We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like a home away from home - very welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thien An Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Da Lat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thien An Hotel
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like a home away from home - very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

From the moment I stepped in the front door Mr Ahn, the owner of Thien An, welcomed me with a smile. After checking me in, he accompanied me to my room on the fifth floort to explain the facilities, and his staff kindly carried my luggage up the stairs.
The room is lovely, spotlessly clean and I had a view of the temple at the back of the hotel. There is a TV,fridge, quite a large room, double bed, plenty of cupboard space and a great bathroom. The room is very quiet and the bed, with an atractive doona, is very comfortable and I managed to find BBC News on the TV. Free high speek internet in the lobby and wi fi in room
Mr and Mrs Ahn and their nephew serve hotel guests a free breakfast feast every morning. This is an amazing array of tropical fruits, bread rolls, cheese, cooked eggs, vegemite, marmite, peanut butter and jam, yogurt, ham, juice, tea and coffee - delicious.
Mr Ahn speaks English and he is very helpful providing anything you need for your travels, from booking tours, to buses and plane tickets, as well as advising on how to travel to other cities in Vietnam.
It really is like staying with a family in this wonderful hotel and a home away from home. Only a five minutes walk to the centre of town and there are some great restaurants and tours around Dalat - try the country tour.
Thanks very much Mr and Mrs Ahn and staff, I will be back.
cheers
Carole Goldsmith
Melbourne Australia

Room Tip: Room at top at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roggy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    100
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
165
39
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

I don't think many people would describe Vietnam as a clean or serene country but somehow the proprietor of this hotel has managed to defy this environment and stay above it all. He has created one of the cleanest places I've ever stayed .... anywhere! For $25/night we had a clean and well-appointed and aesthetically pleasing room with fresh-smelling linen, a clean bathroom with a hot shower/tub, and a basic but satisfying family-style breakfast ... and free wi-fi!. The proprietor is a friendly and calm and, to the extent that I can judge such things, honest man who runs this establishment with a degree of civility, professionalism, and competence that is rare in this country (and I say this as a current resident of Vietnam).

There seems to be no ideal location in Dalat, and this hotel seems to be located no better or worse than any other.

Room Tip: An extra $5 gets a much better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph_k_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

Very clean and welcoming hotel for a fair price. The owner is very friendly and helpful. He offers different trips - the one we booked was really great value. Other guests of the hotel had positive experiences with other tours, too.There's a great breakfast in the morning with juice, coffee, tea, eggs, a lot of fruits, jogurt, peanut butter, ham, dalat strawberry marmalade, etc.
There's free wifi in every room and 5 desktop pcs in the lounge providing pretty fast internet access. It's a little bit noisy in some of the rooms since the walls are quite thin and one can hear the street or the building area nearby. If you do not mind using earplugs everything is perfect here. I personally slept well even without earplugs.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoehlenknarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

We booked 2 nights at this hotel and really enjoyed the hospitality of the owner. The hotel is lovely and clean and it has a great friendly atmosphere. The only negative about the place is that I would say it is a little further away from the centre than most other hotels. In others ways this can be a bonus as you are slightly further away from the incessant tooting of horns. The rooms themselves were lovely and clean and the beds were comfortable. I recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigh-gone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

Staying at many different hotels throughout vietnam, this hotel seemed to do it just right. It's not an over the top hotel, but a more cozy family run hotel with just the right amount of things you need for a good nights stay. It's the little things that counts, just the fact that everything was in working order made me happy. Comfy bed, and everything smells clean. The mini fridge with all the drinks inside was even the most fairest prices we seen at any hotels. The cost of the rooms were well worth the price and it seems like every hotel we stayed in vietnam had a few things wrong with it. This hotel was very comfortable from the standpoint of a westerner. The gentlemen who runs this place was very genuine and honest. All i can say is my gf and I loved it here and thank you to mr. An!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andooroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

We had 4 nights at the Thien An. We were amazed at the size of the rooms and how spotless they are. The owner and staff are very friendly and supportive - we felt like we were part of the family. The breakfasts are wonderful and really set you up for the day. Thank you very much, Mr Le Ngoc Anh
PS I had some trouble using online booking agents to find a room (they all said the hotel was full) so this is the direct email address: thienanhotel@vnn.vn

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLandSFuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

great stay - wish we'd had more than the 5 nights with you. Hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pauljamison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
2.5 mi away
ZEN Valley Dalat
ZEN Valley Dalat
#6 of 73 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Vista Hotel
Villa Vista Hotel
#2 of 73 in Da Lat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tulip Hotel
Tulip Hotel
#5 of 73 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#7 of 73 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.8 mi away
ZEN Cafe & Villa
ZEN Cafe & Villa
#8 of 73 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thien An Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien An Hotel

Property: Thien An Hotel
Address: 364 Phan Dinh Phung | Old address: 272A Phan Dinh Phung, Da Lat, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing