We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Vietnam”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Da Lat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dalat Family Hostel
Ranked #11 of 482 Specialty Lodging in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2013

A little hard to find, this hostel by itsself is worth a visit to Dalat! Anni, the young owner, is not only a real sweetheart but also manages the hostel in a great way. Opened up just a few months ago, the dorms are very confortable, new and therefore best value for money. You can have dinner with Annis mum who is hilarious, get to know the "real Vietnam", with all its hospitality and off the tourist tracks.

It was a great pleasure to stay at Dalat Family Hostel, where the "family" never fitted a hostel better! It's a must visit on my next journey to Vietnam!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 57Sven_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Dalat Family Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 293 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is an amazing new hostel in the center of town, though it's location is a little bit tricky... inside a little ally which is hard to find.
It is definitely one of the best places I have been to. You just don't want to leave, as you are immediately welcome as one of the family., "Crazy Annie", the energetic owner is more than you could ever wish for: every morning at 8:30 she is taking who ever pleases to eat breakfast in a different local food stall. She takes guests to see the city spontaneously, goes out for a drink with you and ends the night with a crazy karaoke, she has arranged for everyone, just because we were in the mood for it.
On evenings you can eat here - dinner that is being cocked by Annie's mother. Guests and family alike sits together on the kitchen floor and enjoy food and good conversation and laugh.
One night we started talking about belly dancing, and after I asked, she has arranged for me (and 5 more girls) to go with her to a local belly dance class. It was awesome!!!
The dormitory is basic and sweet. Beds are very comfortable.
There are also cute private rooms with excellent view of town.
This hostel is not just a place to sleep in, it is one of my Da Lat experiences.
I will definitely come again.

Room Tip: In the dormitory- take the beds in the middle: away from the entrance and away from the bathrooms.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerenOr1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Had a great time. It really felt like I was part of one big happy family. The beds where really soft. Anni and her mother really take care of you here. Anni even went out with us in the evening to show us some of Dalat. The location is a bit out of the centre which made it a less touristy sensation. (no motorbike beggars). I would advise anyone to book this hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoAlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

This is the hostel to visit in Da Lat. At first we didnt even find the place because it is in the end of small alley but im so glad that we found it! Atmosphere is so cosy that it feels like home! It is maybe a 5min walk from the center but dont that get in to you. The hostel is a in front of small park and the vibe feels like a small French city.
And specially Anna was amazing! She is so kind and lovely! (And she fixed my pants aswell) At the first night she showed us to a have soup with the locals and for me that was the Best soup I had in Vietnam and it cost me 20k! The next day she showed us couple places to hangout and have a dessert. And the dessert was to die for. Amazing!
If you are planning to stay in Da Lat. Stay there! I quarantee that you wont regret!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Anton T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

fantastic hostel,more a home stay than a hostel with some of the friendliest owners you will meet in vietnam

ok so firstly, not easy to find even for taxi drivers. near the bus station go down the pathway next to the friendly coffee shop it is sign posted pink. some moto taxis wont stop down here though so you have to walk continue the path for 5minutes as it loops round and down.
there is a short cut to the main bit of town through the back alley you can use once settled in!
a couple we met there were staying around a month and helping out the owners with things like maps so hopefully up and running too. we walked but were quoted 30,000 dong each for a moto taxi to the dorm seemed excessive (note if you walk its quite hilly!!)

secondly the room has about 16 beds so its very very cosy!! but the beds are very soft bring earl plugs and eye mask we had the best skeep here for a month despite being the first home one night

the thing that really makes this hostel though is the hostess Annie and her mother who together run the hostel with hummar,charm and a great positive vibe.annie showed us local places for breakfast, lunch, dinner, desert and then onto the night life if you wished! occasionally her mother will cook a delicious meal for those who want supper 9small added cost0 and everyone sits down together in the living room to eat - ala one big FAMILY!! this creats a great atmosphere and great place to meet people.

dalat was not what we expected, its a very busy town with not many western tourists (we had visions of a sleepy town over-run with tourists and tours similar to Sapa) but has a certain appeal and charm to it that wins you over quite quickly, the views are great and options for tours are plentiful, or simply take a break and experience its greatest asset - its people

PS if you do one tour make sure it is Groovy Gecko's cannyoning - amazing!!

Room Tip: only one room,very cosy everyone packed in tight but the softest beds we have had in vietnam!! bring...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

This Hostel is absolutely fantastic. If you are after a bit of Vietnamese culture this will be the icing on the cake. Anni set up this hostel 2 months ago and she has done such a fantastic job. Her mother is so hilariously funny with her animated gestures and comments. I have eaten her mothers delicious food and I have cooked with her mother too. There is something about this family vibe which makes one feel so welcome and comfortable and lifts your spirits. Both Anni and her mother have the biggest smiles on their faces which could lift anyones mood. The cleanliness here is fantastic and the dorm room is cleaned daily. What more can I say... comfy beds, brilliant hospitality and money well spent. I would definitely return here. I have lived my stay from start to finish

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstyt88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Such a beautiful place!! Anni and her mother opened this lovely, cosy hostel almost 2 months ago. Anni is so nice, always organized and she will make your stay in Dalat unforgetable! For sure! Her mother is such a MOTHER for everyone! You can cook with her really good, cheep dinner. It felt like a home and I really miss the girls afterjust 4 days living there.

The rooms are awesome!! Really good beds, everything is clean and the decoration is so lovely!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank SaSti2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
0.9 mi away
Villa Vista Hotel
Villa Vista Hotel
#2 of 83 in Da Lat
140 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zen Cafe Lakeside Dalat
Zen Cafe Lakeside Dalat
#7 of 83 in Da Lat
40 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tiny Tigers Hostel
Tiny Tigers Hostel
#2 of 482 in Da Lat
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Dalat Sky Hostel
Dalat Sky Hostel
#3 of 482 in Da Lat
244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Da Lat Backpackers Hostel
1.8 mi away
Sleep In Dalat Hostel
Sleep In Dalat Hostel
#9 of 482 in Da Lat
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalat Family Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalat Family Hostel

Address: 19 A Trieu Viet Vuong, Da Lat 670000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 482 Specialty Lodging in Da Lat
Price Range: $10 - $10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crazy House! Dalat Family Hostel provides a unique, fun, and family-like environment that is unparalleled by any other hostels. We understand that when you are traveling you are looking for new experiences. We promise that this hostel will be an experience unlike any other you will have in Vietnam, or even the world. Dalat Family Hostel, located in Dalat City, is a popular choice for travelers in a quiet, local, neighborhood with a nice panoramic view of the park and city. You will be greeted by either Mama, "Crazy", or Anni upon arrival. Don't be too shy because we certainly aren't. Once you arrive, a member of our staff will take you out to try the local food and services (i.e sauna, massage, etc.). At Dalat Family Hostel you will be able to experience Vietnamese life from inside. The hostel is right next to many coffee places, restaurants, bars, pagodas and other tourist attractions. The local market is just a 2-minute walk from our location. Dalat Family Hostel is also close to popular city attractions such as Linh Son Pagoda (50m), Dalat University (0.87 km), Xuan Huong lake (1.4 km), Da Lat Flower Park (1.7 km), Golf Course (1.9 km), and Domaine Cathedral (2.4 km). Aside from the many attractions, in the city, there are also various activities on the outskirts of Dalat. You can go on a waterfall cannoning tour (an absolute must) or a motorbike tour to see the breathtaking mountainous landscape. We can tell you many other great things to do and visit in Da Lat during your time here as well. In the evening at 5:30 PM, guests gather around the common area for a meal served by Mama, your surrogate mother. The food is delicious and inexpensive, but what family dinner really brings is a great atmosphere to meet people and to enjoy a Vietnamese-style family dinner. After dinner, you can enjoy conversation and cheap beer for a little while before one of the girls takes everyone out to a local bar or karaoke club. We will make sure that your stay in Dalat is memorable and something that you will talk about after your trip. We want it to feel like home. Talk to other travelers and they will agree: Dalat family hostel is special. Give our hostel a try and we will make sure that you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing