We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a nice building”
Review of Bao Dai's Palace

Bao Dai's Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$135.00*
and up
Full-Day Dalat Bike Tour
Ranked #17 of 87 things to do in Da Lat
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Preserved almost intact, this is the most popular of the three Bao Dai palaces in town; Bao Dai was ousted by Ho Chi Minh in 1945.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Such a nice building”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Love the French building and stories behind the scenes related to the last King of Nguyen Dynasty of Vietnam. Glamorous and Cozy were what I think.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hanhkerchief N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    170
    154
    28
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting if you're curious about royalty.”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The title says it all I think. It is interesting to see how royalty lived and so on but that's about it. I was looking through my photos and realised the only photographs I took were of a horse outside in the garden and the palace itself from outside. I guess I didn't find anything amazing enough to photograph there. The history about it is interesting and I would recommend reading about the last family that lived there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rajdsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Relic or Heritage Site”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our guide told us the palace was in the french Colonial style. Looks more Art Deco to me. Has been let deteriorate. As the Summer Palace of the last King of Vietnam you wuold hope they displayed it in all it's past glory. Probably the communists underplaying the roll of the monarchy

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rice-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“More Kitsch and some Art Deco.”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We walked to the Bao Dai Summer Palace from town. The parking lot was packed with tour buses, as was the palace itself. There are a bunch of kitschy vendors inside the grounds - selling photos of you with (choose one or more): kitschy motorcycles, vintage cars, horse drawn carriage, elephant statues, dressed in a traditional costumes. The inside of the palace is a bit rundown although some of the art deco furniture is interesting. The place in general needs some TLC. The big draw seemed to be the photo studio in the palace where visitors can dress up in royal costumes and get their picture taken. We passed on that!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank A_Pair_of_OWLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting with a lot of history!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This place, I initially didn't quite know what was so important behind this attraction...but as we went inside and started to read on the history behind this, this house belonged to the last King Vua Bao Dai, which he was the last to represent the Nguyen Family to rule Vietnam. King similar to what we call President today. Very interesting, but not intriguing to those who would expect something extravagant in return of scenery.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NDuong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bao Dai's Palace also viewed

Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to Bao Dai's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing