We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop bar makes up for the distance from town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Halong Bay
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

On our Gate 1 tour this hotel was a pleasant change because it was away from the thick of things, meaning no motorycle noise or traffic. Our room had a great view, was clean, quiet and had lovely decor. The elevators are slow, but we spent most of our time up at the rooftop bar enjoying the view and great happy hour deals. We enjoyed the breakfast, and had an easy bus ride to catch the boats for Ha Long bay the next morning. We wished we could have stayed here an extra night rather than a long bus ride to Hanoi after the beautiful, pleasant boat ride.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkayrenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 275 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were on a tour with 37 others, Gate1
Beautiful high-rise hotel, though elevators were a bit slow. Doesn't give warmth like some other hotels. Had a nice koi pond indoors, nice that we were able to use their 2 PCs without any problems. But overall, the best hotel that we've stayed at on our tour!
One big problem is that it is far from any shopping or restaurants.
We went to the Gold Crab (Vu Wa) restaurant with 6 others, which required a 15-minute walk on a dark street - BUT it was safe, hardly any traffic around the hotel or walking to the restaurant - which felt so unusual for Vietnam - and without people asking us if we wanted a Tuk-tuk ride! Restaurant was good though a bit pricey, though the staff didn't understand English that well (we had to keep rephrasing "What ELSE comes with that entree?" before we finally figured out what was included!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragon789wv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a soaring, beautiful, modern hotel with some of the most spectacular bonzais that you will see anywhere in the world. While it is spotless, it is also a little sterile. There are long waits for elevators, but this appears to be quite common in Vietnam.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nealcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a nice looking high-rise hotel in the rapidly developing section of Halong, Vietnam. Unlike all the other places where we as Gate 1 group tour participants stayed in Vietnam, we were not treated with a welcome drink on arrival. We found that the remote control for the TV in our room did not work, and realized that the phone did not work either, when we tried to call the reception to get someone to come and check out the TV. I used a corridor phone to get the attendant to come up to the room and with hardly anyone speaking English, she was not understanding that the phone did not work. Later on at night, we could not turn off lights in the room as the central control box for the various lights was dysfunctional. All these issues were sorted out by the maintenence department by around 11PM!! And to top all of our misery, we found 2 cockroaches in the room.
We found that the hotel was in the middle of nowhere and took a good 30 minutes of walking to get to economical dining options.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexkuruvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

New hotel but rather sterile, rooms are good, bathroom ok, breakfast was good but there are not enough elevators. Surely there is a formula that was not used, there long delays at busy periods.
You more or less trapped there because there is nothing near by so dinner at the hotel is required with mixed reviews.
So stay here to go to halong bay but certainly nothing beyond a night

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

It was a pleasure to arrive at the Royal Lotus Hotel after a very long tiring day, and be met by smiling faces and a welcome drink. The rooms are luxurious with a day lounger by the window, wonderful bathroom, only draw back there is no switch for the electric kettle near the table, you have to either use the kettle in the bathroom or on the floor. Some one overlooked this necessity. Try to arrive before sunset, go to the bar on the top floor to witness the sunset. It is quite far to go into town and you have to go by taxi. Also very few restaurants near by, We availed of room service and had a great meal , Fresh fish and chips. would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank punditji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Royal Lotus had the best swimming pool we found in Vietnam. Great for lap swimming after a long bus ride. The breakfast was excellent with a variety of options and wonderful fresh fruit. The hotel only has two elevators which isn't really enough for a large hotel so patience is a virtue. The Royal Lotus is not close to town and there are very few restaurants in the area. From people in our group it seemed that the hotel itself offered the best dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FSB018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
Novotel Ha Long Bay
Novotel Ha Long Bay
#2 of 67 in Halong Bay
848 reviews
3.1 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 9 in Tuan Chau Island
487 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Villas Halong
Royal Villas Halong
#26 of 67 in Halong Bay
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Halong Plaza Hotel
Halong Plaza Hotel
#4 of 67 in Halong Bay
274 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
#5 of 67 in Halong Bay
129 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tuan Chau Holiday Villa Halong Bay
Tuan Chau Holiday Villa Halong B...
#3 of 9 in Tuan Chau Island
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lotus Hotel Halong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lotus Hotel Halong

Address: A 13, Block1, East of Hung Thang 2, | Bai Chay Ward, Halong Bay 80175, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Halong Bay
Price Range: $51 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Lotus Hotel Halong 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong offers a touch of Vietnamese hospitality where the cozy of Halong meets the sunrise with the panoramic bay vista and calming sea breeze makes your holiday experience a glorious one. 147 Rooms with international standard of room amenities and facilities. Experience yourself with local and international cuisine at Lotus Wine Dine or Japanese one at Hana Hana Japanese Restaurant. Relax at swimming pool to enjoy the view of Halong Bay or visit Bai Bua Thai Spa for beauty and health treatment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Lotus Hotel Halong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing