We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Views, Unique Experience, Great Dinner”
Review of Dalat Train Cafe

Dalat Train Cafe
Ranked #24 of 261 Restaurants in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: For the train lovers from around Vietnam and the rest of the world.The Dalat Train Cafe is open from 8am to 10pm, and is available for private parties, corporate functions, weddings, birthdays, outdoor barbeque dinners, etc.The menu includes a good selection of international dishes, Vietnamese dishes, coffees, teas, cocktails, and a wine list featuring French, Chilean and Vietnamese wines. A few dishes are made especially for the blue-colored train cafe, including the Blue Train Pizza, and the Blue Cheese Burger.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible Views, Unique Experience, Great Dinner”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Even if you're not a train buff (I'm not), this place is one of the most uniquely cool restaurants I've ever been to. A classy, refurbished old train car made into a restaurant, with a view of Dalat that was unbeatable. Run by the same folks who do the V Cafe and the Green City Hotel, they recommended I check this out. I came for dinner and the lighting, music, and views would have been amazing for a couple. (Unfortunately I was alone!) The view of the old part of Dalat at sunset was probably the highlight of my Vietnam trip. Similar menu to Vcafe. I had the blue cheese burger which was the best burger I've had in Vietnam. The villa next to the cafe is an old French villa run as a hotel, but I didn't check it out. Outdoor seating for smokers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ja99887766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    64
    29
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unique setting that's worth a visit but the food was poor”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had an early dinner here and thought the place was cool. We'd definitely visit again to drink but our experience eating there wasn't good...

The pizza wasn't bad but wasn't great. It had a weird flavour considering it was a plane cheese and tomato. My wife's salad was ok but again nothing great...but my burger, was quite frankly, the worst burger I've ever had and I couldn't finish it. The meat, which I'm guessing was local beef, tasted awful and was - as most local beef seems to be - tough to eat.

The service wasn't great to.

So, worth a visit to check it out but the best thing except for the photos on the walls was my beer, and that came in a bottle!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ahuk_the1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Binh Dinh, Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredibly unique...”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A 100+ year old train car nestled on the property of an old french villa is the centre piece of this Cafe/Guesthouse operation. Talk about charm and character - it is here in spades!!! The coach has been beautifully remodelled to be a cozy cafe/eatery while the outdoor patio provides a nice view of Dalat. The Guesthouse aspect of the operation is the french villa itself providing a number of "suites" which include sitting/living room, bedroom and bath. The property is quite large (great for kids) and located in a quiet area near the old train station. This is an ideal destination for a family/romantic getaway or just a nice meal. A good selection of wines and friendly attentive service complete things make this a "must go" place. My only regret was i did not try the food..hmmm... next time....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really authentic place, but not for the budget traveller”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Went here after the review on trip advisor but only ended up having coffee. At minimum 120 thousand for a meal plus a drink there are other quality places. Staff very friendly :-) if you want to slash out a bit try this place, if not just pop in for a coffee.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lozg_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great find, dalat's best kept secret”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Only recently opened, this converted train carriage serves a mix of western and local fresh food. We thoroughly enjoyed our fried rice, beef curry, artichoke tea and the superb Vietnamese coffee. Great ambience clean modern amenities, only 1 minute walk from the train station. Highly recommended, direct the taxi drivers to the Railway villas.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dalat Train Cafe also viewed

Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to Dalat Train Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing