We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Thien An Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Da Lat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thien An Hotel
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at the Thien An Hotel for two nights, a clean modern hotel well located. Mr An, the hotel manager, was extremely helpful doing, amongst other things, booking our onward bus travel. We booked a motor bike tour through the hotel; the tour was led by Tran Thanh Khien (thanh_khien@yahoo.com) who provided an excellent experience for us and our two children aged 10 and 12. Also, the hotel breakfast was excellent.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 367 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

+ One of the most helpful and welcoming receptionists which means a lot to foreign tourists
+ Budget hotel with simple but nice and clean rooms
+ Very good breakfast, best I've had for this price level!

Location is not in the center next to the lake, but not too far and the street around is nice and lively with good cafes and restaurants.
Feels like a home-stay type of hotel, in the good sense.

- Some noise from the street, but that's very hard to escape as long as you're inside the city.

Room Tip: The superior is just a few more dollars and probably worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acookiemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Wonderful hospitality! The hotel is very clean, the breakfasts are fabulous - wow vegemite for the first time - very homely. We enjoyed our day out on the motobikes very much. It was a great day with lovely guides. There were so many interesting things that we had never seen before. Great thanks to the owner - perhaps the most thoughtful people we've evet met.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sandton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

The family that runs this hotel is incredibly kind and very helpful. The hotel is very basic and about 1 km from the city center. The first night our AC was broken do the next night they moved us to a nice large room for the same cost. A nice option for Dalat.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I was disappointed with Dalat from the start so this hasn't helped my review of the Thien An Hotel. The family that run the hotel were amazing, very welcoming and at tentative throughout the entire stay. Problem is I wouldn't class this as a hotel, it's more a guest house. Breakfast is serviced in the kitchen on a big table and felt like I was invading the owners private space. After reading so many good reviews about the breakfast, I would only class the breakfast as ok. It included a choice of eggs with a decent spread on the table, the usual offerings at hotels in Vietnam.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan_mcdermid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and can only thoroughly recommend others to stay here.

The room was simple, yet comfortable and clean and you were served a pleasant breakfast around a communal table, which allows you to chat with other travellers.

The hotel organised a lovely day tour for us (including elephant ride) and we also made the most of the free bikes, but be warned that Dalat is hilly! Try to head to the market for dinner to really see how the locals go about their evening activities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesFlaneurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I have lived in Vietnam for several months. We stayed at the Thien An with 4 adults and three very active children. The manager and his son were very accommodating and fluent in English. They provided us with extra rain gear(badly needed) and directions to some of the best Vietnamese food for the price in Dalat. The rooms were very, very, clean and the showers were powerful with plenty of hot water. We could not have asked for a better location or better place to sleep. To the people who thought the front family room was noisy, we found it fine. That is Vietnam. Loved this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
1.6 mi away
Villa Vista Hotel
Villa Vista Hotel
#2 of 85 in Da Lat
142 reviews
1.2 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#9 of 85 in Da Lat
551 reviews
3.7 mi away
Zen Cafe Lakeside Dalat
Zen Cafe Lakeside Dalat
#4 of 85 in Da Lat
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
ZEN Valley Dalat
ZEN Valley Dalat
#8 of 85 in Da Lat
122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tulip Hotel
Tulip Hotel
#7 of 85 in Da Lat
238 reviews
1.8 mi away
ZEN Cafe & Villa
ZEN Cafe & Villa
#11 of 85 in Da Lat
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thien An Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien An Hotel

Address: 364 Phan Dinh Phung | Old address: 272A Phan Dinh Phung, Da Lat, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Da Lat
Price Range: $18 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing