We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cable car ride. Nice view!”

Thien Vien Truc Lam
Ranked #4 of 87 things to do in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular working religious complex, completed in 1994, includes a shrine and a monastery.
Livingstone, Zambia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great cable car ride. Nice view!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was one of the highlights of Dalat - the gardens were better than the Dalat Flower Park, the monastery peaceful and the views spectacular. Then the cable car ride down gave an incredible view of Dalat. We did this as part of our motorbike tour, being dropped at the monastery then picked up again at the end of the cable car ride.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank grand p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    264
    83
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truc Lam was a peaceful sightseeing place”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Would highly recommend travelers coming to Dalat to visit this place...its beautiful and the gardens / Thien Vien has history here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NDuong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Australia
Level Contributor
277 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Just beautiful”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

As we aren't ones for tours we decided to do this trip by getting a taxi up to the cable car at Robin Hill and then riding over to the monastery. We got there quite early 10 am (early rising Aussies!) so we missed the crowds at the cable car.

The cable car ride was fantastic and then at the other end we found a few bus loads of Asian tourists (also early risers!) but there was plenty of room in the monastery grounds to loose them. What stunning grounds! Beautiful flower beds and really well kept and loved pagodas not a spiritual person really but that is the word for this monastery, I couldn't think of a better place to be a monk.

I had heard that these gardens were as good if not better than the Dalat flower gardens by the lake and having seen both now I think these though smaller were better and as for the plattered tree trunks Wow! Even my black fingered husband loved them and picked the best to have his photo taken with!

Walked down to the lake, okay more shops and places for a coffee but we decided to head back to the cafe by the cable car for a drink on the way home, our orange juice got lost in translation and we ended up with a sugared orange cordial but it was cold and we laughed and tried very hard not to watch the chap relaying roof tiles... Scared he'd fall!

Caught the cable car back and found a huge queue for cars at 11am so go early!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzannahA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish i could return here each year”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

One of the best places ive been in Dalat. I did enjoy the beautiful scene from the mountain down to the Tuyen Lam lake and the atmosphere here was as well worderful for any body looking for an easier mind. It truly made me calm and moved at the same time. Such a memorable place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nov B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colmurano, Italy
Level Contributor
149 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice and peaceful view”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyable with pleasant views of the forest and surrounding farms. Long enough ride to have a conversation and take a break from walking.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank allsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thien Vien Truc Lam also viewed

Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to Thien Vien Truc Lam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing