We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring hike but a good workout”
Review of Lang Biang

Lang Biang
Book In Advance
More Info
$128.00*
and up
Full-Day Dalat Explorer Tour
Ranked #14 of 88 things to do in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Boring hike but a good workout”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I found the other review about this to be really helpful. I did the hike alone, following the paved road on the way up and thought it was really boring. There's not much to see escept pine trees and pavement for an hour. I found the "short cut" on the way back (as described below) and it was much more enjoyable as you walk through farms and vineyards and the views are really nice. If you're looking for this on the way up then use the first turn off on your right after going through the entrance. A few other tips that might be helpful are to wear light clothing and good shoes and bring water (and maybe a snack).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbuggy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    115
    37
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“do the hike instead!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hired a guide for a "hiking" day trip. However, "hiking" quickly turned into "mountain trekking" with some scrambling up rocks... It was comical really considering how dangerous this was. However, our guide prepared a delicious picnic for us once we got to the top of the mountain, which gave us the much needed energy for teh second part of the hike!

If you're in shape, seriously consider the hike, er... trek, instead f the jeep ride that will also take you to the top. We also saw some people walking up and down the paved road that the jeeps drove on, so that's an option too! The views of Da Lat are beautiful. And yes, I'm glad we had a guide, or we would have totally got lost!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JLE_PNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Lang Biang without guide - self organized trip from Dalat - hiking”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This review is for all hikers and wanderer who want to “climb” this mountain individually. If you look for s.th. for mountaineering or climbing, you better find a real mountain  Reaching the peak is as easy as finding noodle soup in Vietnam. So, don’t let the travel agencies tell you you would get lost in the jungle!

Short description of the national park:
There are 2 peaks: the paved road leads to the radar base. People are taken there by jeep from the national park entrance. The ways are separating after 2.2 km. The dirt road (right turn) leads to Lang Biang peak (2167m).

Our trip:
We took the Local Bus No. 5 to Lat Village. The bus stop in Dalat is shown in the attached map. The bus comes every ~30 min and we waited only 10 min (consider that there is lunch break 12-13h – no busses running!).

We entered the bus and I showed the ticket lady a self written paper „lang biang mountain”. She confirmed that we are on the correct bus and we paid 9.000 VND each. The bus ride took about 30-40 min. and the last stop is right in front of the national park gate (MAP: Bus stop).
At the entry gate [1] (MAP: Entry gate) we paid the entrance fee (2 US$ or equivalent Dong).

We followed the paved road (MAP: Paved road used by jeeps). To the left there is the big „Lang Biang” writing (MAP: „Lang Biang” writing). There is actually only one road.

After ~30 min. walking the tourist groups arrived and were take up to the second peak by jeep. That was a little annoying as they all passed by. After ~45 min. on the paved road the ways separated. There is a little hut [2] were an extra fee should be paid (MAP: Little hut). We took the unpaved path, passed the hut and were lucky because none was in it :-).

We followed the path thru a pine forest [3]. You cannot miss the path and there are signs [4] telling you how many meters still to go.

After a while we reached the jungle/rain forest, which is very humid and it must be hell walking there in a heavy rain. But even here the way can easily be found [5-8]. We reached the peak [9] about 1:30h after entering the entrance gate (middle fast walking, no breaks).

From the peak we came the same way down back to the hut where we reached the paved road. Just a few steps after the hut downhill on the paved road we found the shortcut that the travel guides use (MAP: DirtRoad (Pine Forest)). We didn’t look for the shortcut for the ascent because we thought it’s always harder to find the way uphill and we had no idea what it would looks like and where it starts.

Downhill it was pretty easy to follow the path. It’s a very beautiful path through the pine forest and there are no jeeps :-). On the way down we meet a group with a guide and were happy that we did this on ourselves. The shortcut way ends/begins a few meters above the big „lang biang” writing (MAP: Side Road thru Forest).

Ascent thru shortcut (forest path):
To take the short cut also for the ascent see the pictures. I took them when coming down but looking uphill. Therefore this is the view you would see when you go uphill.

The junction [10] can easily be missed. Look for the dirt road on the right. First it goes a little bit downhill and you will see the greenhouses.

Just follow the path up to the mountain ridge [11]. You will pass some palm trees and huts [12]. On the mountain ridge the path [13] might not be very easy to be seen.

In the forest it’s much easier to find the way, since everyone uses the same path [14-15]. The shortcut path ends a few meters below the little hut [2]. Just keep following the explanations from there.

Because of the bus’ lunchbreak we had to wait until 13:00 and had lunch in the little „diner” right next to the gate on the outside. When we got on the bus I showed again my paper now written „Dalat – Phan Dinh Phung”. She nodded to confirm and we paid again 9.000 VND each.

Summarizing:
If you also want to see the elefant water falls, the silk manufacture, and so on, a travel agency trip might be your choice. But if you just want to climb the mountain – go on your own.
If you take a trip with a travel agency make sure they take you to the right peak (you can’t get on the higher one by car!)

We didn’t take the shortcut because we had no plan nor fotos. With the pictures I uploaded here you can decide to take the path thru the forest also for the ascent. It’s not difficult to stay on the right way but if you want to stay on the safe side take the paved road to the hut. I’ve also seen people going to the national park by bike. According to google maps it’s only 10 km. But I can’t give any info about the way there by bike.

I hope this helps. Enjoy your trip.


Map 1: Dalat to Lat village /Lang Biang Entry Gate (from Googel Maps)

Map 2: Bus stop in Dalat (from Google Maps)
We read that there is also another bus stop down the road opposite the Dream Hotel.

Map 3: Dalat (from Gecko Tours)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
129 Thank charlie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“3 Peaks with Groovy Gecko”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We did the 3 Peaks hike offered by Groovy Gecko tours. The tour was very well run, our guide was friendly and provided a delicious mid-hike lunch. While the scenery at Lang Bian is not the most spectacular, it was a very enjoyable day and the view from the third, and highest peak was spectacular. I would recommend this to anyone staying in Dalat, and wanting a good day outdoors.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank NickSA85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do the 3 peaks trek”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We did a 3 peaks trek with Groovy Gecko tours and it was fantastic.
Many travellers just do the main lang bian mountain (and some just do it in jeeps) but if you have the time/fitness, I highly recommend doing a day-tour up to dinh lang biang, which is 2,167m above sea level and a moderately hard trek for someone of above average fitness (obviously it would be a lot easier if you were happy to just take your time, but we wanted to get it done before 2pm so we pushed ourselves hard)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GfromOz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lang Biang also viewed

Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to Lang Biang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing