We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in central Dalat by the lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ngoc Lan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ngoc Lan Hotel to your Saves list
Ngoc Lan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Nguyen Chi Thanh St, Dalat, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Dalat
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in central Dalat by the lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Booked this hotel for three nights based on reviews and we were not disappointed, it was great. Our front delux room on the second floor overlooked the roundabout by the lake, very picturesque. There's no air-conditioning in the rooms but a portable fan unit was good. Due to the traffic noise outside the front rooms, and you rarely get away from it in Vietnam, we didn't leave the windows, more like doors, open or the louvre doors, or the curtains. Service was fantastic, all staff were most helpful and gracious and trying to please. Private tours run by the hotel were very good and moved at a relaxed rate. Try the short train trip from the Art Deco Dalat station to the town with the pagoda - a great few hours. Thanks Hung! We didn't try the hotel ground floor restaurant - it looked a bit intimidating - but the rooftop bar/bistro suited us for late lunches. We had dinner two nights at the 'Family Restaurant' in the street behind, good vietnamese and western food choices and no language problems. In short we loved it and would stay again.

Room Tip: Front rooms are a bit noisy but they have a fantastic view. Perhaps front room on a higher floor wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tourers_at_last
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful hotel in a great central location. We stayed here for three nights and found the staff fantastic, the room and bathroom facilities wonderful and the buffet breakfast delicious. The day spa offer a sensational salt massage which was invigorating and great for the skin. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in September and were more than comfortable. For AUD$60 per night it was a bargain ! The location was very central and the hotel was modern, clean and comfortable. The staff were extremely hospitable and friendly. We ate dinner one night from room service and it was great. We also booked a tour with the hotel guide Hung and he was fantastic- a very nice guy who could answer just about any question we threw at him...... if you are going to Dalat this is the place to stay....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed for three nights in October 2012. The location has to be one of the best in Dalat, right in the center of town, just opposite the central markets and overlooking the lake.
All the best restaurants and sights are within walking distance of the hotel.
The hotel and staff are all very nice, it's quite new and modern.
We had a deluxe room which meant we got a very large room with a balcony, a big plus for us. The room has a nice sitting area that is separate from the sleeping area, for some reason the TV is in the sleeping area and not the sitting area which we found a little odd but other than that everything was really nice in the room.
The breakfast is pretty standard hotel fare, a bit dull but nothing wrong with it.
We asked for and got a non-smoking room, and that also is a big plus.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room overlooking the lake, we booked a deluxe room and it was really pretty good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rossco234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Such a great hotel!
The pictures on the website don't do it justice.
It was a former cinema complex but converted recently into a hotel.

Stayed in a room with french windows and a balcony overlooking the lake.
Beds great and comfortable.

Cherry on top was they realised it was my birthday off my passport and they came to the room to deliver a surprise birthday cake! How thoughtful! Needless to say, the service was impeccable.

Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tbearsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights at the end of a 2 week trip around Vietnam and while about twice the price (about AUS$60 a night) of previous hotels we stayed at it was like luxury in comparison! The staff were friendly and the complimentary breakfast was amazing!! Very close to the market and very clean. Dalat is a wonderful place, very serene, relaxing and cool compared to the hectic pace of the big cities in Vietnam.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here but can understand some of the negative TA comments. Presumably Đà Lạt sees comparatively fewer western tourists because it struggles to cope with those it does. The same is true of Ngọc Lan. Heeding TA advice, a comfortable stay is definitely possible but do your homework and get the right room - we did.

Location is great, our room was spacious, very well maintained, comfortable and had a great view. Food is above average and the restaurant has a good wine list with reasonable prices. As with Đà Lạt in general, English at the Ngọc Lan is a problem so come prepared. Most staff have potential but need development support and supervision from management. We would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for lake view deluxe rooms - well worth the few $ extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 50somethins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalat hotels
0.3 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#14 of 60 in Dalat
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muong Thanh Da Lat Hotel
1.9 mi away
La Sapinette Hotel Dalat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
ZEN Valley Dalat
ZEN Valley Dalat
#7 of 60 in Dalat
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saigon -  Dalat
Saigon - Dalat
#12 of 60 in Dalat
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dalat Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngoc Lan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngoc Lan Hotel

Address: 42 Nguyen Chi Thanh St, Dalat, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Dalat
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Dalat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ngoc Lan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Ngoc Lan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing