We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Facilities, HORRIBLE BEDS!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Ha Long Bay
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Halong Bay
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, Great Facilities, HORRIBLE BEDS!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Upon walking into the hotel you are greeted by refreshing air conditioning and beautiful modern asian decor. The counter staff is quick and wonderful and the view through the lobby while you wait is simply amazing.

The hits keep coming as you make your way to your room as well. The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated with wood trimmings and furniture that give it an old world feel with a modern twist. We were on the 9th floor and the view from the balcony was simply gorgeous.

After a day of exploring around Ha Long Bay, we were ready for a full night's rest. Upon getting into bed, a sleepless night of tossing and turning started - I've slept on hard beds before, but the blending of 5-star amenities with prison-like beds really turned me off. In addition, the walls were so thin that the we could hear the people in the rooms next to us. It was as if they were living in the walls!

All in all, if the bed was more comfortable I'd have given this hotel a top rating, but it was just too hard and I couldn't get any sleep. It really is a shame because it's one of the best hotels in Ha Long Bay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the bay. The view is much better from there. You'll be able to know you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Victor H

It was a real pleasure reading such a positive feedback as yours and we thank you for that.
We are pleased to hear your compliments on the design of hotel, service from reception staff, condition of room and the location of hotel. Your comment will encourage our staff to serve better service to our guest and that’s what we strive for.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measure to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Thank you for taking time to share your comment and we will looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    349
    153
    29
    12
See reviews for
157
344
47
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I booked a deluxe room, however I had been upgraded to a suit room instead due to the overbooking, and service of the recept was very quick and sweet. The great thing was the suit room come with a very nice sea view! Apparently it is a great room with full range of amenities. But one shortcoming is the bathrobe, I think they cater for Vietnamese only? :-P

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimmieTang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear KimmieTang

Thank you for your comments from your recent stay with us.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the service from our staff. I will share your comment with our team to enhance the value of service.
We hope to welcoming you in near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
201 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have to agree with the previous review on the fact that there's surprisingly few activities in Halong Bay outside the cruise business. We still stayed for few nights in addition to our cruise.
Novotel is a solid four star. Nice room: balcony with sea view, large bathroom with separate toilet, shower and bath tub, safe, minibar, hair dryer, ironing facilities, laudry service, movie channels, free WiFi. Nice breakfast buffet. A nice pool.

Service was very nice although some of the staff (even in reception) have difficulties with English. They are very helpful regardless.

WiFi should be improved. In our room it only worked next to the balcony window or on the balcony. The signal looks good on your device, but in reality it does not work well (several devices to prove this :)).

The hotel offers 8h cruises in Halong Bay at the same price we ended buying a 2-day 1-night deluxe cruise with meals. So do look around.

Also some small ants in the room. I guess can't be avoided.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Kanerva

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Novotel Ha Long Bay.
We are delighted to hear your compliments on room amenities, breakfast buffet and pool. Regarding to your comment about wifi and communication difficulties, we will share your feedback with each department to improve and enhance the quality of service to serve our guests better.
Also we only provide private boat tour for our guests which added more value of service with qualified tour guide and transportation.
Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcoming you in near future.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a nice hotel in Ha Long Bay. I have stayed here for two nights. Everthing is OK, with good traditional Vietnamese Food and friendly services from Restaurant's Staffs. However, Wine by glass is not good of quality. I tried a glass of white wine in there (its name Mapu). It's smell was spoilt, terrible tasting. All wine opened must be checked before serving. Bar man must check temperature, humidity in Wine Store,,or anywhere keep wines.....

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Peter H

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us.
We are happy hear your compliments on our food and services from Restaurant staff and your stay with us.
Your advise on wine matter is highly appreciated and have certainly raised the are of concern that need to be addressed and will inspire us to strive harder in servicing our future guests. I will share your comment with our team to take more care about it.

Thank you and we are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked three nights at this hotel and after being there a few hours we realised we couldn't stay much longer than a night. No part of the hotel but ha long bay is so quiet.
The hotel itself is lovely, nice pool, nice drinks and food.
We did have a problem with the air con keep switching of and them taking for ever to send an engineer.
We though ha long bay would be full of tourists and places to eat and shop etc but its not.
We needed up loosing the money for the next two nights and went on the marguerite junk. FANTASTIC!
Novotel is a great hotel, except for the problem with the air con.
The staff were fantastic as well. One lady at reception and the pool bar/attendant! Lovely people!

Room Tip: I think most rooms have a balcony but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Lauren H

Thank you for taking time to give us your experience at the Novotel Ha Long Bay. It is always pleasure to receive feedback from the guest.
We are pleased to hear your compliments on our nice swimming pool, food and beverage and our staffs at reception and bar. Your comment is encouraging our staff to give better service.
Regarding your comment, please receive our sincere apology of late responds to your request about air condition problem. We will double check with our teams to improve and enhance the quality of service.
Again, thank you for choosing Novotel Ha Long Bay as your accommodation. We are looking forward to welcoming you in near future.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

The Novotel was probably the most modern hotel in the area. The room was spacious and offered a nice view of the bay. The beds were a bit firm, and we found a roach in the bathroom, but aside from those two things, the room and property were clean and comfortable. The large pool was a highlight of the property - after a hot and humid day in Vietnam, all you'll want to do is jump in that pool as the water in Halong Bay closest to the hotel is not clean.

The hotel staff should definitely be commended for their attention to detail. They keep excellent tabs on guests and are always looking to offer local advice and help. The only downside to the service was that the hotel only offers private tours of Halong Bay at highly marked up prices compared to what you can get from tour operators in the area on group boat tours. There are no luxury day trip boat rides of the bay. All the boats look average at best. As other hotels in Vietnam, the Novotel also charges an additional 3% credit card processing fee (not to be confused with foreign transaction fees), so book your stay via a pre-paid website or pay the balance in cash.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandspands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear brandspands

We very much appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at Novotel Ha Long Bay.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities especially the swimming pool. I will share your compliments on our staff about their good services. Your comment will encourage them to improve and enhance the quality of service.
About the boat tour, we only provide private tour for our guests which added more value of service to our guests with qualified tour guide and transportation to enjoy and have relaxing tour.
Regarding to the credit card issue, we are guarantee that there is no surcharge added to guests’ transaction. If you have further questions please do not hesitate to contact us.

Again, Thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you in future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
4.0 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tuan Chau Island
453 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
#6 of 64 in Halong Bay
261 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
#5 of 64 in Halong Bay
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Halong Plaza Hotel
Halong Plaza Hotel
#4 of 64 in Halong Bay
267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Villas Halong
Royal Villas Halong
#24 of 64 in Halong Bay
27 reviews
1.4 mi away
Halong Palace Hotel
Halong Palace Hotel
#7 of 64 in Halong Bay
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ha Long Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ha Long Bay

Property: Novotel Ha Long Bay
Address: 160 Ha Long Road | Bai Chay Ward, Halong Bay, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Halong Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Halong Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ha Long Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Ha Long Bay is the first 4 star internationally recognised hotel in the popular region. Just three hours from Hanoi, the 225 room beachfront hotel is in close proximity to major attractions such as bay cruises and local markets. Novotel Ha Long Bay enjoys a stunning vista from all angles, and even the outdoor pool with swim up bar overlooks the idyllic bay. Great for business travel or family holidays, the hotel boasts modern interiors and great facilities including WiFi Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Ha Long Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ha Long Bay Hotel Halong Bay
Novotel Halong Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing