We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easyriders popular stop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thien Vien Truc Lam

Thien Vien Truc Lam
Ranked #4 of 85 things to do in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular working religious complex, completed in 1994, includes a shrine and a monastery.
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Easyriders popular stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

One of my favorite places and I include on my tours. Foreigners are always a special treat for the worshipers that makes it all worth while. It also has a nice flower garden and a beautiful trek down to the lake

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Owee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    255
    77
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely cable car ride and then visit to tranquil Buddhist complex”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Our 'easy riders' dropped us at the cable car and then met us at the other end and took us through the complex grounds. Very nice and very popular with the Vietnamese people. It is a meditation centre as well with devotee's coming from all over the world to stay. There were many people there as the school holidays were on and the families were very friendly, calling out hello or waving at the 'gringoes'. Beautiful gardens very well kept and worth seeing if you like Buddhist temples like I do.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank havaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cablecar Ride to a Tranquil Temple on a Lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Make sure to catch the cablecar from Dalat out to this modern but peaceful temple perched above a lake and forest. The monks wander the grounds whilst the visitors pray to a large golden Buddha. Spacious enough that even if crowded it is possible to find a calm corner of the grounds in which to relax.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SBesquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We boarded the cable car at 1:30 (as we found it closed over lunch) but there was a great place for coffee down the hill, just as you come into Dalat on your right, where we could easily kill a lazy hour.The ride over was magical, we had a car all to ourselves. Arriving at the lake end of the cable car there was little direction from the staff as to were to go so intrepidly i forged up the stairs and over the ridge to find the most serene temple with bucolic grounds and a short walk down to the lake. If i hadn't been with my baby i would have loved to find a quiet spot in the surrounding gardens or forest to meditate a while, but instead we caught a long-tail across the lake to a restaurant, Suoi Tia i think it was called. there they had local specialties and rustic settings, outdoor by the lake. Although we probably spent about a million dong all up it was well worth it for boat (200VND with bargaining), lunch, cable car and drinks.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful temple !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Very nice pagoda, quite new, but with beautiful buddha, and if you're lucky, a monk will hit the musical bowl while you pray in the temple. There's also a very nice zen garden around.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Strat1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thien Vien Truc Lam also viewed

Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to Thien Vien Truc Lam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing