in the hotel and we had a fabulous time. The roof top bar though small has great 180 degree views of Halong Bay. Over all for the price you pay this is an absolute steal and I would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask Jackson the manager for a room facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zeepad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 308 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a fairly new hotel. Rooms are good - shower configuration is a bit weird and water leaks on to floor. Happy hour in rooftop bar is a must for the breathtaking view. The restaurant serves good food but the staff have very poor English. Perhaps they could have some English lessons in the basics. Trying to order a drink other than beer or wine was an experience. The staff are friendly in that they smile at you all,the time.

I would recommend this hotel if you are going to Halong Bay. We were with a tour group and only stayed one night before doing a boat trip on the Bay. Our tour leader did advise to eat in the Hotel as she wasn't confident recommending anywhere in town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AussieTurnbulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. First night the bed smelled really bad and made a complaind about it, they tried to fix it but it didn't help so the offerd another room so good service(the second bed was fine)
The room on the 15th floor had great views and looked nice and clean.
Swimming pool was inside (to bad) but oke, the roof of the pool could open but they wouldn't because there was a possibility that it could storm the next day...? Opening and closing of the roof... 5 minutes maybe? After the "storm" they couldn't open it because of maintenaince... Strange
Price was a bit high if i compair it with other big hotels i've been in in vietnam. Breakfast was not included and the food and drinks are quite expensive but that was to be expected, only thing i was dissapointed in was the 15% you have the pay on everything. So if a beer is 40k you have to pay an extra 15% over that! This was a first for me in vietnam.
But the hotel was nice, the staff very helpfull and had a good time

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacobs36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed here whilst on a tour of Vietnam, we stayed here for one night, and I found the hotel staff to be friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean, and the food in the restaurants very tasty. Breakfast was busy as there were several tour groups staying but the staffed coped very well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed Royal Lotus hotel for 2 nights and it was just average. The location was just middle of nowhere and I asked concierge where I can find a convenient store and he called me a taxi and took me somewhere very dodgy. Front desk staff were very nice and professional but needs to improve their English. Spa was just ok nothing to say special but need more friendly staff at reception. I think it was English problem but with smile would be better. I wanted to take a nap but I couldn`t due to noise of construction in front of hotel but there was a notice letter about it so did not complain. However, if someone informed me in advance before I booked, I would be more understood. My floor was a non-smoking floor but it was full of smoking due to some group travelers from China or Korea and it was the worst part of stay. So, it was just ok in terms of facility but not a service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToPgM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Lotus GM H, General Manager at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Lotus Hotel Ha Long!

Thank you for choosing “Royal Lotus” as your preferred destination while you were in Ha Long Bay and for your feedback which you have posted in Trip advisor.

We are grateful for your kind comments on the product, services and staff. Our endeavour is to be continuously engaged as a professional yet friendly team for our invaluable guests.

We are certain; your feedback shall facilitate us in consolidating upon our strengths and improve further on our standards. Thus enabling our valuable guests to experience better services in the Hotel.

Regards,

Roberto A. Pérez
Interim General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed overnight because we were doing a 2 night tour on Halong Bay and they were expecting thunderstorms in the evening so this is the hotel we were dumped at for safety reasons.

The room was clean and a good size. The dinner was ok, not great. Breakfast was good. Gym wasn't open early enough so I rain up and down the front steps.

Location felt like being stuck in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonlou73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Lotus GM H, General Manager at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in providing us feedback about your stay.

We are grateful for your kind comments on the product and services. Our endeavour is to be continuously engaged as a professional yet friendly team for our invaluable guests.

Please feel free to contact me whenever you are in Ha Long Bay, I would be delighted to assist you personally.

Regards,

Roberto A. Pérez
Interim General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Quiet hotel, easy to find and situated in a newly developed location but not too far. We traveled with a car so we had no problem getting around. Anyway good restaurants like Ngoc Suong and a lot of Sieu Thi Oc in Cai Dam are within walking distance. We like the interior decoration which gives us a cozy feeling.

Pros:

- Spacious room, very large bed (2.4m or so); large toilet and bathroom.
- Good air-con
- Has a gym
- Has a swimming pool
- Quiet
- Breakfasts are abundant
- Nice and helpful staff

Cons:

- The refrigerator in my room did not work at all
- Indoor swimming pool is helpful in bad weather conditions but under other circumstances it does not smell very well so I did not come back to the pool for the 2nd time.

The above 2 cons can be negligible and I would still give them 5 stars if the following occurrence did not take place. On the 2nd day of our stay, there was a large number of guests on a tour came to stay in the hotel, and it became very noisy. During their stay it took 10-15 minutes to wait for the lift and there was no hotel staff there to guide and help. So 1) even though the hotel staff is nice, they are not up to 5-star standard, and 2) If the hotel is good for package tours, they are not aiming at maintaining highest service quality they could offer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vingrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Lotus GM H, General Manager at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Lotus Hotel Ha Long!

At the outset allow me to thank you for your stay and feedback.

We are grateful for your kind comments on the product and services. Our endeavour is to be continuously engaged as a professional yet friendly team for our invaluable guests.

We are certain; your feedback shall facilitate us in consolidating upon our strengths and improve further on our standards. Thus enabling our valuable guests to experience better services in the Hotel.

Please feel free to contact me whenever you are in Ha Long Bay , I would be delighted to assist you personally.


Regards,

Roberto A. Pérez
Interim General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
3.1 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 10 in Tuan Chau Island
522 reviews
1.6 mi away
Novotel Ha Long Bay
Novotel Ha Long Bay
#3 of 71 in Halong Bay
894 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Villas Halong
Royal Villas Halong
#21 of 71 in Halong Bay
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
#5 of 71 in Halong Bay
170 reviews
2.8 mi away
Halong Plaza Hotel
Halong Plaza Hotel
#6 of 71 in Halong Bay
299 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tuan Chau Holiday Villa Halong Bay
Tuan Chau Holiday Villa Halong B...
#5 of 10 in Tuan Chau Island
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lotus Hotel Halong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lotus Hotel Halong

Address: A 13, Block 1, East of Hung Thang 2 | Bai Chay Ward, Halong Bay 80175, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Halong Bay
Price Range: $46 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Lotus Hotel Halong 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong offers a touch of Vietnamese hospitality where the cozy of Halong meets the sunrise with the panoramic bay vista and calming sea breeze makes your holiday experience a glorious one. 147 Rooms with international standard of room amenities and facilities. Experience yourself with local and international cuisine at Lotus Wine Dine or Japanese one at Hana Hana Japanese Restaurant. Relax at swimming pool to enjoy the view of Halong Bay or visit Bai Bua Thai Spa for beauty and health treatment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Lotus Hotel Halong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing