We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How the other half lived.”
Review of Bao Dai's Palace

Bao Dai's Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$135.00*
and up
Full-Day Dalat Bike Tour
Ranked #16 of 87 things to do in Da Lat
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Preserved almost intact, this is the most popular of the three Bao Dai palaces in town; Bao Dai was ousted by Ho Chi Minh in 1945.
Siam Reap Cambodia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“How the other half lived.”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

they have kept all the old furniture and colour scheme. The gardens for a summer place weren't bad either. Don't et your picture taken with the stupid me in monkey suits. It will look just naff

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    171
    158
    28
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
377 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Royalty Vietnamese style”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

See how the last emperor of Vietnam lived with a visit to his summer palace. Many of the rooms have been maintained in their original condition. The manicured gardens are also a delight

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KatielouAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Interesting place to visit.”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

If you go to Dalat, take time to visit this bit of history. Take note that Dalat is at a high altitude, & it can get cold there (which is why the french put their hill station there).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jasmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
178 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Worth a brief stop”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Visited here without a guide so we just wandered thru the open rooms. The gardens and views are nice and you can see their main living quarters, kitchen and bedrooms. The king and queen had separate quarters and the furnishings are original. What surprised me was the condition of the property. I thought it was not well kept, we could see mold and mildew and things were in disrepair and that was extremely disappointing. From the outside it looks more like a government building than a palace. If you like history you will probably enjoy a brief stop here.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank GallivantersGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labastide
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A beautiful house-museum”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Tired of pagodas ? This is the place for you ! Welcome to Bao Dai's Summer Palace, last king of Vietnam, built in the 1930's. We enjoyed it very much, first for the originality compared to all the ohter things we had visited that far in Vietnam, second because we adore 30's and art déco style. The visit takes about one hour, and is relatively peaceful (less tourists than we'd expected). The palace is beautiful and well-preserved, left untouched for years, the atmosphere is serene.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Erwan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bao Dai's Palace also viewed

Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to Bao Dai's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing