We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old French Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Old French Charm”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Great concept, a group of old French villas surrounded by park and garden, turned into a hotel. We stayed 2 nights in a villa. The villas have a communal area, dining room and lounge, which we had to ourselves, as we didn't see anyone else in our villa. Our room we was large, desk, 2 double beds, television, fireplace, and lounge, small balcony, so you can spend your time there, if sharing is not your thing. As with 80 year old buildings, a little dark and cold, they have their faults, but that is part of their charm. The bathroom was huge with an old fashioned tub lost in the middle. You have to get into the tub to shower. The shower is hand held, an attachment to give the option of fixing it to the curtain rail would be good. We were able to have a nice deep bath.

We had a Vietnamese set menu as part of our package, it was more like a banquet. We had a bottle of Dalat red wine but personally I wouldn't buy a second. The restaurant had an open fire. Buffet breakfast was included, and was top notch. Plenty of choice, with omelettes and pho cooked for you. The second morning was a la carte, but everything from the buffet was available and you were waited on. We swam in the pool. There 's also a pool table and mini-golf. The Location is out of town, but you can walk. It took 15-20 minutes. The resort is self-contained you don't have to leave it if you don't want. They also have a range of (more expensive) tours and spa treatments. We enjoyed an interesting and complimentary morning walk around the grounds with the hotel guide.

The service was excellent and staff were constantly checking that we were happy. At check-in they said they'd light the open fire if we wanted, but when we asked they said there'd be some smoke then finally admitted the chimney was blocked. I believe they probably shouldn't offer what they can't deliver. Overall, we found it very peaceful, indeed roosters crowing and dogs barking are the main disturbances, and full of old world charm. It cost $120 us per night.

Room Tip: In villas, the top level is probably better than bottom level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajah_Luojie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    166
    61
    18
    10
See reviews for
121
296
22
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel and I found my 3 day stay very relaxing and very much to my taste. I had a room with a great view over the valley and I would recommend asking for an upstairs room. A lot of effort has been put into the design and feel of the hotel, with, in my opinion, a fantastic result. The room and bathroom was beautiful. Service was excellent. The food in the restaurant was good but some dishes felt a bit overpriced (i.e. the soups). The breakfast was really nice although breakfast was served à la carte on my last morning which did spoil the experience somewhat since service was VERY slow. The pool area was really nice with a quiet and relaxed atmosphere. The hotel offers a shuttle to get into town during the day. Wifi is free and with good speed. Also, really good value for money (for a European traveller).

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Gosh probably the trickiest review yet. What we liked:

- the pool was heated and v clean. Comfy loungers.
- grounds beautiful and well kept
- staff very friendly
- the food was excellent with plenty of choice
- the concept as its a very different experience and has charm. Bathroom was amazing.
- free wi fi
- open fires

However we feel they have perhaps missed the mark in terms of 'luxury'.
- rooms were 'stark' cold and unfortunately therefore damp. Couldn't use the wardrobe as very musty.
- electrics were frightening didn't want to touch anything at one point a huge spark came out of a plug.
Maybe underfloor heating would help without spoiling aesthetics for cooler months. Could add a few more pictures or something to 'lift' the mood. Final gripe wine in bar priced diff to same bottle in restaurant (more exp by 25%!!).

We had no issues with 'sharing' the villa - no different to taking a room in hotel all have private bathrooms and locking doors.

So for the exp and the fact we only had 1 night we're glad we gave it a go but I doubt we would stay again and would have had to be moved room if we had been staying longer.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingercat_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is a beautiful hilltop resort overlooking Da Lat. French colonial villas renovated to the highest standards. There are several separate rooms in each villa (with own bathroom facilities) and a common living area (of which we were the sole users during our visit). Staff are very attentive and give excellent service without being intrusive. Great restaurant with good food. Ideal base for visiting surrounding areas of interest. Not cheap, but great value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The drive from anywhere in Vietnam to get to Dalat will no doubt leave you as pleasantly surprised as we were to arrive at a Hotel with an open air pagoda style reception more at home in a beach side resort.

This hotel spread as it is over a significant area of gardens and paths, shares many other features more at home at the beach and yet it works.

The hotel / resort is located at the top of a relatively steep section of road so don't expect to be walking into town unless you are reasonably fit - taxi's are easily organised and relatively cheap. Agree a price with the taxi driver BEFORE you drive as with most taxis in VN.

Be prepared for the rustic lodge style nature of the accommodation with separate two storey buildings scattered throughout a hilltop garden setting and serviced by a series of cobbled roads and paths. For us this worked, but I can understand that the traditionally styled and aging buildings might not be everyone's idea of five luxury. In fact what they have achieved here is a very traditional and delightfully quirky resort fashioned from old timbers and furniture nestled amongst and old garden.

The food at the restaurant was excellent as was the selection of wines available for dinner with beautiful views available from the front section across the valley. The breakfast buffet was particularly good.

The pool was adequate but the pool service from the bar whilst obviously available was almost non-existent whenever we went to the pool.

I will definitely go back here again but one word of advice - check with hotel reception to make sure you get an upstairs room in the building you stay in. Unless you are staying in one of the deluxe family rooms at the top of the complex which are magnificent you may be disappointed to find yourself in a much smaller ground floor room in one of the various two floor lodges which didn't look to be that exciting or attractive.

Room Tip: Unless you are booking a top of the line family accommodation try to ensure you get a room on the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liquidseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I feel this hotel is the perfect place I was looking for in Dalat as it feels completely integrated to the Dalat mountain and colonial atmosphere. The gardens are beautifully designed. As the rooms are located in different villas and it feels very homey. Each villa has a shared living-room with a fireplace. Perfect for Dalat chill nights ! The check-in was smooth, the friendly receptionnist took us the room and gave us a nice courteous visit and explained all the facilities available. Our room was decorated in pretty and appropriate rustic cosy design, with an antic bathtub and a four poster bed.

I just thought it was pitty that there was no minibar in the room, no comfy chairs in our terrace in the garden and the TV was antique. But those were not really big deal.

The restaurant served us great food for breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was delightful with a good selection of local food as well as delicious waffles and superb cheese platter. Dinner is served is a tasteful colonial designed restaurant, attentive service with good english and tasty food.

The spa is good and worth the money with the 30% discount offered upon check-in, a bit expensive without.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliem N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Best experienced with a group, as each villa is split into 4 rooms with some common shared areas.
It looked more like we were on the mediterranean than in Vietnam. Weather was very nice, much more moderate than HCM. The room we had was huge. The staff very very helpful and friendly, and they really loved my 1 year old son.
It was close enough to the main party of the city that cabs only took a few minutes, but far enough away to be separated and relaxed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
2.7 mi away
ZEN Valley Dalat
ZEN Valley Dalat
#7 of 78 in Da Lat
117 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Vista Hotel
Villa Vista Hotel
#2 of 78 in Da Lat
135 reviews
4.1 mi away
Binh An Village Dalat
Binh An Village Dalat
#14 of 78 in Da Lat
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#9 of 78 in Da Lat
537 reviews
1.0 mi away
TTC Hotel Premium - Ngoc Lan
3.7 mi away
Terracotta Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort & Spa

Property: Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort & Spa
Address: Le Lai Street, Ward 5, Da Lat 61000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Da Lat
#1 Luxury Hotel in Da Lat
#2 Spa Hotel in Da Lat
#2 Family Hotel in Da Lat
#3 Romantic Hotel in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 72 rooms resort, restaurant and spa set in the rural highlands of Dalat, Vietnam comprises seventeen fully restored French colonial villas each originally constructed between the 1920's and 1930's. The villas retain the unique personalities of their original owners while being lovingly restored to their former glory, with all care taken to preserve original design, decor and charm. Of the seventeen villas on site, fifteen have been converted into fully serviced hotel accommodations with the remaining two villas being converted into our Restaurant and Six Senses Spa, respectively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Hotel Dalat
Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort And Spa
Ana Mandara Hotel Dalat
Ana Mandara Resort Dalat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing