We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place for quiet relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catba Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #34 of 67 Hotels in Halong Bay
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The location is super-excellent - they have their own bay with sand. It closed from both sides, so when you are sitting there, you are absolutely protected from outsiders.
Restaurant is big, bright. Menu is quite big and food is tasty.
Rooms are quite big with excellent view on the sea.
From Hanoi you should go here by big boat which goes through fantastic Halong Bay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 57 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Outdated hotel, bathroom not very clean. spa terrible, can't even watch tv as tv doesn't work properly. Karaoke being sung at the bar really makes you close the window. It feels like a cheap place. This place looks from another world. Get me out of here!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaRangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

(+)
1. Kids enjoy the big swimming pool and have fun with water sliding in the pool or the playground.
2. The newly renovated restaurant inside the resort serve good local food at reasonable price, and quite convenient for family with kids.
3. The resort is not so crowded, we could relax and enjoy time with family.
(-)
1. Everything is not so well-maintained (the room, the facilities, the elevator, the playground), thus over-priced.
2. It does not have private beach, and they make you wear a funny wrist band to distinguish guest stay at the resort.

Overall, it is an OK resort to relax if you already chose Catba to go, and do not fancy the 4-star level.

Room Tip: Take higher room - 3rth floor above to have good view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hana_102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

After a relaxing one-day stay in a boat in Ha Long Bay, we headed straight to Cat Ba Island for 3 days. We were booked 3 days at Cat Ba Island Resort and Spa. The resort is one massive concrete building with large appointed rooms. It lacked charm although it had a premium bay frontage. The moment we checked-in hell began. The reception staff could not speak basic English and we had difficulty understanding each other.
The room was large with spartan furniture and no photos or hotel information on its facilities or amenities. There was no staff to greet us or show us around the hotel. The heat of nearly 40 degrees did not help either. We went to the pool and after some time we decided to order some drinks. Drinks came rather late, nearly 30 minutes to get one juice though staff said they would come. Hotel is understaffed because they over booked with so many local families holidaying for the long weekend. Staff doubled up as front desk, room service, cleaning and F&B.
We asked for water melon juice, but staff said they only have "water lemon juice". After many verbal exchange of "no we like water-melon juice" staff insist "yes water-lemon juice". We did not know either to cry or laugh! We got hungry after long 4-hour journey. So we thought there would be some snacks inside mini bar. There was nothing inside the fridge except some can drinks. Our son asked for potato chips like Pringles. Staff said, "you want paper clips?". After one hour we gave up and decided to have early dinner at hotel restaurant. To our surprise, the menu was local delights like bloodies cockles, bloodied cockles and more bloodied cockles in their menu. And loads of deep fried stuff! Nothing easy for the traveling stomach. Vietnamese mango salad was cut mangoes and cucumber fully drenched in stale mayonaisse. Fried rice was hard old rice and frozen vegetables that were hard to bite.
Next day at breakfast more deep fried noodles and rice. No cereal, and they ran out of bread. One mother got her son to pee right into the garden wall next to my son's seat. Nobody stopped or said anything.
Hotel promised wifi but it only worked first day. Second day no wifi in entire hotel and no prior information on this service disruption.
Water slides in worked on first day but on second day, slides did not have water and we had to request. We suspect they shut down the water to conserve utility and also save on manpower. They were also shifting their restaurant that day, so staff were all busy setting up kitchen from one restaurant to another at 4pm to be ready at 6.30 pm for dinner. No information given to guests on the inconvenience. We had been out on a 5-hour national park walk and obviously were dreaming of grabbing a sandwich from hotel. Hotel said they had no food due to transfer to new restaurant. Our son was hungry, we asked for at least two slices of bread with some butter. But they said they do not have bread. Finally after making some noise, they had to go to local store and buy some bread, after 45 minutes. It was incredible.
Hygiene standard was deplorable. We witnessed one guest spat into the pool while he was walking past the pool with at least ten people swimming inside the pool. No body said anything. Bathroom was never cleaned.
We decided to check out after two days. Overall it was a rip-off. Its like paying a first-class ticket to hell. We just wanted to get out as fast as possible. Please do not book this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mano888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This was such an average experience. I do believe it is the best place to stay on Catba and that is really saying something. The room was large but average, the bed like sleeping on wooden boards, the hot water did not work properly, the TV did not work. There were a total of about 5 people staying in the whole hotel but they still played loud techno music until 11am that came into all the rooms from their empty pool side bar/nightclub.

Dinner and breakfast were extremely average and not what was promised or even listed on the menu (set menus).

Like most of Vietnam the whole place was bascially a rip-off, designed to extract as much money from for as little service or quality as possible.

Of-course complaining about anything did nothing as the staff constantly lied about the reasons why things were happening and went out of their way not to assist. This is a terrible place to stay.

Never again for Halong Bay (which was very dirty) and certainly never again for this place.

All arranged by AST travel agent in Hanoi who run a dishonest business - avoid them.

Room Tip: Just avoid this place - the only reason to go is to see Halong Bay, which really could be missed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cfan41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed at cat ba island resort for 7 days in 2010 and we were so glad to leave. The staff were very rude and everyone expected tips. If you dont tips because you have no change, their attitude towards you would change instantly. We wanted to stay for 7 days so we could relax and sunbathe - I must say our plan failed as they have this old ship pumping sand onto resort private beach everyday and we were lucky to be alive after inhaling fumes everday. Cat Ba island resort rudeness is from management down to gate security. I must say they have a beautiful spa and lovely buffet breakfast. Our memorable moment on Cat Ba island was riding moped on the island and visiting little local restaurants away from Cat Ba Island resort.

Room Tip: ahhh I would choose a different resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank May T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

This is NOT a 4 star hotel, it is very out of the way, they charge you 10 dollars to drive you down to the port [ a 3minutes walk ], the breakfast is disgusting, the service was horrible, they would laugh and make fun at us, there was left over stuff from a previous client, the internet did not work the whole time, they left old bathroom robes in the bathroom, there was mold all over the bathroom, they did not run the hot water for the pool so we couldn't use it, they charged us for basically everything we asked for, the hotel was empty at the busiest period, it was not pleasant at all - oh - and the TV wasn't working - Very unclean and very Unsafe [ there was no way to actually - lock our door!]

Room Tip: There isn't
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJTravel_Evolution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halong Bay
0.2 mi away
Catba Sunrise Resort
Catba Sunrise Resort
#1 of 21 in Cat Ba
388 reviews
15.8 mi away
Tuan Chau Holiday Villa Halong Bay
Tuan Chau Holiday Villa Halong B...
#3 of 9 in Tuan Chau Island
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
CatBa Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cat Ba Beach Resort
Cat Ba Beach Resort
#7 of 21 in Cat Ba
327 reviews
1.9 mi away
Monkey Island Resort
Monkey Island Resort
#9 of 21 in Cat Ba
422 reviews
14.6 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 9 in Tuan Chau Island
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catba Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catba Island Resort & Spa

Address: Catco 1 beach | Catba Island, Halong Bay, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Halong Bay
#16 Spa Hotel in Halong Bay
Price Range: $98 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charmingly and isolated lie on Catba Island – a spectacular natural wonder,Catba Island Resort and Spa honors to offer you the memorable and meaningful holidays… Furniture in the 165 rooms are made of wood create luxury & warmth, offering a comprehensive range of guest facilities and services, all with individual bay view balconies, 4 star amenities, multi-channel TV, and a mini bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Catba Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catba Island Hotel Halong Bay
Catba Island Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing