We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rot's tour is the highlight here !!!”
Review of Villa Pink House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Pink House
Ranked #2 of 282 Da Lat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rot's tour is the highlight here !!!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed in Pink House for 4 nights in August 2012.
This is definitely a good budget hotel. However, by far the best thing about this hotel, is not the hotel, but the countryside tour offered by Mr Rot !!!!
We have now been in Vietnam for 4 weeks, and have done several tours in each city we have visited with many tour companies. However, Mr Rot's tour was by far the best yet !!
We chose to ride automatic motorbikes, and Mr Rot was very good at explaining the road rules (albeit there are not many in Vietnam). He and his accomplice (she only called herself "Blah, blah, blah" - she was very funny, and made us feel informed and relaxed in a humorous way) were very good at keeping at the back and front of the tour pack. Mr Rot was also very thoughtful in keeping at a suitable speed, not too slow and not too fast.
When we signed up for the tour, the young males at the front desk (who were deliciously friendly) explained a few sites we'd see - however, the actual tour included many more sights, so the tour exceeded our expectations.
The tour included:
- a cricket farm (blah, blah, blah ate the crickets, and offered for others, but only a few took up the offer)
- a silk worm farm, and showed how the silk was made
- a coffee plantation, with a great explanation of the coffee process, and plenty of surprises
- a beautiful stop on top of the mountains for photos
- a wonderful conversation with members of a minority village (Mr Rot is an excellent translator)
- opportunity to watch the village ladies make cloth using a loom, and use a traditional spinning wheel
- elephant falls (very pretty)
- elephant ear mushroom farm
- a large sample platter of a variety of locally-grown fruit
- an outline of vietnamese language and culture - thanks Blah, blah, blah - this was great !
- and the best market tour in Vietnam. We have done 6 market tours, and while at the market, Mr Rot gave the best and most thorough explanation of the produce (including samples of the market produce), the culture, the religion and the practicies of the people who really honour relatives who have passed away. Mr Rot and Blah, Blah, Blah had very cheeky humour, and really made the trip fun. He also gave some tips about how to deal with the Vietnamese culture of bartering and how best to interact with the locals.
Anyone who is really interested in learning about Vietnam, and wants a tour which is a little more light-on in relation to commercial-content should do this trip with Mr Rot !!
Now, in relation to the hotel, it is a very good budget hotel - the choice of breakfast is simple and tasty (the sardines in tomato sauce was surprisingly delicious). The beds and rooms were clean and comfortable.
However, note that there is no shower curtain in the bathroom, so when you shower, the whole bathroom gets slippery and wet, we had a few near falls - it would be better if Pink Villa House could put up some shower curtains to help prevent the slippery floors after you've showered.
Lastly, I'd say the 2 young guys at the front desk were great fun, very happy, and very gracious.
Keep up the work Pink House - you were one of our highlights.
Regards
Dale and Jamie

Room Tip: The place can be noisy when guests are not thoughtful. Loud conversations and banging doors can eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DnJ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    138
    62
    20
    17
See reviews for
24
225
63
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Very very clean room and very clean bathroom! Own balcony, fridge. They gave me a upgrade because the single rooms were full :) Helpful staff (bus tickets, getting around). There are not many hostels in Dalat, good place for backpackers.
They organise a great one day motorbike tour to see the highlands of Vietnam (Rot's Secret Tour).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ChewyAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

When we got there we were amazed by the great welcoming of the staff. The room was fine, although without separate shower. For the price we thought it was ok.

The young boy running the reception goes from lovely to rude whitin seconds. As you reject his much appreciated, overpriced -and not at all original- "secret tour" he seems to loose interest.

Wifi worked ok, and common zones were nice and clean.

BUT the breakfast is terrible. Do no take the "breakfast included" option.

Location: not bad if you rent a bike; 10 min walk or more from the centre.

By the way, the other young boy, the one in charge of the easy riders tours, can be extremely rude.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demian_paradox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstanz, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

have you ever read Hotel New Hampshire from John Irving? if you go to the Pink Villa you will be reminded. even a bear is there.
Rooms seems to be a little bit diffrent espacally the bathrooms - you may compare. All in all its very clean, room have a rwal good size often balkonies moskitonets you wouldn't need and minibar. The Fmaily is very nice and special Mr. Rot is one of the best Entertainers I meet. He's a real talent his tour is great, gives a very goog view into vietnamies life and customs. You may learn a lot of things about coffeplantations, silk, the habbits, the market, the food and we had so much fun with Rot. (greetings from LEO.)
We even got a view in Dalats nightlife.
If the mother of mr. rot will manage a better breakfast with eggs and some of the delices fruit wich grow in Dalat, the Hotel will earn a next star.
Everyone will pay a dollar more and have not to go for a second breakfast just after the first.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dreas32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

the room wasn't clean and we had to spray lots of flyspray around to kill off the bugs, no airconditioning, it was a little tricky to find as well. the 'free breakfast' is a bread roll with some butter.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracyeloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I arrived to Villa Pink House in the rain and was greeted by a very rude male receptionist. I asked why a friends rate was 2 dollars less and he snapped about online bookings and told me to go the computer and book and pay a service fee, etc. It was just really uncalled for and rude. I wanted to leave but didn't want to wander in the rain. They didn't offer to help with bags to the 3rd floor with no elevator, the breakfast was just a baguette and bad coffee, and the rooms are very noisy because the doors rattle and you here everyone come and go. The next day I went just across the street to Ninh Binh which is the same quality, polite staff, and 8 dollars versus 15. When I had an early morning bus the guy from reception put a baguette and bananas in a bag for me to take without me asking. I highly recommend leaving villa pink house for a neighboring better hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed for two nights and booked two rooms.

Pro:
1) big beds. I think the two beds in my room can easily accomodate 4 people
2) good location. Near the market with about 10 min walk. There is a small convinience store very close to the hostel across the big road.
3) cool climate. You do not need aircon but it could get a bit warm if you stay in the room during the daytime
4) LCD time and the reception was not bad

Cons:
1) breakfast was quite limited choice. No eggs just bread with jam/cheese/banana/noodles
2) I was not happy when I arrived in the hotel very early in the morning (we travelled using sleep bus/ night bus), the first thing they offered was the tours to occupy us before we can check in. What we need was a shower or some breakfast or drinks. Anyway, we opted to go around town by ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
0.4 mi away
Dreams Hotel
Dreams Hotel
#1 of 77 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tulip Hotel
Tulip Hotel
#5 of 77 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.8 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#6 of 77 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hai Long Vuong Hotel
Hai Long Vuong Hotel
#1 of 282 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.1 mi away
Authentic Family Homestay
0.4 mi away
My Dream Hotel
My Dream Hotel
#11 of 282 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Pink House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pink House

Property: Villa Pink House
Address: 7 Hai Thuong Street, Da Lat, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 282 B&Bs / Inns in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Villa Pink House 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Pink House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Pink House Hotel Dalat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing