We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best looking high-class resort”
Review of Monet Garden Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monet Garden Villa
Ranked #20 of 85 Hotels in Da Lat
Reviewed August 8, 2009

The Hoang Anh Gia Lai resort is a bit far from the center, but if you are travelling by a rented bus or car, that's not really a problem. The resort is really well maintained and looks really classy (we took a walk up the Nguyen Du street and the other hotels and resorts looked really run-down).
It's quiet and peaceful; there seems to be some disco nearby but strangely we heard the music only in the afternoon.
The only really bad things were the missing WLAN (WiFi) and the missing heating systems. The rooms have no AC, which you don't need for cooling, but would be useful for heating up the rooms, which can be really cold in the evening and at night.
I would gladly come back here again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andi_and_Thao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 105 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2009

This complex is huge with villas consisting of approx 8 rooms. Very quite and set in beautiful gardens, with gazebos, swinging lounges , tennis court. Judging from the quests which were there I would say this hotel is used for a lot of large groups and conferences, but as it is so big never seemed crowded. They have the best yoghurt in VN, and a wide choice of foods in restaurants. One Asian and other Western food.
Room very spacious, also bathroom huge. very clean, big beds, and staff very accommodating as we found in all hotels in VN. A good walk to centre town, but weather cool so its not too strenuous. Central markets very interesting and of course the flowers are unbelievable.
Try the new cable car ride in Dalat, so peaceful and you get a good view of the town.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flybuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

We - being myself, my daughter and grand daughter - enjoyed our brief stay. I have to agree with some of the negative commets made by the previous reviewers, such as no heating, as we were only there for one night we were fine, once late afternoon hit it did get quite chilly up untill then the weather was perfect. I enjoyed roaming around the grounds and took lot's of lovely photos. Our room was very big and the beds very comfortable, the rooms were also very light and airy with a great bathroom.
For dinner that night we went to one of the restaurants, the service was wonderful, we were the only guests there. After looking at the wine list I was decided to try a Russian Champaign, the price was not bad and hoped it was enjoyable, unfortunately they bought a room temperature bottle to the table, I explained to the waitress that there was a problem, the restaurant manager came over and i explained that Champaign shoud be served really well chilled, she offered to get ice but as I explained it would still not be properly chilled and we would have finnished our meal. She was lovely and we chatted about serving Champaign amongst other things, she was totally unaware, a little training is needed. Some might find this annoying however I think it is part of travelling and smile to myself every time I think of it.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2008

Too far out of town. The rooms are very large but you don't want t spend your holiday sitting in a room. Not really any facilities expected in a resort. No pool, apparently not needed in Dalat there was a tennis court which seemed to be totally booked out by locals, bikes for hire (but no info) should be free considerig lack of things to do here. Poor breakfast choice, very limited bar, a small smoky room that doubled as a dining room thta had no view or atmosphere. Nice grounds.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank gonelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2008

We were due to stay here for three nights but checked out after only one.
Why?
We had booked two rooms for a family of 5 (2 adults 3 kids). When we arrived both rooms had a double and single bed configuration so we asked that one single bed be move into the kid’s room so they all had their own bed. No trouble at all until the bed was moved by the staff and then I was "summonsed" to the front desk where they demanded I pay an extra $15/night and they wouldn't let me leave until I'd sign a consent to add the extra charge to my room.
Our room had shutters which could not be opened because the bed was in the way and staff claimed they could not move the bed. i.e. the room was pitch black all day!!! We asked to move and they did oblige but this took us away from our kids room. The kids room backed on to a noisy road (and this place was supposed to be quiet!) and the shutters where damaged and swung violently in any breeze.
The rooms were large but very unwelcoming (wood panelling not seen since the 70s). The bathrooms were done in dark colours and not inviting. Not enough hot water to fill a bath. No safe, no Kleenex.
We arrived on a rainy day in early January and it was freezing. The “resort” has no heating or air-conditioning - not acceptable for a 4 star "resort". We just couldn’t get warm and had to go into town to a restaurant to find somewhere warmer.
Breakfast was served in what looked like a school cafeteria which was fitting as there were about 50 noisy school children also there (I think from an international school in Saigon). Breakfast selection was limited with very little fruit (and Dalat is the place where Vietnam grows most of the cooler climate fruits!!!).
While the grounds are well maintained they are very sterile. The stone pavements are highly polished and deadly slippery when wet... definitely not suitable for anyone with disabilities or frail.
Hotel is a long way from town and very inconvenient.
I read on the web that the resort owners plan to spend money to upgrade the resort to 5 star. My view is they first need to get it to 4 star first!
We moved to the Blue Moon Hotel which was just opening. Despite builders still being in residence this place was far nicer, just one block from the Da Lat market, air-conditioning and heating, lovely rooms and all the mod cons for way less than what we were charged at the Hoang Anh Resort.

Stayed: January 2007
2  Thank Notcomingback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2008

Huge rooms with porch, marble floors, clean and new, definitely a 4 star. Eleven 2 story Villa’s scattered around grounds. Shower and tub, no safe, no Kleenex, reading lighting fair, tennis courts, no heat or a/c but guide says there is never a need. Standard breakfast buffet but no bacon and I never had French fried onion rings offered at breakfast. I was able to pull a weak wi-fi connection from Villa 1 using my Buffalo high gain external antenna but free wi-fi and three desktops in Business Center. Two 500 ml bottles of water provided per day but you can buy a 1.5 liter downtown for 7,000VND. This is cheaper than Hanoi, there vendors ask for $1US but the going price is 5,000 dong for the half-liter and 10,000 dong for the 1.5 liter. Room rates (2008) Superior $69US, Deluxe $82 including 5% service and 10% tax.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2008

We recently spent 2 nights at the Hoang Anh Resort Hotel in Dalat. The hotel appears to be quite new with large rooms and nice bathrooms. The rooms have lots of wood, even wooden shutters inside the balcony doors. The bathrooms are stone and have separate tubs and shower stalls. (We had stayed at another Hoang Anh resort and the rooms seem identical.) The grounds are gorgeous with gardeners continuously working. The hotel is made up of a number of different buildings which is fine when the weather's nice but could pose a problem in bad weather. The rooms also don't have any heater although a space heater was very rapidly delivered to our room upon request.
We ate one dinner at the hotel and it was adequate. The breakfasts are not nearly as extensive as many other hotel I've stayed in in Vietnam and the service at breakfast was minimal at best. There was a limited bar but wine was only sold by the bottle, none by the glass. The internet was free and had a very fast connection. Their spa is so-so. The foot massages were quite good, but while my husband and a male friend found the massages good for their bodies recovering from a long, strenuous bike ride, a female friend and I were less than satisfied.
The Hoang Anh is a nice hotel but I know there are better hotels that are more centrally located in Dalat.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MZC-Grandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
1.1 mi away
ZEN Valley Dalat
ZEN Valley Dalat
#8 of 85 in Da Lat
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dalat Cadasa Resort
Dalat Cadasa Resort
#27 of 85 in Da Lat
58 reviews
3.9 mi away
Zen Cafe Lakeside Dalat
Zen Cafe Lakeside Dalat
#4 of 85 in Da Lat
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Binh An Village Dalat
Binh An Village Dalat
#17 of 85 in Da Lat
45 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bich Dao Boutique Hotel
Bich Dao Boutique Hotel
#21 of 85 in Da Lat
31 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Vista Hotel
Villa Vista Hotel
#2 of 85 in Da Lat
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monet Garden Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monet Garden Villa

Address: 3 Nguyen Du Street, Da Lat, Vietnam (Formerly Hoang Anh - Dat Xanh Da Lat Resort)
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Da Lat
#8 Spa Hotel in Da Lat
Price Range: $42 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monet Garden Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monet Garden Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoang Anh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing