We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hospitality, but poor internet connection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Ha Long Bay
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Halong Bay
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hospitality, but poor internet connection”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed there for my business trip from 11 Sept to 13 Sept.

Check in was done within 5 minutes (prebooked online from their website and everything was prepared beforehand), the welcome drink on arrival is excellent reprive after a 3 hour road trip from Hanoi Noi Bai Airport.

I booked a standard room, which was rather big, (even by Novotel standard) and very well maintained and comfortable. The only 2 amenities missing are (1) Bedroom slippers and (2) toothbrush, both of which are delivered within 5 minutes of contacting housekeeping.

The buffet breakfast was not too bad, although i'd expect more in terms of variety considering the price for buffet is around USD20. There were a couple of tour groups during my stay, but the staff handled the crowd pretty well.

The only thing which disappoint me was the internet connection. The wired LAN in the room does not assign any IP address (No connectivity), while the WiFi gets disconnected every other minute. Even when there's connection, the speed is crawling. This makes simple task such as sending email very difficult If this happen in a low cost hotel, i will probably just shrug it off. But as an international hotel chain, this is unacceptable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shull22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear shull22

Thank you for taking time to give us your experience at the Novotel Ha Long Bay.
We were happy to read you kind comment about check in experience and the room that you stayed. We strive to satisfy all of our guests by receiving feedback from our guests. I will share your comments about room amenities and breakfast selection with the concerning department.
According to you comment about internet connection, due to high occupancy the connection was not so stable. However we are keep working on to improve wifi connection and internet connection.
Thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to welcoming you in near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    348
    153
    29
    12
See reviews for
157
344
46
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Novotel Ha Long Bay for two nights in latter July, 2013. This hotel was worth the money in every aspect. The location was within walking distance to the docks where we took a 2 day/1 night cruise in the Bay. The breakfast and dinner buffets were excellend and with respectable prices. The staff spoke English and were very helpful. The computers were free to get on to the Internet.. We highly recommed this hotel.

Steve and Menglu
Florida, USA

Room Tip: Get a room to overlook the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenCapeCoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear StephenCapeCoral

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ha Long Bay.
It is always pleasure to receive feedback from the guest. I am glad to hear you compliment on our restaurant, service from our staff and other services that you enjoyed. I will share you comments with concerning department to encourage them.
Thank you very much for your comment and we hope to welcoming you again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Probably the nicest hotel in Ha Long, still it is aging slightly. We booked an Executive suite on a high floor which had great views, from the Very small balcony, which was half the size of smaller rooms balconies.

Unfortunately there was constant late arrivals to 1am much banging which made for a poor sleep, waking up our baby late.

Room service food was Good Value and the restaurant was very nice food. The breakfast was very full, many options. The Bar was over priced but made top quality cocktails and good coffee.

The major poor point was the management and their policies of which they openly flaunted. For example there is a sign on the wall stating there top promises to customers, which they could not keep and where quite rude about. They also charge a holding fee on the room to your credit card without asking even thought the room was fully paid for, when I asked a reason the manager said "the deposit is in-case you take towels". How RUDE !

The major GOOD point was the service of the other lovely staff in the hotel. The young man in the bar was great and so where the girl at breakfast. They could not do enough to help. Also the bell boys gave good info on local places.

If the management learnt some manners, perhaps this hotel could score better.

Room Tip: Try for a high Floor MUST view Ha Long Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Matt D

Thank you for taking time to give us your experience at the Novotel Ha Long Bay.
We were happy to hear your compliments on room service, dining at the Square restaurant, breakfast, bar and the service from our staff.
Regarding the credit card holding fee, like common practice of many international hotels, this guarantee is necessary for the guests to be able to sign room charges and settle all expenses upon check out. Even though your room was prepaid, we still need a minimum guarantee for any other service you may use during your stay.
We are sorry to know about the response of the manager and strongly believe it was merely a misunderstanding.

We appreciate your opinion and sharing your concerns, and it is our hope to welcome you back at our hotel in the near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Like all the chain hotels, this hotel is clean, modern and comfortable. Nothing I can complained. But maybe it lacks some special characters that I can recognize it from all the other hotels I lived.I lived in a room without sea view. But if you are just looking for a hotel which you can comfortably overnight, it can be your choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shruye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Shruye

Thank you for staying with us at Novotel Ha Long Bay.
We were happy to had you during you stay at Ha Long Bay and glad to hear your comment about cleanness of hotel, modern design and comfort of hotel. We have rooms with bay view however it needs to be requested during reservation.
We hope to welcome you back in near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We were disappointed to not be able to have a second night on Paradise Peak so our agent booked us into the Novotel for our second night in Ha Long. From arrival , very efficient check in to an immaculate Bay facing room with an innovative bath room ( one door acts as entrance to shower area and to toilet cubicle),friendly and efficient service and advice fron Front desk to an excellent , very comprehensive breakfast before check out , we found this hotel to be excellent .
Not everyone enjoys the " chain" feel to these big hotels but if you are looking for a sound experience , good service , clean , safe rooms,efficiency and friendliness this is where I would return.....

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthAfricaAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear SouthAfricaAbroad

It was a real pleasure reading such positive feedback as yours and we thank you for that.
I am glad to read your compliments on room, services from our staff and breakfast you enjoyed. I will pass on your kind words to my teams which will serve as an encouragement to all of them to keep on providing high standard of services to all of our guests.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcoming you back in near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

By far the best hotel in the area, impeccable service, pleasant and proactive staff, great food and stunning pool area with a great view looking out onto the bay.

Only slight complaints are the rooms are a tad small and the pool area can be a bit noisy given the main road nearby but otherwise very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLMS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear CS_ 2801

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ha Long Bay.
I am glad to read your compliments on the location of hotel, services from our staff, great food and swimming pool. Your comment is encouraging and let us to enhance the quality of service.
Thank you very much for your kind comment and we hope to welcoming you again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The view of Halong Bay is fantastic and the rather small rooms are beautiful. Staff is very friendly. However the disappointments come in the details: the sound insulation is not exactly good, you can hear your chatty neighbors through the walls. The banging doors will keep you awake at night unles you brought earplugs. The air con brings you cigarette smoke from the adjacent rooms and the bathroom fixtures are broken or not working. The bedding is low quality for a 4 star hotel. All in all a typical Novotel. If you know them, you can predict what you wll get. I tend to avoid them, but unfortunately there is not a lot of choice in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RinDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear RinDK

Thank you for taking time to give us your experience at the Novotel Ha Long Bay.
Your comment and feedback is always important to us to improve our quality of service. I am sorry that you should not allocated to connecting room without your request to avoid all the noise and bad smell from the next room. We are following the standard of Novotel for the bedding and all the bathroom fixtures and amenities. However if you felt uncomfortable about it, we will also keep your comment as advice.
Please rest assured that your comments have been delivered and shared among our departments to enhance the customer value and quality of services.
I hope those points will not deter you from staying with us again. We are looking for your return soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
4.0 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tuan Chau Island
452 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
#6 of 64 in Halong Bay
260 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
#5 of 64 in Halong Bay
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Halong Plaza Hotel
Halong Plaza Hotel
#4 of 64 in Halong Bay
267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Villas Halong
Royal Villas Halong
#23 of 64 in Halong Bay
27 reviews
1.4 mi away
Halong Palace Hotel
Halong Palace Hotel
#7 of 64 in Halong Bay
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ha Long Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ha Long Bay

Property: Novotel Ha Long Bay
Address: 160 Ha Long Road | Bai Chay Ward, Halong Bay, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Halong Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Halong Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ha Long Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Ha Long Bay is the first 4 star internationally recognised hotel in the popular region. Just three hours from Hanoi, the 225 room beachfront hotel is in close proximity to major attractions such as bay cruises and local markets. Novotel Ha Long Bay enjoys a stunning vista from all angles, and even the outdoor pool with swim up bar overlooks the idyllic bay. Great for business travel or family holidays, the hotel boasts modern interiors and great facilities including WiFi Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Ha Long Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ha Long Bay Hotel Halong Bay
Novotel Halong Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing